skip to Main Content

Bishofberger Earns Victory in Bumper to Bumper 50 at Jefferson Speedway!

By Larry & Jeanne Starr

August 3, 2002; Jefferson, Wis. — Fort Atkinson’s Ron Bishofberger earned a, hard fought, victory in the 50 lap “Bumper to Bumper” feature. Starting from the outside of row 4, Bishofberger headed toward the front as Jasper Gronert claimed the early lead. Gronert led the way for 9 laps, as Bishofberger made his way through traffic.

By lap 9, Bishofberger was making his bid for the lead, as defending track champion Dan Chesmore was applying pressure from behind. Bishofberger powered to the point on lap 10, with Chesmore claiming 2nd before the only caution of the race, on lap 11.

For the next 39 laps fans were treated to a battle between two able veterans, with Bishofberger doing all he could to keep Chesmore behind him, and Chesmore trying equally hard to move to the front.

Chesmore was able to pull even, on several occasions, but was never able to complete the pass. As they flew past the checkered flag it was Bishofberger, by a half car, over Chesmore. Rounding out the top 5 were Mike Beyer, Scott Nottestad and Mike Taylor.

In International class action Mike Drays survived the 20 lap free for all, claiming top honors in the main event. The race began with Mike’s brother Steve Drays rolling, several times, down the back stretch, into turn 3. Steve was unhurt, but was finished for the evening. Charles Dixon led the restart, guiding the way for 7 laps, and one more caution period, before surrendering the point to Mike Drays.

Two cautions, on lap 6, and another on lap 7, claimed 2 more cars. Drays guided the way from the green, for the final restart, to the checkered, followed by Chris Quam, Dennis Clapp and Mike Bingham.

In Sportsman division action Jason Thoma was victorious in the 30 lap main event. Starting from the outside of row 5, Thoma headed to the front, as Kevin Thompson claimed the early lead, with Luke Padfield trying to battle forward, from 2nd.

Thoma made his way to 3rd, on lap 18, closing with Padfield. Fluid on the track brought the yellow, on lap 20, with Thoma still running 3rd. On the restart Thoma moved to the inside, making his way to the point on lap 24. At the stripe it was Thoma for the win, followed by Padfield, Trent Erdman, Thompson and Jay Kalbus.

In Hobby Stock action Jeremy Hartwig of Cottage Grove turned a 6th place start into a feature win, in the 20 lap main event. Bret Carson claimed the early lead, only to surrender it to Paul Edmundson on lap 3. Edmundson guided the way for 3 laps, as Hartwig made his way to the front.

Hartwig claimed the low groove, out of turn 2, on lap 6, motoring under Johnny Robinson and Edmundson to claim the point. Hartwig guided the way past the checkered flag, followed by Dennis Schmidt, Bill Bush, Terry Wangsness and Edmundson.

In Bandit action, Jim Clark of Watertown claimed victory, in the 15 lap feature. Starting from the pole, Clark surrendered the early lead to Renee Collins, dropping to 3rd behind David Jurczyk. The battle for the point, between Collins and Jurczyk, brought the 2nd caution, as the pair spun, moving Clark to the front for the restart.

Clark guided the field from there to the finish, well ahead of the remaining 2 cautions. At the stripe it was Clark for the win, followed by Brian Paulson, Allen Petrie, Brandon Riedner and Troy Olson.

Next week Jefferson Speedway hosts the “Watertown Bowl 18” 50 lap Late Model feature, along with a full racing program. The Demolition Derby will round out the night’s action.

Gates open at 3:00pm, qualifying at 5:00pm and racing is at 7:00pm sharp.

Jefferson Speedway is half way between Jefferson and Cambridge Wisconsin, on Highway 18.

Jefferson Speedway – Date: August 3, 2002 – Event: Bumper to Bumper 50

Late Model Feature Finish:




76 Ron Bishofberger (Ft. Atkinson)


52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio)


27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville)


71 Tim Noble (Janesville)


75 Mike Beyer (Machesney PK IL)


66 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson)


14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton)


3 Joe Wendorf (Jefferson)


41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton)


22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson)


11 Beau Sanden (Janesville)


44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)


97 Jim Jarlsberg (Cambridge)


38 Rex Weston (Lake Mills)


68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson)


88 Jim Gleesing (Whitewater)


2 Tom Dorn (Ft. Atkinson)


8 Jesse Saunders (New Glarus)

FAST QUALIFIER : 27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville): 14.820 seconds
FAST DASH: 8 Lap : 76 Ron Bishofberger (Ft. Atkinson)
LAST CHANCE: 20 Lap : 3 Joe Wendorf (Jefferson), 66 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson), 88 Jim Gleesing (Whitewater), 38 Rex Weston (Lake Mills)
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 8 J.C. Stanelle (Milton) 2) 94 Nick Wendt (Jefferson) 3) 66 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson)

International Feature:




48 Mike Drays (Milton)


17 Mike Bingham (Jefferson)


4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)


0 Scott Dolphin (Marshall)


16 Dennis Clapp (Madison)


71 Charles Dixon (Waukesha)

FAST QUALIFIER : 0 Aaron Rude (Cambridge): 15.909 seconds
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 16 Dennis Clapp (Madison) 2) 17 Mike Bingham (Jefferson)

Sportsman Feature:




95 Jason Thoma (Jefferson)


99 Kevin Thompson (Palmyra)


4 Luke Padfield (Jefferson)


27 Jay Kalbus (Oconomowoc)


11 Trent Erdman (Ft. Atkinson)


19 Chad Reimer (Oconomowoc)

FAST QUALIFIER : 27 Jay Kalbus (Oconomowoc): 15.870 seconds
CONSI: 10 Lap : 55 Jason Gilberts (Janesville), 81 Jeramy Hayton (Lake Geneva)
LAST CHANCE: 15 Lap : 1 Pete Olsen (Ft. Atkinson), 14 Kyle Taylor (Stoughton), 2 Randy Padfield (Stoughton), 106 Jody Purdy (Milton)

Heats: 10 lap: 1) 82 Mike Acheson (Watertown) 2) 23 Jim Pankow (Oregon)
3) 42 Tom Reents (Janesville) 4) 99 Kevin Thompson (Palmyra)

Hobby Stock Feature:




6 Jeramy Hartwig (Cottage Grove)


55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan)


19 Dennis Schmidt (Johnson Creek)


00 Paul Edmundson (Whitewater)


17 Bill Bush (Jefferson)


33 Jim Robinson (Orfordville)

FAST QUALIFIER : 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan): 16.857 seconds
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap : 27 Jim Tate (Watertown), 77 Casey Burns (Edgerton), 44 Jesse Ayers (Stoughton), 38 Bryon Grassl (Janesville), 26 Mike Bretl (Ft. Atkinson)
Heats: 8 lap: 1) 24 John Duessler (Marshall) 2) 27 Jim Tate (Watertown) 3) 99 Johnny Robinson (Beloit)

Bandit Feature:




39 Jim Clark (Watertown)


4D Brandon Riedner (Waunakee)


41 Brian Paulson (Edgerton)


11 Troy Olson (Janesville)


12 Allen Petrie (Sun Prairie)


19 Rick Boyce (Marshall)

FAST QUALIFIER : 42 Bill Sweeney (Janesville): 15.650 seconds
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap : 1 Tade Swerig (Stoughton), 12 Allen Petrie (Sun Prairie), 67 Joe Cross (Sun Prairie), 88 Allen Ames
Heats: 8 lap: 1) 1 Tade Swerig (Stoughton) 2) 38 Bill Reynolds (Watertown)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top