Jefferson Speedway Race Report:

logosm.gif (7515 bytes)

Schuyler & English Notch First Wins at Jefferson Speedway!
By Larry  & Jeanne Starr

August 14, 2004; Jefferson, Wis. - Dylan Schuyler of Dousman claimed top honors in the, 35 lap, Late Model main event, scoring his first feature win. Starting outside the front row, Schuyler claimed the early lead and never looked back, holding off Luke Westenberg all the way to the finish. The race was slowed by a single caution, on lap 12, when the battle for 4th, triggered a spin that scattered much of the field. At the stripe it was Schuyler for the win, followed by Westenberg, Jason Thoma, Steve Dobbratz and Ken Olson.

Photo Highlights

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Dylan Schuyler (33) held off Luke Westenburg (19) Saturday night to win his
first career late model feature at Jefferson Speedway.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Scott Nottestad of Stoughton took top honors in the 25-lap "WFAW Winner's
Circle Challenge" race for late models. Lew Wendlandt of WFAW presented the
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Mark English (57) passed Dan Schmidt (19) on his way to the sportsman main event win Saturday at Jefferson Speedway. The feature win was the first of his career. 42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Brent Nottestad (79) worked under Tim Seitz (57) enroute to victory in the International class main event at Jefferson Speedway Saturday.42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Wim Williams (J10) nipped Terry Wangsness (55) at the line to win the hobby
stock feature Saturday at Jefferson Speedway. 
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Jody Krueger in victory lane after winning the bandit class feature Saturday at Jefferson Speedway.

Scott Nottestad of Stoughton took top honors in the, 25 lap, “WFAW Winner’s Circle Challenge” race.

In International action Brent Nottestad of Cambridge won the 20 lap main event. Starting 8th in the field, Nottestad headed toward the front, as Joe Cross grabbed the early lead. Nottestad made his way to 3rd, by lap 6. On lap 9 Nottestad motored under Tim Seitz and Cross, claiming the point. At the stripe it was Nottestad followed by Chris Nelson Jr., Cross, Scotty Hoeft and Seitz.

Nottestad also scored the win, in the, 15 lap, “WFAW Winner’s Circle Challenge."

In Sportsman division action Mark English of Janesville scored his first victory, in the 30 lap feature. Starting outside row 2, English saw Dan Schmidt claim the early lead. Driving to 2nd, by lap 2, English closed with Schmidt. Looking to the inside, on lap 6, English challenged for the lead. Battling side by side, for 5 lap, English completed the winning pass on l1. English saw the checkered flag first, followed by Schmidt, Kyle Padfield, Brandon Riedner and Dave Oswald.

Stoughton’s Ryan Goldade claimed victory in the, 20 lap, “WFAW Winner’s Circle Challenge."

In Hobby Stock action Jim Williams of Milton won the 20 lap feature. Starting 2nd, Williams took the lead at the green flag, leading 19 of the 20 laps. Terry Wangsness made his way to 2nd, on lap 13. Wangsness closed with Williams and the battle was on. The battle went back and fourth with Wangsness edging ahead at the white flag. Williams battled back edging past Wangsness at the checkered. Rounding out the top 5 were Pete Elgas, Johnny Robinson and Eaan Carson.

Jim Tate Jr. claimed victory in the, 15 lap, “WFAW Winner’s Circle Challenge.

In Bandit action Jody Krueger of Edgerton bested the field, in the 18 lap feature. Starting outside row 6, Krueger headed toward the front as Kevin Weaver grabbed the early lead. Weaver surrendered the point to Ryan Oldenhoff, on lap 10, as Krueger made his way to 3rd. Oldenhoff, Weaver and Krueger joined a 3-way battle for the lead, with Krueger pulling ahead on lap 15. At the finish it was Krueger at the point, followed by Oldenhoff, Bobby Selsing, Weaver and Dan Gosda.

Bill Sweeney of Janesville won the, 10 lap, “WFAW Winner’s Circle Challenge."

Next week Jefferson Speedway hosts “UAW Local 95 Night,” with a 5 lap Late Model feature and a full racing program, in all 5 divisions. Rounding out the nights racing action are the One-on-One Street Drags.

The Gates open at 2:00PM, Qualifying starts at 4:40PM and racing commences at 7:00PM Sharp.
Jefferson Speedway is half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin, on Highway 18.



Jefferson Speedway - Date: August 14, 2004 - Event: WFAW Winners Circle Challenge

Late Model Feature Finish: Laps: 35
1. 33 Dylan Schuyler (Dousman)             10. 27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville)
2. 16 Luke Westenberg (Watertown)       11. 41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton)
3. 4 Jason Thoma (Jefferson)                   12. 66 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson)
4. 52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio)                      13. 14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton)
5. 68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson)                14. 94 John Ovadal Jr. (Watertown)
6. 97 Jim Jarlsberg (Cambridge)              15. 4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)
7. 82 Chad “Squirt” Stevens (Orfordville) 16. 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)
8. 56 Don Mattrisch (Whitewater)          17. 19 Randy Breunig (Columbus)
9. 71 Tim Noble (Janesville)                    18. 99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)

FAST QUALIFIER : 99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater): 14.561 seconds
FAST DASH: 8 Lap : 19 Randy Breunig (Columbus)
Winners Circle Challenge: 25 Lap : 14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton)
CONSI: 12 Lap : 37 Nick Berge, 6 Ken Piotrowski
LAST CHANCE: 20 Lap : 4 Chris Quam, 41 Mike Taylor, 66 Curt Thompson, 94 John Ovadal Jr.
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 1 Bruce Lee (Edgerton) 2) 4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)  3) 19 Chad Reimer (Oconomowoc)

International Feature: Laps: 20
1. 79 Brent Nottestad (Cambridge)            4. 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown)
2. 73 Chris Nelson Jr. (Cottage Grove)      5. 57 Tim Seitz (Edgerton)
3. 67 Joe Cross (Sun Prairie)                    6. 49 Tory Adams (Madison)
FAST QUALIFIER : 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown): 16.840 seconds
FAST DASH: 6 Lap : 73 Chris Nelson Jr. (Cottage Grove)
Winners Circle Challenge: 15 Lap : 79 Brent Nottestad (Cambridge)
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 57 Tim Seitz (Edgerton) 2) 73 Chris Nelson Jr. (Cottage Grove)

Sportsman Feature: Laps: 30
1. 57 Mark English (Janesville)      4. 4D Brandon Riedner (Waunakee)
2. 19 Dan Schmidt (Watertown)     5. 31 Dave Oswald (Cottage Grove)
3. 2 Kyle Padfield (Edgerton)         6. 17 Noel Ramge (Hellenville)
FAST QUALIFIER : 11 Trent Erdman (Ft. Atkinson): 15.356 seconds
FAST DASH: 6 Lap : 28 Mark Deporter (Ft. Atkinson)
Winners Circle Challenge: 20 Lap : 39 Ryan Goldade (Stoughton)
LAST CHANCE: 15 Lap : 8 Mike Heelein, 5 Cliff Rucks, 38 Brent Gergen, 20 Rikki Bishofberger
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 38 Bryon Grassl (Janesville) 2) 5 Cliff Rucks (Cottage Grove)

Hobby Stock Feature: Laps: 20
1. J10 Jim Williams (Milton)            4. 99 Johnny Robinson (Beloit)
2. 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan)   5. 2 Eaan Carson (Ft. Atkinson)
3. 52 Pete Elgas (Janesville)          6. 31 Ken Au (Jefferson)

FAST QUALIFIER : 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan): 16.552 seconds
FAST DASH: 6 Lap : 38 Bryon Grassl (Janesville)
Winners Circle Challenge: 15 Lap : 27 Jim Tate Jr. (Watertown)
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap : 50 Jim Schmidt, 80 Mike Meyers, 08 Dennis Schmidt, 11 Steve Sauer
Heats: 8 lap: 1) 37 Chris Jackson (Ft. Atkinson) 2) 33 Jim Robinson (Orfordville)  3) 44 Jesse Ayers (Stoughton)

Bandit Feature: Laps: 15
1. Z/28 Jody Krueger (Edgerton)         4. 9 Kevin Weaver (Morrisonville)
2. 29 Ryan Oldenhoff (Ft. Atkinson)    5. 21 Dan Gosda (Sun Prairie)
3. 42 Bobby Selsing (Ft. Atkinson)     6. 42 Bill Sweeney (Janesville)

FAST QUALIFIER : 3 Rory Padfield (Stoughton): 15.099 seconds
FAST DASH: 5 Lap : X Troy Yohn (Waterloo)
Winners Circle Challenge: 10 Lap : 42 Bill Sweeney (Janesville)
CONSI: 8 Lap : 12 Mike Winters, 11 Andy Bauler
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap : 92 Kyle Stark, 12 Mike Winters, 5 Peter Shelley, 21 Justin Punsel
Heats: 8 lap: 1) 12 Mike Winters (Sun Prairie) 2) 77 Sean Watters (Sun Prairie) 3) 20 Dale Warner (Whitewater)

                    4) 42 Bobby Selsing (Ft. Atkinson)