skip to Main Content

Kahler Takes Spring Sizzler Opener

By Andrew Schaller

JEFFERSON, WI (Saturday, May 1, 2010) – Bob Kahler of Caledonia, IL opened the 2010 campaign in style by laying claim to the Spring Sizzler 50 lap Late Model feature presented by The Radio Doctor and 101.5 WIBA FM at Jefferson Speedway. Kahler held off multiple challenges to capture the trophy and grab the early points lead.

Trent Erdman and Jerry Eckhardt paced the field of 18 competitors to the drop of the green. Eckhardt took the early lead at the stripe to complete the opening lap. Kahler pulled in behind for the second spot and went right to work on Eckhardt for the lead. On lap five, Kahler pulled even with the leader as he tried to get a run for the top spot. Kahler completed the pass on lap nine, bringing Casey Johnson and Doug Hahn along into second and third respectively. Johnson launched his bid for the lead on lap 13, trying to make room under the new leader. Johnson applied heavy pressure for several laps, without success. On lap 29, Johnson got loose, allowing Hahn to slip past into second. But two laps later, Hahn lost the handle and spun in turn four as he was looking under Kahler for the lead. Johnson found himself back in the runner up spot, challenging Kahler for the point. After another caution on lap 36, Johnson continued to press Kahler. But Kahler proved too strong as he held off the advances to cross the stripe first for the win. Johnson settled for second followed by Ryan Zielski, Jason Erickson and Eckhardt.

In Sportsman action, James Helmer of Oconomowoc motored to the front of the field to get the win in the 30 lap feature event. John Handeland took the initial lead on lap one from pole sitter Dennis Schwark. Mike Winters found himself in the second spot as he moved up to challenge Handeland on lap five. Winters made the pass for the top spot on lap nine as Kody Hubred followed. Hubred began to look to the low side of Winters for the top spot as Helmer made his way into the top five. On lap 15, Hubred got loose and slipped back allowing Helmer to draw even and move into second. Helmer continued to move forward as he pulled alongside Winters for the lead. Helmer cleared for the top spot on lap 19 as Winters fell to second. The sole caution of the race waved on lap 22 when Hubred and Winters made contact, sending Winters spinning and forcing both drivers to restart in the rear. As racing resumed, Helmer held serve as he drove to the win. Rounding out the top five were Brett Schmidt, Jason Dunn, Justin Schultz and Dan Schmidt.

Kyle Smith of Lake Mills captured the 20 lap International feature. Ashley Smith and Joe Cross made up row one at the start with Cross moving out to the lead on the first lap. Kyle Smith followed around his sister Ashley into second and immediately went to work on Cross. Smith looked low and pulled even with the leader while Chris Gottschalk joined the fight in third. After a great side by side battle, Smith moved out into the lead bringing Gottschalk along for second. Gottschalk moved up to challenge Smith, but Smith held him off to take the checkers for the win. Gottschalk was second with Cross, Gary Stark and Rob Lange rounding out the top five.

An exciting finish to the 25 lap Hobby Stock main event lead to Watertown’s Jim Tate pulling into victory lane with the win. Curt Thompson grabbed the early lead on lap one from his front row starting spot. He began to pull away until a caution on lap 11 erased his advantage. Thompson restarted as the leader with Allen McBride and Tate right behind in second and third. Tate moved past McBride for second on lap 15 and set his sights on Thompson. Another caution on lap 20 set up a five lap dash to the finish. As green returned, Tate went to work on Thompson. Tate looked to the low side and pulled even as they crossed under the white flag. They remained side by side through the final lap, with Tate crossing the stripe first for the win by mere inches. Thompson was second followed by Dustin Ward, McBride and Johnny Robinson.

Bill Sweeney was the winner of the 10 lap Road Warrior feature event. The Road Warrior division is new to Jefferson Speedway in 2010. Dave Gigl and Brett Carson lead the pack to green with Carson grabbing the early lead. Sweeney pulled up to Carson’s rear bumper and dove under to take the lead on lap three. Sweeney pulled away to get the win followed by Carson, Roger Stephenson and Gigl.

In Bandit action, it was Kameron Lee taking the victory in the 20 lap feature event. Devon Dixon and Josh Wellman lead the field to green as Dixon took command on lap one. Dixon remained in control while Heather Stark used the outside groove to move into the top five. Stark was up to second on lap 16 when she began to show heavy sparks under her machine, forcing her to retire and handing second to Lee. Lee wasted little time, motoring past Dixon a lap later. Lee cruised to the checkers for the win followed by Brandon Condroski, Dave Schmidt, Jeff LeFave and Keaton Hubred.

Next Saturday, May 8, racing resumes with time trials at 5pm and racing at 7pm sharp. Jefferson Speedway is located halfway between Jefferson and Cambridge on Hwy 18. Please visit for more information.

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary
Late Model-
Feature Results- 1) 7 Bob Kahler, Caledonia (IL) 2) 5 Casey Johnson, Stoughton 3) 21 Ryan Zielski, Oconomowoc 4) 94 Jason Erickson, Fort Atkinson 5) 61 Jerry Eckhardt, Johnson Creek 6) 52 Steve Dobbratz, Rio 7) 16 Luke Westenberg, Jefferson 8) 4 Chris Quam, Stoughton 9) 33 Dylan Schuyler, Jefferson 10) 99 Doug Hahn, Whitewater 11) 8 Aaron Wilke, Waterloo 12) 29 Scott Lindsay, Dousman 13) 1 Jody Krueger, Madison 14) 7 Ed Kubicz, Whitewater 15) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg, Jefferson 16) 11 Trent Erdman, Fort Atkinson 17) 44 Roger Behlke, Jefferson 18) 41 Mike Taylor, Stoughton
Fast Qualifier- 94 Jason Erickson–14.181 seconds
Last Chance- 44 Roger Behlke, 41 Mike Taylor, 1 Jody Krueger, 7 Ed Kubicz
Heat Winners- 1) 99 Lincoln Keeser 2) 44 Roger Behlke 3) 4 Luke Padfield

Feature Results- 1) 7 James Helmer, Oconomowoc 2) 20 Brett Schmidt, Watertown 3) 71 Jason Dunn, Sun Prairie 4) 79 Justin Schultz, Columbus 5) 19 Dan Schmidt, Farmington 6) 8 Shaun Scheel, Lake Mills
Fast Qualifier- 7 James Helmer—15.378 seconds
Heat Winners- 1) 19 John Handeland 2) 71 Jason Dunn

Feature Results- 1) 90 Kyle Smith, Lake Mills 2) 61 Chris Gottschalk, Jefferson 3) 67 Joe Cross, Sun Prairie 4) 35 Gary Stark, Waunakee 5) 135 Rob Lange, Helenville 6) 00 Ken Au, Jefferson
Fast Qualifier- 57 Mark English—16.713 seconds
Last Chance- 95 Matt McKinney, 5 Peter Shelley, 17 Eric Connell, 25 Darren Brown
Consy- 47 Jamie Shelley, 41 Nick Newton
Heat Winners- 1) 17 Eric Connell 2) ONO Keith Bell 3) 05 Ashley Smith

Hobby Stock-
Feature Results- 1) 27 Jim Tate, Watertown 2) 85 Curt Thompson, Jefferson 3) 9 Dustin Ward, Waterloo 4) 62 Allen McBride, Janesville 5) 99 Johnny Robinson, Beloit 6) 88 Roger Stephenson, Jefferson
Fast Qualifier- 92 Kyle Stark—16.612 seconds
Last Chance- 88 Roger Stephenson, 19 Zac Schmidt, 39 Ken Scott, 49 Buck Stultz
Heat Winners- 1) 39 Ken Scott 2) 19 Zac Schmidt 3) 85 Curt Thompson

Road Warrior-
Feature Results-1) 6 Bill Sweeney 2) 7 Brett Carson 3) 88 Roger Stephenson 4) 71 Dave Gigl
Fast Qualifier- 88 Roger Stephenson—17.392 seconds
Heat Winner- 88 Roger Stephenson

Feature Results- 1) 5 Kameron Lee 2) 13 Brandon Condroski 3) 10 Dave Schmidt 4) 81 Jeff LeFave 5) 2 Keaton Hubred 6) 31 Michael Heimann
Fast Qualifier- 13 Brandon Condroski—14.879 seconds
Last Chance- 63 Mitch Drunasky, 02 Michelle Heimann, 0 Bryan Ellis, 53 Dylan Buckingham
Heat Winners- 1) 57 Tim Lund 2) 99 Phil Wuesthoff 3) 2 Keaton Hubred

Back To Top