skip to Main Content

Dobbratz & Hoeft Score Career First Feature Wins at Jefferson Speedway!

By Larry & Jeanne Starr

August 10, 2002; Jefferson, Wis. — Steve Dobbratz of Rio claimed his first feature win, in the “Watertown Bowl 18,” 50 lap Late Model feature. Starting from the outside of row 2, Dobbratz spent the first 9 laps behind Ken Olson, the early leader. Motoring under Olson, on lap 10, Dobbratz claimed the point, and never looked back. Following a caution, on lap 11, Dobbratz opened a strong lead, as the battle for 2nd raged behind him.

On lap 25, water on the track, and the ensuing 3-car crash, brought the final caution of the race, moving the field up to Dobbratz back bumper, for the restart. Dobbratz again pulled ahead, opening over a quarter lap lead before streaking past the checkered flag, to claim his first career feature. Rounding out the top 5 were Andy Wendt, Scott Nottestad, Roger Behlke and Ron Bishofberger.

In International action Scottie Hoeft of Watertown, led flag to flag, claiming the first feature win, of his career. Starting from the outside of the front row, Hoeft jumped to the early lead, guiding the field to the checkered flag. As Hoeft led the way, Aaron Rude of Cambridge battled his way, from an 11th place start, to claim 2nd from Derek Bettenhausen, on the white flag lap. At the finish it was Hoeft for the win, followed by Rude, Bettenhausen, Steve Drays and Mike Bingham.

In Sportsman division action Tony Koepke of Fort Atkinson claimed top honors, in the 30 lap main event. Starting from the outside of row 2, Koepke headed toward the point as Luke Padfield claimed the early lead. Padfield’s turn at the point lasted 1 lap, before Jody Purdy relieved him of the position. Purdy led the way until lap 14, when Koepke closed the gap, moving to the low side to make the winning pass. At the checkered flag it was Koepke for the win followed by James Helmer, Randy Padfield, Chad Reimer and Jay Kalbus.

In Hobby Stock action, Chad Lurvey of Dousman claimed top honors in the 20 lap main event. Starting 4th, Lurvey headed to the front a Chris Matz took the early lead. Lurvey moved under Matz on lap 4, claiming the top spot on lap 5. As Lurvey guided the way, Jim Williams moved past Matz for the 2nd spot, on lap 8. As they streaked past the checkers, it was Lurvey for the win, followed by Williams, Roger Stephenson, Bill Bush and Jimmy Robinson.

Rounding out the night’s action was the Demo Derby, with Jeff Lawson of Watertown in the last car running.
Next week Jefferson Speedway hosts the “Voss Sentry Foods Winner’s Circle Challenge.” The Bandits will race and the third annual “Great American Bartender’s Race” will round out the nights racing action.

Gates open at 3:00pm, qualifying at 5:00pm and racing at 7:00pm sharp.

Jefferson Speedway is half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin, on highway 18.

Jefferson Speedway – Date: August 10, 2002 – Event: Watertown Bowl 18 – 50 and the Demo Derby

Late Model Feature Finish:

1. 52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio)
2. 18 Andy Wendt (Watertown)
3. 14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton)
4. 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)
5. 76 Ron Bishofberger (Ft. Atkinson)
6. 27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville)
7. 68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson)
8. 94 Nick Wendt (Jefferson)
9. 11 Beau Sanden (Janesville)
10. 8 Jesse Saunders (New Glarus)
11. 2 Tom Dorn (Ft. Atkinson)
12. 37 Gene Olson Jr. (Jefferson)
13. 1 Jason Erickson (Cambridge)
14. 55 Eric Gerlach (Palmyra)
15. 12 Greg Bowers (Waterloo)
16. 62 Scott Null (Lake Mills)
17. 75 Mike Beyer (Machesney Park IL)
18. 99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)

1 Jason Erickson (Cambridge): 14.938 seconds

14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton)

CONSI: 10 Lap
52 Bob Taylor (Watertown)
0 Scott Hatton (Waterloo)

8 Jesse Saunders (New Glarus)
Mike Beyer (Machesney PK IL)
2 Tom Dorn (Ft. Atkinson)
12 Greg Bowers (Waterloo)

Heats: 10 lap
1) 6 Ken Piotrowski (Milton)
2) 3 Joe Wendorf (Jefferson)
3) 11 Beau Sanden (Janesville)
4) 2 Tom Dorn (Ft. Atkinson)

International Feature:

1. 00 Scott Hoeft (Watertown)
2. 9 Aaron Rude (Cambridge)
3. 10 Derek Bettenhausen (Cambridge)
4. 84 Steve Drays (Milton)
5. 17 Mike Bingham (Jefferson)
6. 48 Mike Drays (Milton)

9 Aaron Rude (Cambridge): 15.861 seconds

Heats: 10 lap
1) 00 Scott Hoeft (Watertown)
2) 4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)

Sportsman Feature:

1. 32 Tony Koepke (Ft. Atkinson)
2. 7 James Helmer (Fox Lake)
3. 2 Randy Padfield (Stoughton)
4. 19 Chad Reimer (Oconomowoc)
5. 27 Jay Kalbus (Oconomowoc)
6. 27 Bobby Stough Jr. (Waunakee)

26 Scott “Chico” Riedner (Waunakee): 15.825 seconds

1 Pete Olsen (Ft. Atkinson)
57 Jason Ayers (Stoughton)
17 Noel Ramge (Hellenville)
19 Dan Schmidt (Watertown)

Heats: 10 lap
1) 14 Kyle Taylor (Stoughton)
2) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg (Cambridge)
3) 19 Dan Schmidt (Watertown)

Hobby Stock Feature:

1. 74 Chad Lurvey (Dousman)
2. J10 Jim Williams (Milton)
3. 88 Roger Stephenson (Cambridge)
4. 17 Bill Bush (Jefferson)
5. 33 Jimmy Robinson (Orfordville)
6. 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan)

55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan): 16.947 seconds

CONSI: 8 Lap
58 Dave Ryan (Madison)
24 John Duessler (Marshall)

56 Randy Strasburg (Jefferson)
29 Mike Manley (Ft. Atkinson)
70 Rick Kehoe (Jefferson)
27 Jim Tate (Watertown)

Heats: 8 lap
1) 77 Casey Burns (Edgerton)
2) 92 Bobby Frisch (Beloit)
3) 2 Eaan Carson (Ft. Atkinson)
4) 19 Dennis Schmidt (Johnson Creek)

Demo Derby: Jeff Lawson (Watertown)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top