Jefferson Speedway Race Report:

logosm.gif (7515 bytes)

 Thompson Scores First LM Feature --
Sparkman Sweeps International at Jefferson Speedway
By Larry  & Jeanne Starr

June 5, 2004; Jefferson, Wis. - Fort Atkinson’s Curt Thompson claimed top honors in the “WSLD 35," notching his first feature win in a Late Model.

Photo Highlights

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Curt Thompson alights from his car after winning his first career late model
feature race Saturday at Jefferson Speedway.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Dave Oswald (31) sweeps across the finish line to win the sportsman feature race Saturday at Jefferson Speedway. Oswald edged Mark Deporter (28) and Ryan Goldade (outside). 42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Terry Wangness stalks leaders Johnny Robinson, Jr. (99) and Bryan Grassel (38) in hobby stock feature action Saturday at Jefferson Speedway. Wangsness came home the winner while Robinson to third and Grassel placed second.

Starting from the outside of row 2, Thompson watched Jasper Gronert grab the early lead. Closing with Gronert on lap 8, Thompson drove to the inside, making the winning pass between turns 1 and 2, on lap 9. Caution came, on lap 20, when a couple of cars tangled in turn 2. Thompson led the restart, guiding the field to the checkered flag. At the stripe it was Thompson for the win, followed by Ken Olson, John Ovadal, Jason Erickson and Dan Chesmore.

In International action B.J. Sparkman, of Machesney Park IL, won every event he entered, starting with a new track record in qualifying and ending with the feature win.

Starting the feature from the inside of row 4, Sparkman claimed the lead on the first lap, of the 15 lap feature, and never looked back, guiding the field to the checkers. At the stripe it was Sparkman for the win, followed by Scotty Hoeft, Allen Petrie, Tim Seitz and Steve Allman.

In Sportsman division action Dave Oswald of Cottage Grove edged out the competition to claim top honors in the 30 lap main event. Starting from the outside of row 3, Oswald motored under Mark English, for the lead, on lap 11. As Oswald guided the field to the finish, Ryan Goldade and Mark Deporter closed with the leader. At the stripe it was Oswald, by a quarter car length over Deporter, with Goldade a quarter car length back in third. Rounding out the top 5 were Bobby Stough and English.

In Hobby Stock action Terry Wangsness of Delavan claimed top honors, in the 20 lap main event. Starting from the inside of row 7, Wangsness headed through traffic as Johnny Robinson jumped to the early lead. Robinson Surrendered the point to Bryon Grassl, on lap 14, with Wangsness close behind for 2nd. Wangsness took the low line, challenging Grassl for 2 laps, before making the winning pass on lap 16. At the stripe it was Wangsness at the front, followed by Grassl, Robinson, Eaan Carson and Jessie Ayers.

Next week at Jefferson Speedway, it’s round 2, of the “Summer Rumble,” featuring the “Papa Murphy’s Take & Bake Pizza” 50 lap Late Model feature. The Bandits will be racing.

Jefferson Speedway is half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin, on highway 18.

Jefferson Speedway - Date: June 5, 2004 - Event: WSLD Night at the Races

Late Model

Feature Finish:Laps:35
1.66 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson)        10.16 Nick Westenberg (Watertown)
2.68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson)                11.19 Chad Reimer (Oconomowoc)
3.94 John Ovadal Jr. (Watertown)           12.44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)
4.2 Jason Erickson (Cambridge)             13.11 Beau Sanden (Janesville)
5.27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville)              14.2 Matt Frey (Cambridge)
6.22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson)               15.6 Ken Piotrowski (Janesville)
7.52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio)                      16.19 Randy Breunig (Columbus)
8.4 Jason Thoma (Jefferson)                  17.46 Nick Wendt (Watertown)
9.82 Chad “Squirt” Stevens (Orfordville)  18.99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)
FAST QUALIFIER : 2 Jason Erickson (Cambridge): 14.633 seconds
FAST DASH: 8 Lap : 4 Jason Thoma (Jefferson)
LAST CHANCE: 20 Lap : 99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater), 2 Matt Frey (Cambridge),
6 Ken Piotrowski (Janesville), 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 6 Ken Piotrowski (Janesville) 2) 56 Don Matrisch (Ft. Atkinson) 3) 66 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson)


1.70 B.J. Sparkman (Machesney PK IL)   4.57 Tim Seitz (Edgerton)
2.00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown)                  5.79 Steve Allman (Oconomowoc)
3.12 Allen Petrie Jr. (Sun Prairie)              6.67 Joe Cross (Sun Prairie)
FAST QUALIFIER : 70 B.J. Sparkman (Machesney PK IL): 16.821 seconds (New Track Record)
FAST DASH: 4 Lap : 70 B.J. Sparkman
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 70 B. J. Sparkman


1.31 Dave Oswald (Cottage Grove)        4.27 Bobby Stough (Waunakee)
2.28 Mark Deporter (Ft. Atkinson)         5.57 Mark English (Janesville)
3.39 Ryan Goldade (Stoughton)             6.20 Bret Schmidt (Watertown)
FAST QUALIFIER : 28 Mark Deporter (Ft. Atkinson): 15.412 seconds
FAST DASH: 6 Lap : 39 Ryan Goldade (Stoughton)
LAST CHANCE: 15 Lap : 94 Craig Henning (Hellenville), 59 Judy Weir (Cottage Grove), 19 Dan Schmidt (Watertown), 2 Kyle Padfield (Edgerton)
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 38 Brent Gergen (Jefferson) 2) 7 Jody Purdy (Milton)  3) 31 Dave Oswald (Cottage Grove)

Hobby Stock

1.55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan)       4.2 Eaan Carson (Ft. Atkinson)
2.38 Bryon Grassl (Janesville)            5.44 Jessie Ayers (Stoughton)
3.99 Johnny Robinson II (Beloit)        6.31 Ken Au (Jefferson)
FAST QUALIFIER : 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan): 16.525 seconds (New Track Record)
FAST DASH: 6 Lap : 38 Bryon Grassl (Janesville)
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap : 4 Chris Higgins (Watertown), 7 Scott Carson (Ft. Atkinson), 37 Chris Jackson (Ft. Atkinson), 9 Bill Emmons (Jefferson)
Heats: 8 lap: 1) 14 Scott Snyder (Stoughton) 2) 4 Chris Higgins (Watertown) 3) 99 Johnny Robinson II (Beloit)

One-on-One Street Drags:
Trucks: Clint Stark (Lake Mills)
Cars: Jeremy Keck (Waterloo)