skip to Main Content

Casey Johnson Captures Mid Season Crown

By Andrew Schaller

JEFFERSON, WI (Saturday, July 18, 2009) Stoughton’s Casey Johnson charged to the front to capture the Mid Season Championship 50 lap Late Model main event sponsored by Smith Motors of Fort Atkinson. Johnson took advantage of a late race caution to grab the lead and run away to the checkers for the win. Roger Behlke and Ty James paced the field to green with James taking the early lead exiting turn four on the opening circuit. Chris Quam followed him into second as the first of two cautions waved. On the restart, Quam took a look to the inside of James as Johnson entered the top five. After a brief battle, James began to stretch his lead over Quam and the rest of the field while Johnson was moving forward. Johnson quickly maneuvered his machine into second by lap 19 and set his sights on the leader. James managed to maintain his advantage until the final caution appeared on lap 35 and erased his lead. Johnson closed up to James rear bumper for the restart and dove under the leader entering turn one. Johnson cleared for the top spot down the backstretch and began to open up a healthy lead of his own. Johnson cruised to the stripe for the win followed by James, Jason Erickson, Quam and Luke Westenberg.

Shaun Scheel of Lake Mills took top honors in the 35 lap Sportsman feature event. Ron Nelson grabbed the initial lead from the pole as James Helmer and Scheel followed into second and third respectively. Helmer peeked to the inside of Nelson on lap three, clearing for the point a lap later. Scheel stayed in Helmer’s tracks to take over the second spot. On lap five, Helmer began to experience mechanical difficulties, forcing him to retire for the evening and handing the lead over to Scheel. Scheel ran with his new position as his lead grew while Jason Dunn found his way to second. Scheel held steady out front while Dunn ran second and Scott Riedner advanced to third. Riedner caught Dunn as the laps wound down and began to pressure him for the runner up spot. On lap 28, Riedner got a good run in turn one and pulled even through the corner. The two touched in turn three and Riedner emerged with the second position. The battle allowed Scheel to slip away from the field a little further as he drove off for the win. Rounding out the top five were Riedner, Dunn, Tory Bagley and Curt Thompson.

Waterloo’s Kyle Stark completed an impressive evening by laying claim to the 25 lap International feature. Stark broke the track record for his division, but was forced to come through the last chance event to make the feature based on Mid Season Championship procedure. Stark was able to win his way into the main event, but had to start the feature in the rear. Joe Cross took early command of the race with Casey Strese in second. The field slowed for caution on lap three and as the green returned point leader Mark English began shadowing the top five. Meanwhile, Stark was charging through the field and beginning to challenge English for his top five spot. Stark motored through the top five and into second on lap 11, bringing English with him. A lap later, Stark was at the point with English in tow for second. As the laps ticked away, Stark stretched his lead over the field on his way to the checkers for the win. English was second followed by Cross, Strese and Mark Dewey.

Watertown’s Jim Tate dominated the 30 lap Hobby Stock feature to take the win. Starting from the pole, Tate took the lead and immediately began to drive away from the pack. Zac Schmidt moved up to second, only to see the leader with a large advantage. The duo paced the field while the battles were furious behind them for third. Caution finally closed the field up on lap 23 and erased Tate’s huge lead. But as the green returned, Tate motored back out to a healthy advantage as he cruised to the win. Schmidt, Dustin Ward, Allen McBride and Steve Sauer rounded out the top five.

Heather Stark of Waterloo took the lead early on and never looked back to claim the 25 lap Bandit feature event. Michael Heimann took the early lead until Stark slid up alongside his outside and took it away on lap two. Stark slipped out to a big lead while Kyle Watters was making his way through the field. Watters finally cleared for the second spot and began to try and run down the leader. Stark held the advantage through lapped traffic until a caution on lap 19 cancelled her advantage. But as the green waved once again, Stark held off the challenges of Watters to take the win. Rounding out the top five were Watters, Travis Schneeberg, Heimann and Matt Goodwin.

Next Saturday, July 25, is a full program in all divisions highlighted by the Miller Lite 50 lap Late Model feature. Also, following the nights racing there will be a special event known as the Steel Wall Crash. Time trials begin at 5pm with racing at 7pm sharp. Jefferson Speedway is located halfway between Jefferson and Cambridge on Hwy 18. Please visit for more information.

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary
Late Model-
Mid Season Championship 50 lap Feature Results- 1) 5 Casey Johnson, Stoughton 2) 27 Ty James, Oconomowoc 3) 94 Jason Erickson, Fort Atkinson 4) 4 Chris Quam, Stoughton 5) 16 Luke Westenberg, Jefferson 6) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg, Cambridge 7) 29 Scott Lindsay, Dousman 8) 99 Doug Hahn, Whitewater 9) I Bob Kahler, Belvidere (IL) 10) 52 Steve Dobbratz, Rio 11) 21 Ryan Zielski, Oconomowoc 12) 32 Tony Koepke, Jefferson 13) 61 Jerry Eckhardt, Johnson Creek 14) 41 Mike Taylor, Stoughton 15) 44 Roger Behlke, Jefferson 16) 33 Dylan Schuyler, Jefferson 17) 51 Dennis Schmidt, Juneau 18) 12 Allen Petrie, Sun Prairie
Fast Qualifier- 94 Jason Erickson—14.148 seconds
Last Chance- 51 Dennis Schmidt, 32 Tony Koepke, 41 Mike Taylor, 12 Allen Petrie
Heat Winners- 1) 51 Dennis Schmidt 2) 21 Ryan Zielski 3) 99 Doug Hahn

Feature Results- 1) 8 Shaun Scheel, Lake Mills 2) 26 Scott Riedner, Waunakee 3) 71 Jason Dunn, Sun Prairie 4) 52 Tory Bagley, McFarland 5) 66 Curt Thompson, Jefferson
Fast Qualifier- 52 Tory Bagley—15.180 seconds
Heat Winners- 1) 22 Brady Lilly 2) 71 Jason Dunn

Feature Results- 1) 35 Kyle Stark, Waterloo 2) 57 Mark English, Edgerton 3) 67 Joe Cross, Sun Prairie 4) 23 Casey Strese, Jefferson 5) 82 Mark Dewey, Beloit 6) 27 James Bell, Brodhead
Fast Qualifier- 35 Kyle Stark—16.178 seconds NEW TRACK RECORD
Last Chance- 35 Kyle Stark, 5 Peter Shelley, 135 Rob Lange, 29 Waylin Willman
Heat Winners- 1) 35 Seth Reamer 2) 27 James Bell 3) 90 Kyle Smith

Hobby Stock-
Feature Results- 1) 27 Jim Tate, Watertown 2) 19 Zac Schmidt, Johnson Creek 3) 9 Dustin Ward, Waterloo 4) 62 Allen McBride, Milton 5) 11 Steve Sauer, Waterloo 6) 92 Kyle Stark, Waterloo
Fast Qualifier- 9 Dustin Ward—16.361 seconds
Last Chance- 86 Tony Ciano, 22 Kyle Chwala, 32 Greg Staude, 08 Kale Peterman
Heat Winners- 1) 08 Kale Peterman 2) 27 Jim Tate 3) 11 Steve Sauer

Feature Results- 1) 93 Heather Stark, Waterloo 2) 17 Kyle Watters, Stoughton 3) 75 Travis Schneeberg, Cottage Grove 4) 31 Michael Heimann, Waunakee 5) 45 Matt Goodwin, Beloit 6) 81 Jeff LeFave, Fort Atkinson
Fast Qualifier- 17 Kyle Watters—14.401 seconds
Last Chance- 90 Titus Helgestad, 2 Keaton Hubred, 11 Art Blakely, 88 Roger Stephenson
Heat Winners- 1) 28 Brandon Wachal 2) 18 Scott Pauls 3) 10 Dave Schmidt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top