logosm.gif (7515 bytes)

Bishofberger Scores Another Win at Jefferson Speedway!
By Larry & Jeanne Starr

Jefferson, Wis., June 1, 2002 -- Ron Bishofberger of Fort Atkinson turned came from the 13th starting position to claim victory, in the 35 lap main event at Jefferson Speedway. Gene Olson Jr. grabbed the lead at the green flag, leading the way for 19 laps, as Bishofberger worked his way through the field, followed by defending track champion Dan Chesmore..

Photo Highlights

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Ron Bishofberger (#76), made his second trip, of the 2002 season, to Victory Lane, following the Late Model 35 lapper.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Ron Bishofberger (#76), moves ahead of Gene Olson Jr. (#37), in the Late Model Feature. Ken Olson (#68) runs 3rd. They went on to finish 1, 2 and 3, in that order.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Chris Quam (#4), moving under Derrick Bettenhausen (#10), on his way to winning the International Feature.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Trent Erdman (#11), repeats in Victory Lane, in the Sportsman feature.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Trent Erdman (#11), patiently looks for an opening, as Mark Deporter (#28) and Nick Berge (#37) battle for the lead, in the Sportsman feature. Erdman is on his way to the win, while Deporter held on for 3rd.42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Bill Bush (#17) visits Victory Lane, following his win, in the Hobby Stock Feature.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Leslie Padfield (#4), won the Ladies Challenge race, in the Sportsman division.42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Dawn Deppe (#71), claimed top honors, in the Hobby Stock division, Ladies Challenge race.

Avoiding 4 cautions Chesmore, who started the night with a poor qualifying effort, making the feature through the Last Chance Race, followed Bishofberger to the 5th spot. Chesmore suffered a flat right front tire, on lap 18, bringing the 5th caution, and ending his hopes of a feature win.

On the restart Bishofberger was up to the 2nd spot, closing with Olson, and claiming the point on lap 19. From there Bishofberger guided the way to the checkered flag, followed by Gene Olson Jr., Ken Olson, Jason Erickson and Josh Weir.

Stoughton's Chris Quam notched his second feature, in as many weeks, in the 20 lap International main event. Starting 12th Quam motored past Derrick Bettenhausen, for the top spot, on lap 9, showing the way from there to the finish. At the stripe it was Quam for the win, followed by Bettenhausen, Aaron Rude, Bobby Moore and Mike Drays.

In Sportsman division action, Trent Erdman of Fort Atkinson, earned a hard fought victory in the 25 lap feature. Starting outside of row 3 Erdman started his journey to the checkered flag, with Dennis Schmidt pulling to the early lead. Erdman made his way to fourth, behind Nick Berge and Mark Deporter, who waged a long side-by-side battle, for 2nd.

Erdman found an opening, on lap 12, moving past Berge for the 3rd spot. Schmidt's huge lead evaporated, on lap 16, when a crash, in turn 2, brought the only caution of the race. On the restart, Erdman challenged Deporter, claiming 2nd on lap 19. Schmidt fell to Erdman's charge on lap 22. At the stripe it was Erdman followed by Schmidt, Deporter, Jay Kalbus and Bobby Stough.

In Hobby Stock action, Bill Bush of Jefferson came from 4th to win the 20 lap feature. Bush motored past Jason Thom for the top spot, on lap 12, guiding the field to the checkered flag. At the stripe it was Bush for the win, followed by Jim Williams, Lincoln Keeser, Terry Wangsness and Chad Lurvey.

Rounding out the nights racing action were the Ladies Challenge Races, with Leslie Padfield of Jefferson winning in the Sportsman Division and Dawn Deppe winning the Hobby Stocks.

Next week at Jefferson Speedway, concludes the 2nd annual Summer Rumble, with over $4,500 in bonus money to the top, overall finishers, in the 2-Track, 2-night special event. Part one is at Columbus 151, next Friday night.

Jefferson Speedway is on Highway 18, half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin.

Late Model Feature Finish:




76 Ron Bishofberger (Ft. Atkinson)


71 John Ovadal Jr. (Hellenville)


37 Gene Olson Jr. (Jefferson)


2 Tom Dorn (Ft. Atkinson)


68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson)


22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson)


1 Jason Erickson (Cambridge)


52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio)


52 Josh Weir (Cottage Grove)


8 Jesse Saunders (New Glarus)


41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton)


27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville)


25 Randy Cusick (Ft. Atkinson)


2 Craig Olver (Deforest)


44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)


11 Beau Sanden (Janesville)


71 Tim Noble (Janeville)


14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton)

FAST QUALIFIER  :   1 Jason Erickson (Cambridge): 14.883 seconds
FAST DASH: 8 Lap :   44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)
20 Lap :   27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville), 22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson),  71 Tim Noble (Janesville), 8 Jesse Saunders (New Glarus)
Heats: 10 lap: 1)    66 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson)      2)   88 Jim Gleesing (Whitewater) 3)    27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville)         

International Feature:




4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)


28 Bobby Moore (Edgerton)


10 Derrick Bettenhausen (Cambridge)


48 Mike Drays (Milton)


9 Aaron Rude (Cambridge)


17 Mike Bingham (Jefferson)

FAST QUALIFIER  :   4 Chris Quam (Stoughton): 15.925 seconds
Heats: 10 lap: 1)    84 Steve Drays (Milton)                       2)   57 Mark English (Janesville)

Sportsman Feature:




11 Trent Erdman (Ft. Atkinson)


27 Jay Kalbus (Oconomowoc)


19 Dennis Schmidt (Johnson Creek)


27 Bobby Stough (Waunakee)


28 Mark Deporter (Ft. Atkinson)


26 Scott Riedner (Wauakee)

FAST QUALIFIER  :   95 Jason Thoma (Jefferson): 15.735 seconds
CONSI: 10 Lap :   1 Pete Olsen (Ft. Atkinson), 82 Mike Acheson (Watertown)
LAST CHANCE: 15 Lap :   4 Luke Padfield (Jefferson), 3 Rory Padfield (Stoughton), 87 Kyle Jarlsberg (Cambridge), 55 Carey Hensel (Stoughton)
Heats: 10 lap: 1)    81 Jeramy Hayton (Lake Geneva)      2)   4 Rory Padfield (Stoughton)
                        3)    26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee)               4)   27 Bobby Stough (Waunakee)

Hobby Stock Feature:




17 Bill Bush (Jefferson)


55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan)


J10 Jim Williams (Milton)


74 Chad Lurvey (Dousman)


99 Lincoln Keeser (Milton)


88 Roger Stephenson (Cambridge)

FAST QUALIFIER  :   6 Jeremy Hartwig (Cottage Grove): 16.912 seconds
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap :   8 Chris Schoonover (Janesville), 44 Jesse Ayers (Stoughton),   00 Paul Edmundson (Whitewater), 80 Mike Meyers (Orfordville)
Heats:  8 lap: 1)    8 Chris Schoonover (Janesville)         2)   9 Bill Emmons (Jefferson)  3)       40 Lonny Wilson (Janesville)       

Ladies Challenge Races:

Sportsman:       4  Leslie Padfield (Jefferson)

Hobby Stock:  71 Dawn Deppe (Waterloo)