skip to Main Content

Jarlsberg Earns UPN-57 Feature Win, at Jefferson Speedway!

By Larry & Jeanne Starr

August 31, 2002; Jefferson, Wis. — Jim Jarlsberg of Cambridge came from a 6th place start to score top honors in the UPN-57 Night 35 lapper. Scott Null claimed the lead at the green flag, guiding the way as Jarlsberg worked his way through traffic.

Motoring past Doug Hahn, for 2nd, on lap 8, Jarlsberg closed with Null, making his bid for the lead. Jarlsberg closed with Null by lap 16, looking to the inside. Lap after lap he was able to pull alongside, but was not, quite, able to make the pass. This lasted until lap 22, when Null slipped, just enough to provide an opening for Jarlsberg.

Claiming the point on lap 22, Jarlsberg guided the field to the checkered flag. Caution came, on lap 24, when the battle for 3rd, between Null and Scott Nottestad resulted in a spin on the front stretch. On the restart Jarlsberg had Andy Wendt lined up in the 2nd spot. Jarlsberg was up to the challenge, holding off Wendt, till the finish. At the stripe it was Jarlsberg for the win, by a fender, over Wendt. Rounding out the top 5 were Mike Beyer, Roger Behlke and Ron Bishofberger.

Jasper Gronert claimed an early win, in the Late Model “Iron Man” race. This event was open to all drivers who have raced every night, in the 2002 season.

In International class action, Brent Nottestad of Cambridge made it 2 in a row, claiming top honors in the 20 lap main event. Starting from the outside of row 6, Nottestad began his journey to the front, as Scott Dolphin drove to the early lead. Nottestad made his way to 3rd by lap 6, behind Derek Bettenhausen. By lap 8, Nottestad moved under both Bettenhausen and Dolphin, claiming the point. As Nottestad pulled ahead, Aaron Rude made his way to 2nd. At the stripe it was Nottestad for the win, followed by Rude, Steve Drays, Dolphin and Bettenhausen. Mike Drays claimed top honors in the International “Iron Man” race.

In Sportsman division action, Fort Atkinson’s Tony Koepke held off the current point leader, Jay Kalbus, to claim victory in the 30 lap feature. Starting from the outside of row 2, Koepke moved to 2nd, as Nick Berge drove to the early lead. Berge held off Koepke for 12 laps, before falling from the top spot. As Koepke claimed the lead, Kalbus moved under Berge for 2nd. Kalbus closed with Koepke, challenging for the lead. Koepke was up to the challenge, holding off Kalbus as he showed the way to the checkers. At the strip it was Koepke for the win, followed by Kalbus, Scott Riedner, Bobby Stough and Mark Deporter. Rookie driver Kyle Taylor claimed victory in the Sportsman running of the “Iron Man” race.

In Hobby Stock action Jeremy Hartwig of Cottage Grove claimed top honors in the 20 lap main event, as Jim Tate seemed to be snake bitten, for the 2nd week in a row. Starting from the outside of row 5, Hartwig started through the field as Tate pulled out to the early lead. Hartwig claimed the 2nd spot by lap 13 closing with Tate. Catching Tate on lap 17, Hartwig started looking for an opening. Tate seemed up to the challenge until lap 18, when an, apparent, blown radiator hose, on Tate’s car, sprayed fluid on the track spinning him out of the top spot, and bringing a caution. Hartwig was at the point for the restart, leading the way to the checkered flag. At the stripe it was Hartwig for the win, followed by Roger Stephenson Lincoln Keeser, Terry Wangsness and Jim Williams. The Hobby Stock “Iron Man” honors were won by Ken Au.

In Bandit action Bill Reynolds of Watertown was the 3rd, and final, leader in the 20 lap main event. Starting from the inside of row 5, Reynolds headed to the front as Rick Boyce claimed the early lead. Boyce held the point for 2 laps before surrendering to Troy Olson. As Olson moved to the lead, Reynolds moved on Boyce for 2nd. Reynolds motored under Olson, on lap 10, guiding the way from there to the checkers. At the strip it was Reynolds for the win, followed by Olson, Tim Seitz, Alan Petrie and Jim Blucher. Jim Clark won the Bandit version of the “Iron Man” race.
Next week Jefferson Speedway hosts the Havill-Spoerl Season Championships, featuring a 75 lap Late Model feature and extended features in all divisions.

Gates open at 3:00pm, qualifying at 5:00pm and racing at 7:00pm sharp.
Jefferson Speedway is half way between Jefferson and Cambridge Wisconsin, on highway 18.

Jefferson Speedway – Date: August 31, 2002 – Event: UPN-57 Night at the Races & The Iron Man

Late Model Feature Finish:

1. 97 Jim Jarlsberg (Cambridge)
2. 18 Andy Wendt (Watertown)
3. 75 Mike Beyer (Machesney Park IL)
4. 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)
5. 76 Ron Bishofberger (Ft. Atkinson)
6. 27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville)
7. 37 Gene Olson Jr. (Jefferson)
8. 8 Jesse Saunders ( New Glarus)
9. 99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)
10. 2 Tom Dorn (Ft. Atkinson)
11. 68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson)
12. 14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton)
13. 11 Russ Goodwin (Beloit)
14. 62 Scott Null (Lake Mills)
15. 22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson)
16. 41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton)
17. 4 Randy Breunig (Columbus)
18. 2 Matt Frey (Cambridge)

27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville): 14.775 seconds

FAST DASH(M&M Bar &Reedy Home Improvement – Wttwn): 8 Lap
75 Mike Beyer (Machesney P K IL)

IRON MAN: 12 Lap
22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson)

37 Gene Olson Jr. (Jefferson)
2 Matt Frey (Cambridge)
11 Russ Goodwin (Beloit)
41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton)

Heats: 10 lap
1) 11 Russ Goodwin (Beloit)
2) 66 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson)
3) 41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton)

International Feature:

1. 25 Brent Nottestad (Cambridge)
2. 9 Aaron Rude (Cambridge)
3. 84 Steve Drays (Milton)
4. 0 Scott Dolphin (Marshall)
5. 10 Derek Bettenhausen (Cambridge)
6. 57 Mark English (Janesville)

9 Aaron Rude (Cambridge): 15.890 seconds.

48 Mike Drays (Milton)

Heats: 10 lap
1) 16 Dennis Clapp (Madison)
2) 25 Brent Nottestad (Cambridge)

Sportsman Feature:

1. 32 Tony Koepke (Ft. Atkinson)
2. 27 Jay Kalbus (Oconomowoc)
3. 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee)
4. 27 Bobby Stough Jr. (Waunakee)
5. 28 Mark Deporter (Ft. Atkinson)
6. 11 Trent Erdman (Ft. Atkinson)

95 Jason Thoma (Jefferson): 15.907 seconds

IRON MAN: 12 Lap:
14 Kyle Taylor (Stoughton)

CONSI: 10 Lap
82 Mike Acheson (Watertown)
55 Carey Hensel (Stoughton)

81 Jeremy Hayton (Lake Geneva)
14 Kyle Taylor (Stoughton)
57 Jason Ayers (Stoughton)
33 Dylan Schuyler (Dousman)

Heats: 10 lap
1) 23 Chris Koepke (Ft. Atkinson)
2) 2 Randy Padfield (Stoughton)
3) 17 Noel Ramge (Hellenville)
4) 33 Dylan Schuyler (Dousman)

Hobby Stock Feature:

1. 6 Jeremy Hartwig (Cottage Grove)
2. 88 Roger Stephenson (Cambridge)
3. 99 Lincoln Keeser (Milton)
4. 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan)
5. J10 Jim Williams (Milton)
6. 38 Bryon Grassl (Janesville)

31 Ken Au (Ft. Atkinson): 16.910 seconds

IRON MAN: 12 Lap
31 Ken Au (Ft. Atkinson)

33 Jimmy Robinson (Orfordville)
8 Rick Schoonover (Janesville)
74 Chad Lurvey (Dousman)
77 Casey Burns (Edgerton)

Heats: 8 lap
1) 74 Chad Lurvey (Dousman)
2) 72 Chris Matz (Watertown)
3) 99 Lincoln Keeser (Milton)

Bandit Feature:

1. 38 Bill Reynolds (Watertown)
2. 11 Troy Olson (Janesville)
3. 57 Tim Seitz (Edgerton)
4. 12 Alan Petrie (Sun Prairie)
5. 42 Jim Blucher (Madison)
6. 18 David Jurczyk (Jefferson)

4 Brandon Riedner (Waunakee): 15.342 seconds (New Track Record)

IRON MAN: 10 Lap
39 Jim Clark (Watertown)

2 Joe Wipperfurth (Sun Prairie
20 Rikki Bishofberger (Ft. Atkinson)
1 Tade Swerig (Stoughton)
67 Joe Cross (Sun Prairie)

Heats: 8 lap
1) 2 Joe Wipperfurth (Sun Prairie)
2) 18 David Jurczyk (Jefferson)
3) 38 Bill Reynolds (Watertown)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top