skip to Main Content

Gronert Leads Miller Lite 50’ Flag-to-Flag at Jefferson Speedway!

By Larry & Jeanne Starr

July 10, 2004; Jefferson, Wis. – Jasper Gronert of Fort Atkinson led all 50 laps, of Late Model feature, claiming his first feature of the season. Starting outside row 1, Gronert took the lead, at the green flag, and never looked back, guiding the field to the checkered flag. Doug Hahn, the pole sitter, dropped to the second spot, following Gronert to the finish. Over the first 28 laps the pair built a strong lead, only to see it disappear, when a turn 2 spin brought the first caution. The caution appeared twice more, on laps 35 and 40, both for spinning cars. At the stripe it was Gronert for the win, followed by Hahn, Scott “Chico” Riedner, Tim Noble and Scott Nottestad.

In International action Scotty Hoeft of Watertown claimed top honors, in the 20 lap main event. Starting fourth, Hoeft passed Keryn Hopwood, the early leader, on lap 2, guiding the field from there to the checkers. At the stripe it was Hoeft for the win, followed by Steve Allman, Tim Petrie, Aaron Rude and Tim Seitz.

In Sportsman action, rookie driver, Brandon Riedner of Waunakee notched his first win, in the 30 lap feature. Starting from the outside of row 1, Riedner grabbed the early lead, guiding the field to the checkers. Kyle Taylor ran second, early in the race, making several, unsuccessful, bids for the top spot. Taylor surrendered the 2nd spot to Luke Padfield, on lap 10. Padfield looked, in vein, for an opening all the way to the checkers. At the finish it was Riedner at the point, followed by Padfield, Dave Oswald, Tom Reents and Trent Erdman.

In Hobby Stock action Chris Higgins of Watertown was first at the stripe, in the 20 lap feature. Starting from the pole position, Higgins took the lead at the green flag, showing the way to the checkers. The race slowed for 3 caution periods, the first on lap 5, for a spin. A blown engine oiled the track on lap 9, and a car hit the turn one wall on lap 17. As they roared past the checkered flag it was Higgins for the win, followed by Russ Nicholson, Terry Wangsness, Pete Elgas and Dennis Smith.

Higgins subsequently failed the post-race technical inspection moving Russ Nicholson of Stoughton into the win column.

In Bandit action, rookie driver, Ryan Oldenhoff of Fort Atkinson claimed his first feature win, in the 18 lap main. Starting fifth, Oldenhoff avoided involvement in a lap 1 scuffle, inheriting the lead for the second start of the race. From there it was Oldenhoff guiding the way to the checkered flag. At the stripe it was Oldenhoff for the win, followed by Brandon Kozak, Dan Gosda, Troy Yohn and Rory Padfield.

Next week Jefferson Speedway hosts the “Kearns Motor Car Company 50,” and “WJJO Night at the Races,” with a 50 lap Late Model feature, and a special “WJJO DJ Grudge Match.” The Bandits will be racing.
The Gates open at 3:00PM, qualifying starts at 4:30PM with the first race at 7:00PM sharp.
Jefferson Speedway is on Highway 18, half way between Jefferson and Cambridge Wisconsin.

Jefferson Speedway – Date: July 10, 2004 – Event: WJVL Night at the races Miller Lite 50

Late Model Feature Finish: Laps: 50
1. 22 Jasper Gronert (Ft. Atkinson) 10. 12 Greg Bowers (Waterloo)
2. 99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater) 11. 76 Ron Bishofberger (Ft. Atkinson)
3. 26 Scott “Chico” Riedner (Waunakee) 12. 19 Randy Breunig (Columbus)
4. 71 Tim Noble (Janesville) 13. 19 Chad Reimer (Oconomowoc)
5. 14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton) 14. 4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)
6. 82 Chad Stevens (Orfordville) 15. 68 Wayne Whitford (Janesville)
7. 11 Beau Sanden (Janesville) 16. 13 Shane Radtke (Watertown)
8. 94 John Ovadal Jr. (Watertown) 17. 37 Nick Berge (Janesville)
9. 27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville) 18. 52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio)
FAST QUALIFIER : 82 Chad “Squirt” Stevens (Orfordville): 14.725 seconds
FAST DASH: 8 Lap : 76 Ron Bishofberger (Ft. Atkinson)
LAST CHANCE: 20 Lap : 19 Chad Reimer, 37 Nick Berge, 13 Shane Radtke, 4 Chris Quam
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 11 Russ Goodwin (Beloit) 2) 66 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson) 3) 4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)

International Feature: Laps: 20
1. 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown) 4. 70 Aaron Rude (Cambridge)
2. 79 Steve Allman (Oconomowoc) 5. 57 Tim Seitz (Edgerton)
3. 11 Tim Petrie (Whitewater) 6. 12 Allen Petrie (Sun Prairie)
FAST QUALIFIER : 79 Steve Allman (Oconomowoc): 16.977 seconds
FAST DASH: 6 Lap : 79 Steve Allman
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown)

Sportsman Feature: Laps: 30
1. 4D Brandon Riedner (Waunakee) (First Win) 4. 42 Tom Reents (Janesville)
2. 4 Luke Padfield (Jefferson) 5. 11 Trent Erdman (Ft. Atkinson)
3. 31 Dave Oswald (Cottage Grove) 6. 14 Kyle Taylor (Stoughton)
FAST QUALIFIER : 11 Trent Erdman (Ft. Atkinson): 15.498 seconds
FAST DASH: 6 Lap : 28 Mark Deporter (Ft. Atkinson)
LAST CHANCE: 15 Lap : 7 Jody Purdy, 8 Mike Heelein, 87 Ed Jackson, 94 Craig Henning
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 38 Brent Gergen (Jefferson) 2) 8 Mike Heelein (Ft. Atkinson) 3) 57 Mark English (Janesville)
4) 4D Brandon Riedner (Waunakee)

Hobby Stock Feature: Laps: 20
1. 4 Chris Higgins (Watertown) 4. 52 Pete Elgas (Janesville)
2. 67 Russ Nicholson (Stoughton) 5. 08 Dennis Smith (Beloit)
3. 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan) 6. 99 Johnny Robinson II (Beloit)
FAST QUALIFIER : 2 Eaan Carson (Ft. Atkinson): 16.822 seconds
FAST DASH: 6 Lap : 70 Rick Kehoe (Jefferson)
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap : 50 Jim Schmidt, 99 Lincoln Keeser, 44 Jesse Ayers, 41 Nick Newton
Heats: 8 lap: 1) 37 Chris Jackson (Ft. Atkinson) 2) 44 Jesse Ayers (Stoughton) 3) 7 Scott Carson (Ft. Atkinson)

Bandit Feature: Laps: 18
1. 29 Ryan Oldenhoff (Ft. Atkinson) 4. X Troy Yohn (Waterloo)
2. 02 Brandon Kozak (Whitewater) 5. 3 Rory Padfield (Stoughton)
3. 21 Dan Gosda (Sun Prairie) 6. 92 Kyle Stark (Waterloo)
FAST QUALIFIER : 42 Bill Sweeney (Janesville): 14.960 seconds
FAST DASH: 5 Lap : Z/28 Jody Krueger (Edgerton)
CONSI: 8 Lap : 4 Steve Fulwiler, 33 Charity Shockley
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap : 30 Rick Seitz, 24 Tyler White, 98 Tom Bleeker, 7 Kyle Watters, 75 Paula Seitz
Heats: 8 lap: 1) 4 Steve Fulwiler (Watertown) 2) 18 Nick Klettre (Ft. Atkinson) 3) 22 Michael Hart (Edgerton)
4) 92 Kyle Stark (Waterloo) 5) 42 Bobby Selsing (Ft. Atkinson)

Back To Top