logosm.gif (7515 bytes)

 Jefferson Speedway Honors Champions
With Large Awards Banquet!
By Terry Tucker

November 16, 2002; Jefferson, Wis. -- The 2002 racing season was brought to a successful conclusion Saturday night November 16 as over 600 people attended the Jefferson Speedway award banquet held at the Concord House in Concord WI.

Photo Highlights

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Pete Seitz (left) accepts "Lifetime Contribution to Auto Racing" award from Dick Tucker (right).
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)

The Champions pose with their Championship jackets. From left to right, Tim Seitz (Bandit), Roger Stephenson (Hobby Stock), Ron Bishofberger (Late Model), Jay Kalbus (Sportsman) and Aaron Rude (International).
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Curt Thompson accepts the Late Model Rookie of the Year award, from Fred Bender of B&K Metalfab.42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Ron Bishofberger (left) accepts the Late Model Championship plaque from Dick Tucker (right).
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Ron Bishofberger (#76) on one of his visits to Victory Lane, on his way to the 2002 Late Model championship.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Aaron Rude visits Victory Lane, on his way to the 2002 International championship.  42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Tim Seitz is captured in Victory Lane, on his way to the 2002 Bandit championship.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Jay Kalbus, in Victory Lane, in his pursuit of the 2002 Sportsman Championship.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Roger "Mr. Excitement" Stephenson, in Victory Lane, as he pursued the 2002 Hobby Stock Championship.

Champions awards, Rookie of year awards, and sportsmanship awards were presented in all five divisions. Pete Seitz, Edgerton, a long time driver and now wrecker service provider for various tracks, was honored for his life long contributions to the sport of auto racing.  

The attendee's were treated to a Prime Rib dinner catered by Capt's Comers. The traditional cake ceremony featured the five champions, and selected helpers serving the nearly 500 servings of cake and ice cream to a crowd of competitors and well wishers.  

The Award ceremony was M.C.'d by track announcer and stand up comic Randy Kamenick. Over 90 award plaques and $18,500 in point fund monies were distributed.

Promoter Dick Tucker outlined the 2003 season schedule and the improvements planned for the speedway for the up coming season. Scoff Trentadue of WFAW announced that the Winners Circle Program will be expanded to include all five divisions 2003.  

Proposed (subject to revision) rule books were distributed, with Greg Folk, Chief  Tech. Inspector and the rest of the tech staff providing competitors a summary of expected changes for 2003.  

The evening was concluded by a rousing D.J. and Karaoke show provided by Twist-N-Shout Karaoke of Janesville. All pictures of the dance floor were confiscated in the interest of human dignity.  

Jefferson Speedway first race of the 2003 season will be Saturday night, April 26 featuring the 7th annual Spring Sizzler 50 for the late models.

Practice and inspection days are set for Saturday afternoon April 19, and 12th beginning at noon. For more information contact Dick Tucker at 920-674-4445.