skip to Main Content

Ovadal Jr. Does the Mountain Dew 50 at Jefferson Speedway!

By Larry Starr

June 4, 2005; Jefferson, Wis. – John Ovadal Jr. drove from a 13th place start, to finish first, in the “Mountain Dew 50,” Late Model feature. Jasper Gronert, grabbed the point at the green flag, as Ovadal began his trek to the checkers. The first caution came, on lap 6, for a spin in turn 4, near the front of the field. Ovadal was running in the 9th spot for the restart, and made his way to 8th before the second caution, on lap 11, when a car spun, off turn 4, backing over the infield sand barrier.

Picking off cars, one by one, Ovadal made his way to 5th before the final caution, on lap 23, for an apparent blown engine, and resulting fluid on the track. As the green flag flew, Ovadal set his sights on the point, claiming 4th on lap 24, 2nd by lap 26 and closing with Gronert. Ovadal motored past Gronert on lap 29, to assume the point. As they flew past the checkered flag it was Ovadal for the win, followed by Steve Dobbratz, Dylan Schuyler, Jason Erickson and Chad “Squirt” Stevens.

In Sportsman division action, Jason Thoma claimed top honors in the 30 lap main event, for the second week in a row. Starting 12th, Thoma headed toward the point, as Kyle Taylor took the early lead. Taylor surrendered the point, to Larry Moen, on lap 2, with Thoma already up to the 6th spot. Thoma made his way to 3rd, behind Luke Padfield, on lap 8. Motoring under Padfield on lap 11, Thoma moved under Moen taking the lead on lap 12. Caution cam on lap 25, when a car hit the back stretch wall. Thoma held the lead on the restart, guiding the field to the checkers, with Trent Erdman close behind, looking for a way to the front. At the stripe it was Thoma for the win, followed by Erdman, Padfield, Scott “Chico” Riedner and Curt Thompson.

In International action Mark English took the drive to Victory Lane, following the 15 lap feature. Starting 5th, English started his dash to the front, as Michelle Heimann took the early lead. English was up to the 2nd spot, on the second circuit, when caution flew for a car in the turn 3 wall. On the restart English motored past Heimann, claiming the point, on lap 2, with Chris Nelson close behind. Nelson kept the pressure high, looking for a way past English. At the checkers it was English for the win, followed by Nelson, Scotty Hoeft, Chris Chenoweth and Brandon Kozak.

In Hobby Stock action, Russ Nicholson of Stoughton took top honors in the 20 lap feature. Starting outside row 3, Nicholson started his drive to the point, as Randy Strasburg claimed the early lead. Strasburg guided the way for 10 laps, as Nicholson worked his way through traffic. Closing with Strasburg, on lap 9, Nicholson moved to the inside, making the winning pass on lap 10. At the stripe it was Nicholson for the win, followed by Pete Elgas, Jim Williams, Eaan Carson and Jesse Ayers.

In Bandit action Tom Bleecker of Watertown classed the field, in the 18 lap feature. Starting inside row 5, Bleecker started his quest for the checkers, as Cody Hubred grabbed the early lead. Hubred lost the point, on lap 2, to Nick Balis, with Bleecker up to 7th. Balis gave up the point, to Kyle Stark, on lap 4. Caution came on lap 5, when a car hit the front stretch wall. Bleecker was up to 5th for the restart, making his way to 4th by lap 7, and 2nd by lap 10. Closing with Stark, Bleecker moved to the outside, making the winning pass as they came to the white flag. As they took the checkered flag it was Bleecker for the win followed by Brian Paulson, James Bell, Stark and Balis.

Next week at Jefferson Speedway it’s “WSLD Night at the Races,” featuring the “Bumper to Bumper 50.” Gates Open at 2:00, qualifying begins at 4:30 and racing starts at 7:00PM.

Jefferson Speedway is half way between Jefferson and Cambridge Wisconsin, on Highway 18.

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary – 06/04/2005 Mountain Dew 50
Late Model Division Feature Finish
1) 71 John Ovadal 2) 52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio)
3) 33 Dylan Schuyler 4) 94 Jason Erickson
5) 82 Chad Stevens (Orfordville) 6) 71 Tim Noble (Janesville)
7) 16 Luke Westenberg (Watertown) 8) 4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)
9) 19 Chad Reimer 10) 44 Roger Behlke
11) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg (Cambridge) 12) 32 Tony Koepke
13) 22 Jasper Gronert (Ft. Atkinson) 14) 23 Chris Koepke (Jefferson)
15) 20 Bret Schmidt (watertown) 16) 2 Matt Frey
17) 68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson) 18) 99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)
19) 97 Jim Jarlsberg 20) 6 Ken Piotrowski (Janesville)
Fast Qualifier: 94 Jason Erickson : 14.460 seconds
Last Chance: 20 Bret Schmidt, 2 Matt Frey, 87 Kyle Jarlsberg, 32 Tony Koepke
Heats: Dash) 52 Steve Dobbratz, Qual1) 82 Chad Stevens, Qual2) 44 Roger Behlke

International Division Feature Finish
1) 57 Mark English 2) 73 Chris Nelson (Cottage Grove)
3) 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown) 4) 97 Chris Chenoweth (Watertown)
5) 2 Brandon Kozak (Whitewater) 6) 42 Bill Sweeney (Janesville)
Fast Qualifier: 73 Chris Nelson (Cottage Grove) : 16.792 seconds
Heats: Dash) 73 Chris Nelson, Qual1) 02 Michelle Heimann

Sportsman Division Feature Finish
1) 42 Jason Thoma 2) 11 Trent Erdman (Fort Atkinson)
3) 4 Luke Padfield (Jeffersonm) 4) 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee)
5) 3 Curt Thompson (Fort Atkinson) 6) 10 Larry Moen (Madison)
Fast Qualifier: 42 Jason Thoma : 15.172 seconds
Last Chance: 87 Ed Jackson, 53 Rick Rothwell, 19 John Handeland, 30 Scott Schuld
Heats: Dash) 11 Trent Erdman, Qual1) 14 Kyle Taylor, qual2) 19 Dan Schmidt

Hobby Stock Division Feature Finish
1) 67 Russ Nicholson (Stoughton) 2) 52 Pete Elgas (Janesville)
3) J10 Jim Williams (Milton) 4) 2 Eaan Carson
5) 44 Jesse Ayers (Stoughton) 6) 31 Ken Au (Jefferson)
Fast Qualifier: 31 Ken Au (Jefferson) : 16.860 seconds
Last Chance: 99 Lincoln Keeser, 88 William Stephenson, 41 Nick Newton, 22 Chester Williams
Heats: Dash) 25 Jim Lampen, Qual1) 29 Mike Manley, qual2) 56 Randy Strasburg

Bandit Division Feature Finish
1) 98 Tom Bleecker (Watertown) 2) 41 Brian Paulson (Edgerton)
3) 27 James Bell 4) 92 Kyle Stark (Waterloo)
5) 45 Nick Balis (Edgerton) 6) 27 Tom Schuette (Fort Atkinson)
Fast Qualifier: 8 Shaun Scheel (Johnson Creek) : 15.219 seconds
Consi: 24 Tyler White, 29 Brad Knapp
Last Chance: 92 Marc W. Balis, 4D Brandon Riedner, 6 Zak Czeszynski, 21 Rodney Mundt
Heats: Dash) 27 Tom Schuette, Qual1) 42 Roger Munns, qual2) 22 Chris Hart

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top