skip to Main Content

Chesmore Claims Winners Circle Challenge! Wendt Takes Late Models and Collins Notches First Feature Win at Jefferson!

By Larry & Jeanne Starr

August 17, 2002; Jefferson, Wis. — Janesville’s Dan Chesmore became the first repeat winner, in the fourth annual WFAW/Voss Sentry Foods Winner’s Circle Challenge. Drawing the pole position to start the race, Chesmore claimed the early lead and never looked back, guiding the field of champions all the way to the checkered flag.

Andy Wendt of Watertown claimed top honors in the 35 lap, WFAW/Voss Sentry Foods, Late Model feature. Starting from the outside of row 4, Wendt headed to the front, as Tim Noble claimed the early lead.

Wendt motored past Tom Dorn, for 2nd, on lap 9, looking ahead to Noble. Noble’s advantage disappeared, on lap 11, with the caution flag, for a crash on the front stretch. On the restart Noble held the point, with Wendt close behind. Noble fought hard for the top spot, holding off Wendt for all the way to lap 28. Wendt managed the winning pass, coming off he 2nd turn, on lap 28. As they streaked past the checkered flag it was Wendt for the win, followed by Ron Bishofberger, Noble, Dan Chesmore and Scott Nottestad.

In International class action Chris Quam of Stoughton claimed top honors, in the 20 lap main event. Starting from the inside of row 4, Quam started his trek to the front, as Scott Dolphin claimed the early lead. Quam passed Steve Drays for 2nd, on lap 9, closing with Dolphin on 10. Motoring past Dolphin, for the lead, on lap 11, Quam guided the field to the checkered flag. At the stripe it was Quam for the win, followed by Aaron Rude, Steve Drays, Mike Drays and Mike Bingham.

In Sportsman division action Jay Kalbus of Oconomowoc won a, hard fought, victory in the 30 lap main event. Starting 8th, Kalbus battled his way through traffic, as James Helmer pulled out to the early lead. Kalbus made his way to the outside of Dylan Schuyler, for 2nd, on lap 25, closing with Helmer. Having led the far Helmer was not about go give up. Holding Off Kalbus all the way to the white flag, Helmer slipped just enough, to leave an opening. Kalbus was able to capitalize, edging Helmer, at the line, for the win. Rounding out the top 5 were Schuyler, Mark Deporter and Chad Reimer.

In Hobby Stock action Jimmy Robinson of Orfordville claimed victory, in the 20 lap feature. Starting from the outside of row 4, Robinson watched Bryon Grassl pull to the early lead. Robinson made his way to 2nd, by lap 7, with Grassl holding a huge lead. Caution, for fluid on the track and a spin, on lap 8, closed the field for a restart. Grassl led the restart, holding off Robinson’s attack for 4 more laps. Robinson moved under Grassl, on lap 12, to make the winning pass. At the finish it was Robinson for the win, followed by Terry Wangsness, Chris Matz, Bill Bush and Grassl.

In Bandit action Renee Collins of Lake Mills notched the first feature win of her career, in the 15 lap main event. Starting from the pole, Collins claimed the early lead and never looked back, guiding the field to the checkered flag. At the finish it was Collins, for her first win, followed by Tim Seitz, David Jurczyk, Bill Reynolds and Brandon Riedner.

The third annual “Great American Bartenders Race” went to Larry Haumechiles, of Moe’s Place in Lake Mills.
Next week Jefferson Speedway hosts the UAW Local 95, 50 lap Late Model feature and a full racing program in all divisions.

Gates open at 3:00pm, qualifying at 5:00pm and racing at 7:00pm sharp.
Jefferson Speedway is half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin, on highway 18.

Jefferson Speedway – Date: August 17, 2002 – Event: WFAW/Voss Sentry Foods Winners Circle Challenge

Late Model Feature Finish:

1. 18 Andy Wendt (Watertown)
2. 76 Ron Bishofberger (Ft. Atkinson)
3. 71 Tim Noble (Janesville)
4. 27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville)
5. 14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton)
6. 2 Tom Dorn (Ft. Atkinson)
7. 97 Jim Jarlsberg (Cambridge)
8. 8 Jesse Saunders (New Glarus)
9. 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)
10. 37 Gene Olson Jr. (Jefferson)
11. 99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)
12. 94 Nick Wendt (Jefferson)
13. 66 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson)
14. 11 Beau Sanden (Janesville)
15. 75 Mike Beyer (Machesney Park IL)
16. 12 Greg Bowers (Waterloo)
17. 55 Eric Gerlach (Palmyra)
18. 3 Joe Wendorf (Jefferson)

27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville): 14.766 seconds

FAST DASH (Krentz Auto Mart): 8 Lap
14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton)

Winner’s Circle Challenge: 25 laps
27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville)

99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)
66 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson)
12 Greg Bowers (Waterloo)
37 Gene Olson Jr. (Jefferson)

Heats: 10 lap:
1) 5 Jeff Johnson (Stoughton)
2) 68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson)
3) 41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton)

International Feature:

1. 4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)
2. 9 Aaron Rude (Cambridge)
3. 84 Steve Drays (Milton)
4. 48 Mike Drays (Milton)
5. 17 Mike Bingham (Jefferson)
6. 10 Dennis Clapp (Madison)

9 Aaron Rude (Cambridge): 16.053 seconds

FAST DASH (Krentz Auto Mart): 6 Lap
9 Aaron Rude (Cambridge)

Heats: 10 lap
1) 16 Dennis Clapp (Madison)
2) 48 Mike Drays (Milton)

Sportsman Feature:

1. 27 Jay Kalbus (Oconomowoc)
2. 7 James Helmer (Fox Lake )
3. 33 Dylan Schuyler (Dousman)
4. 28 Mark Deporter (Ft. Atkinson)
5. 19 Chad Reimer (Oconomowoc)
6. 27 Bobby Stough Jr. (Waunakee)

26 Scott “Chico” Riedner (Waunakee): 15.888 seconds.

FAST DASH (Krentz Auto Mart): 6 Lap
11 Trent Erdman (Ft. Atkinson)

17 Noel Ramge (Hellenville)
14 Kyle Taylor (Stoughton)
57 Jason Ayers (Stoughton)
37 Nick Berge (Janesville)(Scratch)
42 Tom Reents (Janesville)

Heats: 10 lap
1) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg (Cambridge)
2) 37 Nick Berge (Janesville)
3) 57 Jason Ayers (Stoughton)

Hobby Stock Feature:

1. 33 Jimmy Robinson (Orfordville)
2. 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan)
3. 72 Chris Matz (Watertown)
4. 17 Bill Bush (Jefferson)
5. 38 Bryon Grassl (Janesville)
6. 2 Eaan Carson (Whitewater)

6 Jeremy Hartwig (Cottage Grove): 16.950 seconds

FAST DASH (Krentz Auto Mart): 6 Lap
88 Roger Stephenson (Cambridge)

43 Scott Bush (Ft. Atkinson)
58 David Ryan (Madison)
70 Rick Kehoe (Jefferson)
8 Rick Schoonover (Janesville)

Heats: 8 lap:
1) 70 Rick Kehoe (Jefferson)
2) 8 Rick Schoonover (Janesville)
3) 88 Roger Stephenson (Cambridge)

Bandit Feature:

1. 08 Renee Collins (Lake Mills)
2. 57 Tim Seitz (Edgerton)
3. 18 David Jurczyk (Jefferson)
4. 38 Bill Reynolds (Watertown)
5. 4 Brandon Riedner (Waunakee)
6. 42 Bill Sweeney (Janesville)

42 Bill Sweeney (Janesville): 15.512 seconds

FAST DASH (Krentz Auto Mart): 6 Lap
5 Peter Shelley (Edgerton)

39 Jim Clark (Watertown)
1 Tade Swerig (Stoughton)
67 Joe Cross (Sun Prairie)
78 Mike Spors (Janesville)

Heats: 8 lap
1) 11 Tim Petrie (Whitewater)
2) 41 Brian Paulson (Edgerton)

Great American Bartenders Race: Larry Haumechiles (Moe’s Place – Lake Mills) – (third win)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top