skip to Main Content

Ovadal, Riedner, Hoeft, Elgas and Watters Champions at Jefferson

by Larry & Jeanne Starr

September 9, 2006; Jefferson WI — The “Havill-Spoerl Season Championships” brings the battle for championship points to and end for the 2006 season. The points are all tallied, the trophies presented and the Champions have been
recognized. John Ovadal Jr. of Watertown ended the season with a commanding lead to claim the Late Model Championship.

Scott “Chico” Riedner of Waunakee brought home the Championship trophy in the Sportsman division. Scotty Hoeft of Watertown was the top man in the International division. Pete Elgas of Janesville claimed the season honors, in the Hobby Stock division. And last of all Kyle Watters of Stoughton won the championship for the Bandits.

In Late Model racing action Doug Hahn of Whitewater claimed top honors in the “Havill-Spoerl 60” feature. Starting outside row 7, Hahn started his drive to the front, as Tony Koepke drove to the early lead. Hahn was up to the 7th spot when the first caution came, on lap 16, for a wreck in turn 2. Hahn made his way to 4th by lap 20, moving inside Ken Olson to claim 3rd by the 23rd circuit. Hahn motored past Luke Westenberg for 2nd, on lap 32, closing in on Koepke. Moving to the inside on lap 34, Hahn managed the winning pass on lap 37. The final caution came, on lap 56, for a spin and crash in the fourth turn. Hahn led the restart, showing the way to the checkers. At the stripe it was Hahn for the win followed by Steve Dobbratz, Kyle Jarlsberg, Jason Erickson and Koepke.

In Sportsman action Luke Padfield of Jefferson claimed top honors in the 40 lap championship feature. Starting outside row 4 Padfield started his run for the checkers, as Shaun Scheel grabbed the early lead. Scheel surrendered the point, to Chris Ehrhardt on lap 12, with Padfield up to the 5th spot. Padfield moved under Tom Reents, for 2nd, on lap 20, closing with Ehrhardt. Moving to the inside on lap 32, Padfield pulled ahead on lap 34, only to see the yellow flag fly, for a spin in turn 2. Dropping back to 2nd for the restart (his position on the last fully completed lap), Padfield, once again launched his bid for the lead. Moving to the inside on lap 36, Padfield made the winning pass on lap 38. As they flew past the checkered flag it was Padfield for the win followed by Dave Oswald, Jay Kalbus, Reents and Ehrhardt.

In International action Joe Cross of Sun Prairie notched the first feature win, of his International career, in the 30 lap main event. Starting outside row 3, Cross headed to the front as Shaun Magsamen claimed the early lead. Magsamen led the way for 5 laps before losing the point to Cross. By lap 13 Mark English was up to the 2nd spot, launching his bid for the lead. Cross was up to the challenge, holding off English all the way to the checkers. At the stripe it was Cross for the win followed by English, Casey Strese, Chris Chenoweth and Mark Joyner.

In Hobby Stock action Dennis Schmidt of Johnson Creek drove to victory in the 35 lap Championship feature. Starting outside row 2, Schmidt headed to the point as Scott Carson claimed the early lead. Schmidt motored past Carson on lap 4, showing the way from there to the checkered flag. As they took the checkers it was Schmidt for the win followed by Larry Moen, Kyle Stark, Tim Lange and Dave Oswald.

In Bandit action Kyle Watters of Stoughton sealed his Championship season with a feature win, in the 30 lap main. Starting 14th, Watters motored past Ryan Granzow for the lead, on lap 6, guiding the way to the checkers. At the strip it was Kyle Watters followed by Sean Watters, Bill Sweeney, Casey Johnson and Jeffery LeFave.

Next week the racing action concludes, for 2006, at Jefferson Speedway with the 26th annual “Pepsi Wisconsin State Championships.” This program is two days of racing action by the best short track racers from all over Wisconsin and the Midwest.

Thursday night the gates open at 4:00 PM and the track will be open for practice from 4:00 to 9:00 PM.

Friday night the gates open at 1:00 PM and the track opens, for practice at 2:00 PM. Time trials begin at 5:00 PM and racing starts at 8:30 PM, with a full program of qualifying races, Champions races, and preview features. There is a band, in the pavilion following the races.

Saturday the gates open at 2:00 PM, and the track opens, for practice at 3:00 PM. Racing starts at 6:00 PM with a full program of Last Chance and Feature Races, in all divisions, including twin, 50 lap, Late Model finales.

Jefferson Speedway is half way between Jefferson and Cambridge Wisconsin, on Highway 18. Visit us on the World Wide Web at

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary – 09/09/2006 Season Championships

Late Model Division Feature Finish
1) 53 Doug Hahn (Whitewater) 2) 52 Steve Dobbratz
3) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg 4) 94 Jason Erickson
5) 32 Tony Koepke (Fort Atkinson) 6) 16 Luke Westenberg (Watertown)
7) 33 Dylan Schuyler (Jefferson) 8) 68 Ken Olson (Fort Atkinson)
9) 18 Andy Wendt 10) 71 John Ovadal Jr (Watertown)
11) 22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson) 12) 46 Nick Wendt
13) 17 Noel Ramge (Helenville) 14) 02 Ricky Bilderback (Rockton,IL)
15) 18 Brady Liddle (Oregon) 16) 61 Jerry Eckhart (Johnson Creek)
17) 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson) 18) 11 Timothy Petrie (Fort Atkinson)
19) 27 Tom Schuette (Fort Atkinson) 20) 27 Dan Chesmore
Fast Qualifier: 52 Steve Dobbratz : 14.255 seconds
Fast Dash: 02 Ricky Bilderback (Rockton, IL)
Consi: 02 Ricky Bilderback, 4 Chris Quam
LastChance: 27 Dan Chesmore, 87 Kyle Jarlsberg, 27 Tom Schuette, 46 Nick Wendt
Heats: Qual1) 71 Jason Deppe, Qual2) 61 Jerry Eckhart, Qual3) 22 Jasper Gronert, Qual4) 71 John Ovadal Jr,

International Division Feature Finish
1) 67 Joe Cross (Sun Prairie) 2) 57 Mark English (Janesville)
3) 23 Casey Strese 4) 97 Chris Chenoweth (Watertown)
5) 4 Mark Joyner (Elkhorn) 6) 4D Brandon Riedner (Waunakee)
Fast Qualifier: 4 Mark Joyner (Elkhorn) : 16.760 seconds
Fast Dash: 4D Brandon Riedner (Waunakee)
Heats: Qual1) 49 Tory Adams, Qual2) 67 Joe Cross

Sportsman Division Feature Finish
1) 4 Luke Padfield (Jefferwson) 2) 31 David Oswald (Cottage Grove)
3) 27 Jay Kalbus (Watertown) 4) 42 Tom Reents (Janesville)
5) 6 Chris Ehrhart (Deerfield) 6) 28 Mark DePorter
Fast Qualifier: 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee) : 15.000 seconds
Fast Dash: 31 David Oswald (Cottage Grove)
Heats: Qual1) 20 Kody Hubred, Qual2) 31 David Oswald

Hobby Stock Division Feature Finish
1) 19 Dennis Schmidt 2) 10 Larry Moen (Madison)
3) 92 Kyle Stark (Waterloo) 4) 96 Tim Lange (Dousman)
5) 31 Ken Au (Jefferson) 6) 62 Bret Carson (Johnson Creek)
Fast Qualifier: 31 Ken Au (Jefferson) : 16.535 seconds
Fast Dash: 10 Larry Moen (Madison)
LastChance: 96 Alan Dorn, 29 Mike Manley, 41 Nick Newton, 45 Nick Balis
Heats: Qual1) 45 Nick Balis, Qual3) 19 Dennis Schmidt, Qual2) 7 Scott Carson

Bandit Division Feature Finish
1) 7 Kyle Watters (Stoughton) 2) 77 Sean Watters (Sun Prairie)
3) 42 Bill Sweeney 4) 5 Casey Johnson (Stoughton)
5) 81 Jeffery Lefave Jr (Fort Atkins 6) 6 Zak Czeszynski (Oconomowoc)
Fast Qualifier: 7 Kyle Watters (Stoughton) : 14.277 seconds
Fast Dash: 77 Sean Watters (Sun Prairie)
Heats: Qual1) 93 Jason Lenz, Qual2) 4 Stephen Scheel

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top