skip to Main Content

Ramge, Helmer, Chenoweth, Au and Watters Victorious at Jefferson Speedway

by Larry & Jeanne Starr

September 2, 2006; Jefferson WI — Noel Ramge of Helenville claimed top honors in the Late Model 35 lapper, notching the second feature win of his career. Starting outside the front row Ramge overtook the early leader, Tim Petrie, on the second circuit, showing the way from there to the checkers. For the last half of the race, Ramge held off the challenge of Andy Wendt. At the stripe it was Ramge for the win, followed by Wendt, Jasper Gronert, Nick Wendt and Petrie.

In Sportsman action James Helmer of Oconomowoc notched his 1st of the season, in the 30 lap feature. Starting outside row 2, Helmer headed for the point as Casey Burns grabbed the early lead. With one lap in, the battle for the lead, between Burns and Dan Schmidt, ended in a spin, in turn 3, bringing out the only caution of the race. Helmer inherited the lead, for the restart, and guided the field from there to the checkers. Helmer had his hands full, holding off Jay Kalbus over the final 10 laps of the race. At the finish it was Helmer for the win, followed by Kalbus, Terry Wangsness, Scott “Chico” Riedner and Eaan Carson.

In International action Chris Chenoweth of Watertown drove to victory in the 20 lap main event. Starting inside row 5 Chenoweth headed toward the point as Kyle Smith pulled to the early lead. Smith led the way for 18, of the 20, laps as Chenoweth made his way through the field, to third. On the 18th circuit the battle for the lead, between Smith and Brandon Riedner, ended with a spin into the front stretch wall, sending Smith to the pits and Riedner to the rear. Chenoweth was at the point for the Green-White-Checkered finish. At the stripe it was Chenoweth for the win followed by Scotty Hoeft, Mark English, Chris Gottschalk and Mark Joyner.

In Hobby Stock action Ken Au of Jefferson claimed top honors in the 25 lap feature. Starting outside row 6 Au started his journey to the checkers as Andy Raley drove to the early lead. Raley showed the way for 7 laps, before surrendering the point to Jim Schmidt. Schmidt, in turn, lost the point to Steve Sauer on the 10th lap. As Sauer took the lead, Chet Paffel was close behind for second and Au was battling forward from the 4th spot. Paffel moved to the inside making his bid for the lead, with Sauer battling on the outside. This battle lasted until lap 17, when Paffel and Sauer tangled in the 1st turn, ending with a spin for Sauer and a flat tire for Paffel. Au was at the point for the restart, guiding the field from there to the checkers. As they blazed past the checkers it was Au for the win followed by Tim Lange, Pete Elgas, Larry Moen and Dennis Schmidt.

In Bandit action Sean Watters of Sun Prairie won the 20 lap feature. Starting outside row 5, Watters headed toward the front as Steve Priuett grabbed the early lead. Priuett’s lead ended on a 2nd lap caution, moving Rodney Mundt to the front for the restart. Mundt surrendered the top spot to Watters on lap 5, and Watters led from there to the finish. At the stripe it was Watters for the win followed by Mundt, Ryan Granzow, Zak Czeszynski and Steven Scheel.

Rounding out the nights, on track, action was the Bubble Gauntlet. The victory in this one went to the Gauntlet team of Terry Tucker and “Nitro” Nick Klettke.

Next week Havill-Spoerl Automotive Group presents the Season Championships, with a 60 lap Late Model feature and extended features in all divisions. The battle for championship points ends here, with champions crowned in all divisions.

Gates open at 3:00 with qualifying at 5:00 and racing at 7:00 sharp.
Jefferson Speedway is half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin on highway 18.

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary – 09/02/2006 Iron Man Night

Late Model Division Feature Finish
1) 17 Noel Ramge (Helenville) 2) 18 Andy Wendt
3) 22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson) 4) 46 Nick Wendt
5) 11 Timothy Petrie (Fort Atkinson) 6) 53 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)
7) 71 John Ovadal Jr (Watertown) 8) 18 Mike Ehde (Prairie Du Chen)
9) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg 10) 52 Steve Dobbratz
11) 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson) 12) 94 Jason Erickson
13) 56 Don Mattrisch (Whitewater) 14) 32 Tony Koepke (Fort Atkinson)
15) 97 Jason Schuler 16) 27 Tom Schuette (Fort Atkinson)
17) 61 Jerry Eckhart (Johnson Creek) 18) 12 Allen Petrie Jr (Sun Prairie)
19) 33 Dylan Schuyler (Jefferson)
Fast Qualifier: 94 Jason Erickson : 14.270 seconds
Fast Dash: 71 John Ovadal Jr (Watertown)
LastChance: 27 Tom Schuette, 56 Don Mattrisch, 12 Allen Petrie Jr, 32 Tony Koepke
Heats: Qual1) 70 Rick Kehoe, qual3) 27 Tom Schuette, qual2) 16 Luke Westenberg

International Division Feature Finish
1) 97 Chris Chenoweth (Watertown) 2) 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown)
3) 57 Mark English (Janesville) 4) 61 Chris Gottschalk (Jefferson)
5) 4 Mark Joyner (Elkhorn) 6) 49 Tory Adams
Fast Qualifier: 4 Mark Joyner (Elkhorn) : 16.821 seconds
Fast Dash: 97 Chris Chenoweth (Watertown)
LastChance: 2 Geoffrey Jansen, 0 Bill Sweeney, 62 Charlie Braun, 3 Rory Padfield
Heats: Qual1) 49 Tory Adams, qual2) 4D Brandon Riedner

Sportsman Division Feature Finish
1) 7 James Helmer (Oconomowoc) 2) 27 Jay Kalbus (Watertown)
3) 55 Terry Wangsness 4) 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee)
5) 2 Eaan Carson (Fort Atkinson) 6) 28 Mark DePorter
Fast Qualifier: 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee) : 15.075 seconds
Fast Dash: 6 Chris Ehrhart (Deerfield)
LastChance: 82 Mike Acheson, 39 Ken Scott, 1 Jody Krueger, 8 Shaun Scheel
Heats: Qual1) 20 Kody Hubred, qual3) 39 Ken Scott, qual2) 77 Casey Burns

Hobby Stock Division Feature Finish
1) 31 Ken Au (Jefferson) 2) 96 Tim Lange (Dousman)
3) 52 Peter Elgas (Janesville) 4) 10 Larry Moen (Madison)
5) 19 Dennis Schmidt 6) 92 Kyle Stark (Waterloo)
Fast Qualifier: 31 Ken Au (Jefferson) : 16.423 seconds
Fast Dash: 92 Kyle Stark (Waterloo)
Consi: 44 Mike Lichfield, 05 Rob Nuti
LastChance: 30 Josh Carson, 29 Mike Manley, 7 Scott Carson, 56 Randy Strasburg
Heats: Qual1) 44 Mike Lichfield, qual3) 29 Mike Manley, qual2) 7 Scott Carson

Bandit Division Feature Finish
1) 77 Sean Watters (Sun Prairie) 2) 21 Rodney Mundt
3) 19 Ryan Granzow (Watertown) 4) 6 Zak Czeszynski (Oconomowoc)
5) 4 Stephen Scheel (Lake Mills) 6) 25 Darren Brown (Jefferson)
Fast Qualifier: 42 Bobby Selsing : 14.332 seconds
Fast Dash: 77 Sean Watters (Sun Prairie)
LastChance: 25 Darren Brown, 8 Shawn Scheel, 2 David Krull, 7 Dennis Johnson Jr
Heats: Qual1) 7 Dennis Johnson Jr, qual3) 77 Sean Watters, qual2) 21 Rodney Mundt

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary – 09/02/2006 Iron Man Race

Late Model Division IronMan Finish
1) 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson) 2) 33 Dylan Schuyler (Jefferson)
3) 16 Luke Westenberg (Watertown) 4) 70 Rick Kehoe (Jefferson)

International Division IronMan Finish
1) 4 Mark Joyner (Elkhorn) 2) 57 Mark English (Janesville)
3) 97 Chris Chenoweth (Watertown) 4) 61 Chris Gottschalk (Jefferson)
5) 77 Mike Winters (Sun Prairie) 6) 27 James Bell (Brodhead)

Sportsman Division IronMan Finish
1) 19 Dan Schmidt (Watertown) 2) 2 Eaan Carson (Fort Atkinson)
3) 28 Mark DePorter 4) 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee)
5) 42 Tom Reents (Janesville) 6) 82 Mike Acheson (Watertown)

Hobby Stock Division IronMan Finish
1) 19 Dennis Schmidt 2) 31 Ken Au (Jefferson)
3) 60 Chet Paffel (Newerk Township) 4) 62 Bret Carson (Johnson Creek)
5) 92 Kyle Stark (Waterloo) 6) 10 Larry Moen (Madison)

Bandit Division IronMan Finish
1) 4 Stephen Scheel (Lake Mills) 2) 7 Kyle Watters (Stoughton)
3) 21 Rodney Mundt 4) 25 Darren Brown (Jefferson)
5) 81 Jeffery Lefave Jr (Fort Atkins 6) 89 Chad Olds (Fort Atkinson)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top