logosm.gif (7515 bytes)

 Wendt Wins "Good Karma Cup 50" at Jefferson!
By Larry Starr

July 26, 2003; Jefferson, Wis. - Andy Wendt of Watertown clamed top honors in the “Good Karma Cup 50” at Jefferson Speedway. Starting from the inside of row 4, Wendt headed toward the point, as Mike Taylor pulled to the early lead.

Photo Highlights

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Andy Wendt (#18) claimed victory, in the
Good Karma Cup 50, Late Model feature..
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Andy Wendt (#18), moves under Jay
Kalbus (#27) for the lead, of the Good Karma Cup 50. Wendt went on to win the event, while Kalbus finished 4th.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
They're everywhere! Early in the Late Model feature, Tim Noble (#71) found the back stretch wall, Coming to a stop going into turn 3. Everyone pictured made it through OK. But several cars were not so lucky!. 42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Scott Hoeft (#00) won the International feature. 42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Tod Goldade (#9) was victorious in
the Sportsman feature.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
When you look to your left, and see
a bumper, ... That's Bad! Paul Edmundson (#00) spinning across the front of Jesse Ayers (#44), in the Hobby Stock feature while Chris Purdy (#88) and Terry Wangsness (#55) look for escape routes.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Jason Deppe (#71) won the first feature, of his racing career, in the Hobby Stock
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Jason Deppe (#71) holding off Dennis
Schmidt (#19) in the Hobby Stock feature. This is how they finished, Deppe first and Schmidt second!
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Three Wide racing, in the Hobby Stock feature, with Chris Purdy (#88), Jesse Ayers (#44) and Paul Edmundson (#00).

Taylor held the point for 2 laps, battling on the outside of Jay Kalbus, before surrendering the point to Kalbus. The only caution of the race came, when a car he the back stretch wall, collecting many behind him. Kalbus led the restart, opening a strong lead, as Wendt battled his way from 7th. Wendt motored past Ken Olson, for 2nd, on lap 26, looking ahead to Kalbus. Closing the gap, lap by lap, Wendt caught Kalbus by lap 33. Working the inside Wendt made his way to the point on lap 38, with Ron Bishofberger and Randy Breunig closing with Kalbus. At the stripe it was Andy Wendt for the win, followed by Bishofberger, Breunig, Kalbus and Nick Wendt.

In International action Scott Hoeft of Watertown won the 20 lap feature. Starting from the outside of row 3, Hoeft started forward as Tory Adams pulled to the early lead. Adams surrendered the point to Mike Bingham on lap 7, with Hoeft moving into 2nd on lap 8. Hoeft found his way past Bingham on lap 15, leading the final 5 laps to the checkered flag. At the stripe it was Hoeft for the win, followed by Chris Quam, Mike Drays, Mike Bingham and Derek Bettenhausen.

In Sportsman action Tod Goldade led 30 of 30, claiming top honor in the feature event. Starting from the outside of the front row Goldade claimed the lead at the start and never looked back, guiding the field all the way to the checkers. As they flew past the checkered it was Goldade for the win, followed by Bret Schmidt, Kyle Taylor, Tony Koepke and Tom Reents.
In Hobby Stock action Jason Deppe of Waterloo notched his first career feature win, in the 20 lap main event. Starting from the outside of row 1, Deppe claimed the early lead, guiding the field to the checkers. At the stripe it was Deppe for the win followed by Dennis Schmidt, Eaan Carson, Jim Tate and Jesse Ayers.

Next week Jefferson Speedway hosts Q-106 Nite at the Races, featuring the “Kearn’s Motor Car 50 -lap Late Model feature,” plus the added attraction of the “Kearn’s vs. Q-106 Grudge Race”. This highlights a full racing program with the Late Model, International, Sportsman, Hobby Stock and Bandits. Gates open at 3:00, qualifying at 5:00 and racing at 7:00 sharp.

Jefferson Speedway is on highway 18, half way between Jefferson and Cambridge Wisconsin.Jefferson Speedway
Date: July 26, 2003 - Event: Good Karma Cup 50 & One on One Street Drags

Late Model Feature Finish:    Laps:    50
1.        18 Andy Wendt (Watertown)                10.         41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton)
2.        76 Ron Bishofberger (Ft. Atkinson)     11.        100 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson)
3.        4 Randy Breunig (Columbus)             12.         56 Don Mattrisch (Ft. Atkinson)
4.        27 Jay Kalbus (Oconomowoc)            13.         52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio)
5.        94 Nick Wendt (Watertown)                 14.         68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson)
6.        71 John Ovadal Jr. (Watertown)          15.         14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton)
7.        11 Beau Sanden (Janesville)             16.         71 Tim Noble (Janesville)
8.        12 Greg Bowers (Waterloo)               17.         2 April Reimer (Beloit)
9.        44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)              18.         13 Ed Wolff III (Clyman)
FAST QUALIFIER : 4 Randy Breunig (Columbus): 14.901 seconds
FAST DASH: 8 Lap (Good Karma Broadcasting): 71 John Ovadal Jr. (Watertown)
LAST CHANCE: 20 Lap : 2 April Reimer (Beloit), 12 Greg Bowers (Waterloo), 56 Don Mattrisch (Ft. Atkinson), 13 Ed Wolff III (Clyman)
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson)    2) 40 Scott Patrick (Dousman)   3) 12 Greg Bowers (Waterloo)   

International Feature:     Laps:    20
1.        00 Scott Hoeft (Watertown)     4.        17 Mike Bingham (Jefferson)
2.        4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)    5.         10 Derek Bettenhausen (Cambridge)
3.        48 Mike Drays (Milton)          6.         49 Tory Adams (Madison)
FAST QUALIFIER : 4 Chris Quam (Stoughton): 15.990 seconds
FAST DASH: 6 Lap (Good Karma Broadcasting): 48 Mike Drays (Milton)
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 49 Tory Adams (Madison)    2) 17 Mike Bingham (Jefferson)

Sportsman Feature:    Laps:    30
1.        9 Tod Goldade (Stoughton)      4.        32 Tony Koepke (Ft. Atkinson)
2.        20 Bret Schmidt (Watertown)     5.        42 Tom Reents (Janesville)
3.        14 Kyle Taylor (Stoughton)       6.        95 Jason Thoma (Jefferson)
FAST QUALIFIER : 31 Dave Oswald (Cottage Grove): 15.708 seconds
FAST DASH: 8 Lap (Good Karma Broadcasting): 20 Bret Schmidt (Watertown)
LAST CHANCE: 15 Lap : 7 Jody Purdy (Milton), 23 Chris Koepke (Ft. Atkinson),  57 Mark English (Janesville), 2 Jordan McBride (Janesville)
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 4 Luke Padfield (Jefferson)    2) 11 Trent Erdman (Ft. Atkinson)   3) 95 Jason Thoma (Jefferson)

Hobby Stock Feature:    Laps:    20
1.        71 Jason Deppe (Waterloo)                  4.         27 Jim Tate (Watertown)
2.        19 Dennis Schmidt (Johnson Creek)     5.        44 Jesse Ayers (Stoughton)
3.        2 Eaan Carson (Ft. Atkinson)                6.         55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan)
FAST QUALIFIER : 6 Jeramy Hartwig (Cottage Grove): 16.567 seconds
FAST DASH: 6 Lap (Good Karma Broadcasting): 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan)
CONSI: 10 Lap : 29 Mike Manley (Ft. Atkinson), 26 Faye Riedner (Waunakee)
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap : 01 Justin Bowey (Sullivan), 99 Lincoln Keeser (Johnson Creek),
67 Russ Nicholson (Madison), 8 Chris Schoonover (Janesville)
Heats: 8 lap: 1) 26 Faye Riedner (Waunakee)    2) 8 Chris Schoonover (Janesville)   3)     00 Paul Edmundson (Whitewater)     4) 19 Dennis Schmidt (Johnson Creek)

One-on-One Drags:
8 Cyl Truck: Clint Starks (Lake Mills)
8 Cyl Cars: Bob Rabe (Madison)
6 Cyl Cars: Clint Starks (Lake Mills)
4 Cyl Cars: Josh Strate (Cross Plains)