logosm.gif (7515 bytes)

Dobbratz & Hoeft Score Career First Feature Wins
at Jefferson Speedway
By Larry & Jeanne Starr

August 10, 2002; Jefferson, Wis. -- Steve Dobbratz of Rio claimed his first feature win, in the "Watertown Bowl 18," 50 lap Late Model feature. Starting from the outside of row 2, Dobbratz spent the first 9 laps behind Ken Olson, the early leader. Motoring under Olson, on lap 10, Dobbratz claimed the point, and never looked back. Following a caution, on lap 11, Dobbratz opened a strong lead, as the battle for 2nd raged behind him.

Photo Highlights

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Steve Dobbratz (#52) accepting his rewards from Watertown Bowl 18, following the first feature win of his career, in the "Watertown Bowl 18 - 50" 42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Moving to the point, Steve Dobbratz (#52)  pulls ahead of Ken Olson (#68) and Nick Wendt (#94). Dobbratz went on to win this one. 42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
A blown hose brought an end to the night's race for Jason Erickson (#1). Also collected in the fluid were Eric Gerlach (#55) and Gene Olson Jr. (#37).
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Claiming his first feature win, in the International division, was Scott Hoeft (#00).
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Tony Koepke (#32) takes his bows, in victory lane, following his victory in the Sportsman feature.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
The winning pass! Tony Koepke (#32), moves past Jody Purdy ($K106), in the Sportsman feature. Koepke is on his way to winning the race.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Jim Williams (#J10) moves under Jason Thom (#1) in the Hobby Stock feature, ahead of Johnny Robinson (#99), Roger Stephenson (#88) and Dennis Schmidt (#19). Williams doesn't know it yet, but this is the pass for the win. Crossing the line 2nd, Williams was awarded the win, following post-race technical inspection.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Jeff Lawson won the Demo Derby.

On lap 25, water on the track, and the ensuing 3-car crash, brought the final caution of the race, moving the field up to Dobbratz back bumper, for the restart. Dobbratz again pulled ahead, opening over a quarter lap lead before streaking past the checkered flag, to claim his first career feature. Rounding out the top 5 were Andy Wendt, Scott Nottestad, Roger Behlke and Ron Bishofberger.

In International action Scottie Hoeft of Watertown, led flag to flag, claiming the first feature win, of his career. Starting from the outside of the front row, Hoeft jumped to the early lead, guiding the field to the checkered flag. As Hoeft led the way, Aaron Rude of Cambridge battled his way, from an 11th place start, to claim 2nd from Derek Bettenhausen, on the white flag lap. At the finish it was Hoeft for the win, followed by Rude, Bettenhausen, Steve Drays and Mike Bingham.

In Sportsman division action Tony Koepke of Fort Atkinson claimed top honors, in the 30 lap main event. Starting from the outside of row 2, Koepke headed toward the point as Luke Padfield claimed the early lead. Padfield's turn at the point lasted 1 lap, before Jody Purdy relieved him of the position. Purdy led the way until lap 14, when Koepke closed the gap, moving to the low side to make the winning pass. At the checkered flag it was Koepke for the win followed by James Helmer, Randy Padfield, Chad Reimer and Jay Kalbus.

In Hobby Stock action, Chad Lurvey of Dousman claimed top honors in the 20 lap main event. Starting 4th, Lurvey headed to the front a Chris Matz took the early lead. Lurvey moved under Matz on lap 4, claiming the top spot on lap 5. As Lurvey guided the way, Jim Williams moved past Matz for the 2nd spot, on lap 8. As they streaked past the checkers, it was Lurvey for the win, followed by Williams, Roger Stephenson, Bill Bush and Jimmy Robinson.

Rounding out the night's action was the Demo Derby, with Jeff Lawson of Watertown in the last car running.
Next week Jefferson Speedway hosts the "Voss Sentry Foods Winner's Circle Challenge." The Bandits will race and the third annual "Great American Bartender's Race" will round out the nights racing action.

Gates open at 3:00pm, qualifying at 5:00pm and racing at 7:00pm sharp.

Jefferson Speedway is half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin, on highway 18.

Jefferson Speedway - Date: August 10, 2002 - Event: Watertown Bowl 18 - 50 and the Demo Derby

Late Model Feature Finish:




52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio)


8 Jesse Saunders (New Glarus)


18 Andy Wendt (Watertown)


2 Tom Dorn (Ft. Atkinson)


14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton)


37 Gene Olson Jr. (Jefferson)


44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)


1 Jason Erickson (Cambridge)


76 Ron Bishofberger (Ft. Atkinson)


55 Eric Gerlach (Palmyra)


27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville)


12 Greg Bowers (Waterloo)


68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson)


62 Scott Null (Lake Mills)


94 Nick Wendt (Jefferson)


75 Mike Beyer (Machesney Park IL)


11 Beau Sanden (Janesville)


99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)

FAST QUALIFIER  :   1 Jason Erickson (Cambridge): 14.938 seconds
FAST DASH: 8 Lap :   14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton)
CONSI: 10 Lap :   52 Bob Taylor (Watertown), 0 Scott Hatton (Waterloo)
20 Lap :   8 Jesse Saunders (New Glarus), Mike Beyer (Machesney PK IL), 2 Tom Dorn (Ft. Atkinson), 12 Greg Bowers (Waterloo)

Heats: 10 lap: 1)     6 Ken Piotrowski (Milton)                   2)   3 Joe Wendorf (Jefferson)
                       3)    11 Beau Sanden (Janesville)                 4)   2 Tom Dorn (Ft. Atkinson)

International Feature:




00 Scott Hoeft (Watertown)


84 Steve Drays (Milton)


9 Aaron Rude (Cambridge)


17 Mike Bingham (Jefferson)


10 Derek Bettenhausen (Cambridge)


48 Mike Drays (Milton)

FAST QUALIFIER  :   9 Aaron Rude (Cambridge): 15.861 seconds
Heats: 10 lap: 1)    00 Scott Hoeft (Watertown)                 2)   4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)

Sportsman Feature:




32 Tony Koepke (Ft. Atkinson)


19 Chad Reimer (Oconomowoc)


7 James Helmer (Fox Lake)


27 Jay Kalbus (Oconomowoc)


2 Randy Padfield (Stoughton)


27 Bobby Stough Jr. (Waunakee)

FAST QUALIFIER  :   26 Scott “Chico” Riedner (Waunakee): 15.825 seconds
LAST CHANCE: 15 Lap :   1 Pete Olsen (Ft. Atkinson), 57 Jason Ayers (Stoughton), 17 Noel Ramge (Hellenville), 19 Dan Schmidt (Watertown)Heats: 10 lap: 1)    14 Kyle Taylor (Stoughton)                 2)   87 Kyle Jarlsberg (Cambridge)                  3)    19 Dan Schmidt (Watertown)               

Hobby Stock Feature:




74 Chad Lurvey (Dousman)


17 Bill Bush (Jefferson)


J10 Jim Williams (Milton)


33 Jimmy Robinson (Orfordville)


88 Roger Stephenson (Cambridge)


55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan)

FAST QUALIFIER  :   55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan): 16.947 seconds
CONSI: 8  Lap :   58 Dave Ryan (Madison), 24 John Duessler (Marshall)
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap :   56 Randy Strasburg (Jefferson), 29 Mike Manley (Ft. Atkinson), 70 Rick Kehoe (Jefferson), 27 Jim Tate (Watertown)

Heats:  8 lap: 1)    77 Casey Burns (Edgerton)                   2)   92 Bobby Frisch (Beloit)
                        3)       2 Eaan Carson (Ft. Atkinson)              4)   19 Dennis Schmidt (Johnson Creek)


Demo Derby: Jeff Lawson (Watertown)