skip to Main Content

Behlke Claims Late Models, Moen Wins Hobby Stock Main via Last Chance at Jefferson Speedway.

by Larry & Jeanne Starr

August 26, 2006; Jefferson WI — Roger Behlke of Jefferson notched his second win, of the 2006 season, in the 35 lap Late Model main event. Starting outside row 1, Behlke grabbed the early lead, with Dan Chesmore close behind. Chesmore looked for a way past Behlke for the entire race, actually leading 2 laps by a small margin, but was unable to hold on, as Behlke pulled back ahead, showing the way to the checkers.

Over the last 10 laps Andy Wendt and John Ovadal closed up to make it a 4 way battle for the top spot. At the finish a small blanket could have covered the top 4 with Behlke, by inches over Chesmore, followed by Wendt, Ovadal and Kyle Jarlsberg. The Late Model Winner’s Circle Challenge victory went to Luke Westenberg of Palmyra.

In Sportsman action Scott “Chico” Riedner of Waunakee made it two in a row, winning his 2nd feature, in as many weeks. Starting 14th in the field, Riedner started the long drive to the front, as Brent Gergen grabbed the early lead. Riedner was up to the 7th spot when the yellow flew, on lap 4, for fluid on the track. Claiming 4th on lap 10,Riedner motored under Ken Scott, for 3rd, on the 11th circuit. Moving under Mike Heelein on lap 13, Riedner had the second spot by lap 14 as he closed with Gergen. Moving to the inside Riedner made the winning pass on lap 16, showing the way from there to the checkers. At the stripe it was Riedner for the win followed by Gergen, Heelein, Mark DePorter and Dave Oswald. Riedner also claimed top honors in the Sportsman “Winner’s Circle Challenge”.

In International action Mark English of Janesville logged the win, in the 20 lap feature. Starting inside row 8, English started his trek to the checkers as Bret Schmidt claimed the early lead. Schmidt led the way for 8 laps before surrendering the top spot to Brandon Riedner. English claimed the 3rd spot on lap 14. Caution came on lap 15, with the 2nd place car, lost power on the front stretch, collecting a couple more cars as the field flew past. English lined up 2nd for the restart, behind Riedner. At the green flat English launched his bid for the top spot. Riedner held English off, for 3 laps, before succumbing to the challenge from English. At the stripe it was English for the win followed by Riedner, Mike Winters, Scotty Hoeft and Chris Chenoweth. Mark Joyner of Elkhorn won the International “Winner’s Circle Challenge”.

In Hobby Stock action Larry Moen of Madison won the 25 lap main event. Starting 15th, by virtue of winning the “Last Chance” race, Moen started his drive to the point as Scott Carson claimed the early lead. Moen wound his way through traffic in this action packed, but caution free, race. Moen claimed the 4th spot by lap 9. Moen moved under Chet Paffel for 3rd, on lap 13, closing with Mike Meyers for 2nd. Edging ahead of Meyers, on lap 15, Moen moved under Carson, claiming the top spot on lap 18. At the stripe it was Moen for the win, followed by Pete Elgas, Jimmy Robinson, Johnny Robinson and Carson. Ken Au of Jefferson claimed victory in the Hobby Stock “Winner’s Circle Challenge”.

In Bandit action Kyle Watters of Stoughton claimed top honors in the 20 lap feature. Starting inside row 7 Watters headed to the front as Ryan Granzow claimed the early lead. Watters was up to 4th by lap 8 battling his way forward. Moving to 2nd by lap 18, Watters made the winning pass on lap 19. At the stripe it was Watters for the win followed by Granzow, Steven Scheel, John Remsik and Jeffery LeFave. Watters won the Bandit “Winner’s Circle Challenge”.

During Intermission the “Great American Bartender’s Race” made its annual appearance, with Doug Manison of “Muggsy Middle Bar” in Helenville taking home the trophy.

Rounding out the night’s entertainment was the One-on-One street drags, with Joe Ovadal claiming top honors over Art Kalbus.

Next week the action continues, on “Wisconsin’s Action Track” with a full racing program, in all 5 divisions. Also on tap is the “Fan’s Tailgate Party” from 5:30 to 7, in the hospitality pavilion, with $1 beer, soda and brats. Meet and greet your favorite drivers. The Ironman race, this is a special race, in all divisions, for drivers who have competed every week of the season. Rounding out the nights activities is the Bubble Gauntlet.

Gates open at 3:00, qualifying at 5:00 with racing at 7:00 sharp.

Jefferson Speedway is half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin on Highway 18.

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary – 08/26/2006 Winner’s Circle Challenge

Late Model Division Feature Finish
1) 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson) 2) 27 Dan Chesmore
3) 18 Andy Wendt 4) 71 John Ovadal Jr (Watertown)
5) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg 6) 32 Tony Koepke (Fort Atkinson)
7) 52 Steve Dobbratz 8) 53 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)
9) 28 Bobby Wilberg 10) 50 Tim Noble
11) 94 Jason Erickson 12) 82 Chad Stevens
13) 22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson) 14) 68 Ken Olson (Fort Atkinson)
15) 33 Dylan Schuyler (Jefferson) 16) 16 Luke Westenberg (Watertown)
17) 66 Curt Thompson 18) 27 Tyler James (Oconomowoc)
Fast Qualifier: 94 Jason Erickson : 14.278 seconds
Fast Dash: 52 Steve Dobbratz
WinCirChallenge: 16 Luke Westenberg, 87 Kyle Jarlsberg, 50 Tim Noble, 27 Dan Chesmore
LastChance: 27 Tyler James, 82 Chad Stevens, 68 Ken Olson, 22 Jasper Gronert
Heats: Qual1) 27 Tyler James, qual3) 82 Chad Stevens, qual2) 18 Andy Wendt

International Division Feature Finish
1) 57 Mark English (Janesville) 2) 4D Brandon Riedner (Waunakee)
3) 77 Mike Winters (Sun Prairie) 4) 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown)
5) 97 Chris Chenoweth (Watertown) 6) 0 Bret Schmidt
Fast Qualifier: 4 Mark Joyner (Elkhorn) : 16.797 seconds
Fast Dash: 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown)
WinCirChallenge: 4 Mark Joyner, 57 Mark English, 4D Brandon Riedner, 61 Chris Gottschalk
Heats: Qual1) 57 Mark English, qual2) 4D Brandon Riedner

Sportsman Division Feature Finish
1) 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee) 2) 38 Brent Gergen (Jefferson)
3) 8 Michael Heelein (Fort Atkinson) 4) 28 Mark DePorter
5) 31 David Oswald (Cottage Grove) 6) 39 Ken Scott (Rio)
Fast Qualifier: 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee) : 15.136 seconds
Fast Dash: 28 Mark DePorter
WinCirChallenge: 26 Scott Riedner, 28 Mark DePorter, 11 Trent Erdman, 31 David Oswald
LastChance: 87 Ed Jackson, 20 Kody Hubred, 82 Mike Acheson, 41 Dick Reents
Heats: Qual1) 82 Mike Acheson, qual3) 42 Tom Reents, qual2) 4 Luke Padfield

Hobby Stock Division Feature Finish
1) 10 Larry Moen (Madison) 2) 52 Peter Elgas (Janesville)
3) 33 Jim Robinson 4) 99 Johnny Robinson II (Beloit)
5) 7 Scott Carson (Fort Atkinson) 6) 80 Mike Meyers
Fast Qualifier: 31 Ken Au (Jefferson) : 16.483 seconds
Fast Dash: 96 Tim Lange (Dousman)
WinCirChallenge: 31 Ken Au, 33 Jim Robinson, 52 Peter Elgas, 99 Johnny Robinson II
LastChance: 10 Larry Moen, 30 Josh Carson, 50 Jim Schmidt, 99 Lincoln Keeser
Heats: Qual1) 45 Nick Balis, Qual3) 60 Chet Paffel, qual2) 19 Dennis Schmidt

Bandit Division Feature Finish
1) 7 Kyle Watters (Stoughton) 2) 19 Ryan Granzow (Watertown)
3) 4 Stephen Scheel (Lake Mills) 4) 98 John Remsik (Watertown)
5) 81 Jeffery Lefave Jr (Fort Atkins 6) 71 Tim Bristol (Watertown)
Fast Qualifier: 42 Bobby Selsing : 14.199 seconds
Fast Dash: 7 Kyle Watters (Stoughton)
WinCirChallenge: 7 Kyle Watters, 8 Shawn Scheel, 42 Bobby Selsing, 5 Casey Johnson
LastChance: 6 Zak Czeszynski, 31 Michael Heimann, Z28 Kody Hubred, 89 Chad Olds
Heats: Qual1) 31 Michael Heimann, qual3) 21 Rodney Mundt, qual2) 77 Sean Watters

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top