Jefferson Speedway Race Report:

logosm.gif (7515 bytes)

Noble Wins Late Models, Lange & White First Time Winners
By Larry Starr

July 16, 2005; Jefferson, Wis. -  Tim Noble of Janesville claimed top honors in the “Kearns Motor Car Co. 50,” Late Model feature. Starting outside row 4, Noble began his drive to the front, as Jasper Gronert jumped to the early lead. Noble claimed the 3rd spot on lap 5 and 2nd on lap 6, setting his sites on Gronert. 

Photo Highlights

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Tim Noble (71) of Janesville won the late model feature Saturday night at Jefferson Speedway.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Jason Thoma (42) passes Josh Courtney on his way to winning the sportsman feature Saturday at Jefferson Speedway.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Mark English (57) dives under Bill Sweeney (42) as Scotty Hoeft trails in international class feature action Saturday at Jefferson Speedway. English went on to win the main event for the 4-cylinder cars.42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Tyler White of Ft. Atkinson (24) passed Brad Knapp and went on to capture his first career bandit class feature race July 16th at Jefferson Speedway.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Dousman's Tim Lange (96) was Jefferson Speedwayıs hobby stock feature winner Saturday.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Jefferson Speedway announcer Randy Kamenik won the special Kearn's Motor Car Company challenge race Saturday.

Moving to the inside of Gronert, on lap 15, Noble made the winning pass on lap 16. The race slowed for one caution, for a turn 1 spin on lap 48, setting up a Green White Checkered finish. At the stripe it was Noble for the win followed by Gronert, Tony Koepke, Luke Westenberg and Chris Koepke.

In International action Mark English of Janesville claimed the win, in the 15 lap main event. Starting outside row 3, English watched Bill Sweeney pull to the early lead. English drove past Paul Kisow on lap 2, claiming the point, from Sweeney, on lap 3. At the finish it was English for the win followed by Chris Chenoweth, Chris Nelson, Mark Joyner and Sweeney.

In Sportsman action Jason Thoma of Fort Atkinson claimed victory in the 25 lap main event. Starting inside row 3, Thoma started his drive tot he front as Josh Courtney grabbed the early lead. Courtney led the way, for 17 laps, as the battle for 2nd raged behind him.

Thoma made his way to 2nd, on lap 11, with Trent Erdman, Mark Deporter and Jay Kalbus still battling for the spot. Thoma gained the advantage on lap 18, while Courtney held on to the 2nd spot. As they took the checkers it was Thoma for the win followed by Courtney, Deporter, Erdman and Luke Padfield.

In Hobby Stock action Tim Lange of Dousman was awarded the win, in the 20 lap main event. Starting from the pole, Lange watched Steve Sauer take the early lead. The only caution of the race came on lap 12, for a spin and fluid on the track.

Lange ran 2nd on the restart with Eaan Carson working from behind. Carson motored to 2nd, on lap 13, with Sauer still at the point. Sauer and Carson tangled heading into turn 1, on the final lap. Sauer suffered a flat left rear tire. Carson made his way past and was first at the checkered but was “Black Flagged”, awarding the win to Lange. Rounding out the “official” top 5 were Scott Carson, Johnny Robinson, Pete Elgas and Ken Au.

In Bandit action Tyler White of Fort Atkinson claimed the first feature win of his racing career, in the 18 lap top event. Starting outside row 2, White moved quickly to 2nd, as Brad Knapp pulled to the early lead. White made his way under Knapp on lap 2, claiming the top spot before the 3rd circuit. The only caution of the race came, on lap 4, for a rollover in the first turn. White led the restart, building a strong lead as he showed the way to the checkered flag. Rounding out the top 5 were John Remsik, Rodney Mundt, Chris Hart and Tom Schuette.

Clint Starks of Sun Prairie claimed victory in the One-on-One Street Drags.

Next week at Jefferson Speedway presents “Big Mike’s Barn & Home Improvement 50,” plus “Q106 Night at the Races,” with a 50 lap Late Model feature and a full racing program in all divisions.

Gates open at 2:00, Qualifying at 4:30 and racing starts at 7:00 sharp.

Jefferson Speedway is half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin on Highway 18.



Jefferson Speedway Race Summary

 Late Model Division                   Feature Finish
   1) 71 Tim Noble (Janesville)                   2) 22 Jasper Gronert (Ft. Atkinson)
   3) 32 Tony Koepke (Fort Atkinson)      4) 16 Luke Westenberg (Watertown)
   5) 23 Chris Koepke (Jefferson)              6) 6 Ken Piotrowski (Janesville)
   7) 82 Chad Stevens (Orfordville)            8) 68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson)
   9) 94 Jason Erickson (Lake Mills)         10) 20 Bret Schmidt (Watertown)
  11) 4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)               12) 44 Roger Behlke
  13) 52 April Reimer (Beloit)                   14) 17 Noel Ramge (Helenville)
  15) 41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton)             16) 2 Matt Frey
  17) 33 Dylan Schuyler                            18) 19 Chad Reimer
 Fast Qualifier:   94 Jason Erickson (Lake Mills)         :  14.530 seconds
 Fast Dash: 71 Tim Noble (Janesville)
 Heats: Qual1) 22 Jasper Gronert, Qual2) 4 Chris Quam

 International Division                Feature Finish
   1) 57 Mark English                                2) 97 Chris Chenoweth (Watertown)
   3) 73 Chris Nelson (Cottage Grove)     4) 4 Mark Joyner (Palmyra)
   5) 42 Bill Sweeney (Janesville)               6) 00 Paul Kisow (Marshall)
 Fast Qualifier:   73 Chris Nelson (Cottage Grove)        :  16.738 seconds
 Fast Dash: 4 Mark Joyner (Palmyra)
 Heats: Qual1) 2 Brandon Kozak

 Sportsman Division                    Feature Finish
   1) 42 Jason Thoma                                 2) 21 Josh Courtney (Janesville)
   3) 28 Mark DePorter (Fort Atkinson)    4) 11 Trent Erdman (Fort Atkinson)
   5) 4 Luke Padfield (Jefferson)                 6) 27 Jay Kalbus (Watertown)
 Fast Qualifier:   42 Jason Thoma                         :   15.333 seconds
 Fast Dash: 28 Mark DePorter (Fort Atkinson)
 Heats: Qual1) 21 Josh Courtney

 Hobby Stock Division                  Feature Finish
   1) 96 Tim Lange (Dousman)               2) 7 Scott Carson
   3) 99 Johnny Robinson (Beloit)           4) 52 Pete Elgas (Janesville)
   5) 31 Ken Au (Jefferson)                    6) 80 Mike Meyers (Orfordville)
 Fast Qualifier:   19 Dennis Schmidt (Johnson Creek)      :  16.749 seconds
 Fast Dash: 99 Lincoln Keeser (Whitewater)
 LastChance: 88 William Stephenson, 29 Mike Manley, 22 Chester Williams,
            41 Nick Newton
 Heats: Qual1) 11 Steve Sauer, qual2) 7 Scott Carson

 Bandit Division                       Feature Finish
   1) 24 Tyler White (Ft. Atkinson)               2) 98 John Remsik
   3) 21 Rodney Mundt (Johnson Creek)     4) 22 Chris Hart (Edgerton)
   5) 27 Tom Schuette (Fort Atkinson)         6) 8 Shaun Scheel (Johnson Creek)
 Fast Qualifier:   98 John Remsik                         :   14.958 seconds
 Fast Dash: 42 Bobby Selsing Jr (Fort Atkinson)
 LastChance: 45 Nick Balis, 25 Darren Brown, 08 Renee Collins, 5 Peter Shelley
 Heats: Qual1) 20 Kody Hubred, qual2) 24 Tyler White