Jefferson Speedway Race Report:

logosm.gif (7515 bytes)

Jarlsberg Notches Late Model Victory at Jefferson SpeedwayB
by Larry & Jeanne Starr

July 22, 2006;  Jefferson WI - Kyle Jarlsberg of Cambridge claimed top honors in the “Citizens Bank” 50 lap Late Model feature. Starting from the pole position, Jarlsberg took the early lead and never looked back, showing the way to the checkers. The race saw a single yellow flag, on lap 9, for a spin in turn 4.

Photo Highlights

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Kyle Jarlsberg (#87) visits Victory Lane following his win, in the "Citizens Bank 30" Late Model feature.  42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Kyle Jarlsberg (#87), battling Andy Wendt (#18) in the "Citizens Bank 50" Late Model feature. Jarlsberg went on to win the race, with Wendt finishing 2nd.

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Mark DePorter (#28), takes his bows in Victory Lane, after a hard fought win, in the Sportsman feature. 42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Mark DePorter (#28) holding off the charge of Scott "Chico" Riedner (#26), in the Sportsman feature. DePorter is on his way to the win, with Riedner finishing second.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Mark Joyner (#4) takes his turn in Victory Lane, following his first feature win, in the International class 20 lapper. 42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Pete Elgas (#52) claimed top honors in the 25 lap Hobby Stock feature. 42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Bobby Selsing Jr. (#42), bested the Bandit field, in the 20 lap feature, after breaking his own track record in qualifying.

Andy Wendt kept the pressure on Jarlsberg, for much of the race, but was never able to find the opening that he needed. At the finish it was Jarlsberg for the win followed by Wendt, Dylan Schuyler, John Ovadal Jr, and Paul Kisow.

In International action Mark Joyner of Elkhorn claimed his first feature win, in the 20 lap main. Starting inside row 4, Joyner started his drive to the checkers as Sean Magsamen claimed the early lead. Working his way through traffic, Joyner motored past Casey Strese, for 2nd, on lap 10, closing with Magsamen.

One lap later Joyner had the point, guiding the field to the checkers. The race slowed for a single caution, on lap 17, for a spin and crash, in turn 2. At the stripe it was Joyner for the win, followed by Mike Winters, Joe Cross, Strese and Scotty Hoeft.

In Sportsman action Mark DePorter of Fort Atkinson claimed top honors in the 30 lap feature. Starting 9th DePorter headed toward the point as Trent Erdman grabbed the early lead. DePorter battled his way through traffic, with Scott “Chico” Riedner close behind all the way. DePorter drove past Tom Rents, for 2nd, on lap 11, with Riedner pulling into 3rd. Caution came, on lap 14, for a spin in turn 1 slowing the field for a restart.

 The green flag stayed out for a single lap, before another spin slowed the field on lap 15. On the restart DePorter worked the low side, battling Erdman for the top spot. DePorter made his way past Erdman on lap 18, with Riedner claiming 2nd, on lap 19. Riedner kept the pressure turned up, but DePorter was up to the challenge. At they flew past the checkers, it was Deporter for the win, followed by Riedner, Erdman, Dave Oswald and Rents.

In Hobby Stock action Pete Elgas of Janesville notched the win, in the 25 lap feature. Starting from outside row 3, Elgas headed to the front as Scott Carson jumped to the early lead. Elgas made his way to 2nd by lap 6 closing with Carson. Moving to the inside on lap 9, Elgas battled side-by-side with Carson, for 3 laps, making the winning pass on lap 12. At the checkered flag it was Elgas for the win followed by Larry Moen, Bret Carson, Chet Paffel and Lincoln Keeser.

In Bandit action Bobby Selsing Jr. of Fort Atkinson motored from an 11th place start to finish first in the 20 lap feature. Ron Nelson grabbed the early lead, surrendering the point to Sean Watters on lap 5. Selsing claimed the 2nd spot on lap 6 closing with Watters. Moving to the outside on lap 10, Selsing claimed the point on lap 11, showing the way from there to the checkers. At the stripe it was Selsing for the win followed by Sean Watters, Jake Wasserburger, Kyle Watters and Rodney Mundt.

Next week it’s “Maui Wowi” Night at Jefferson Speedway, with the Maui Wowi 50 lap Late Model feature and a full racing program in all divisions. Anyone wearing a Colorful Hawaiian Shirt or MuuMuu pays only $5.00 for admission. There are prizes for the most outrageous Shirt and Muumuu. There will be Hawaiian Luau food available at 6:00PM, and a Hula Hoop Contest sometime during the night.

Coming up, on August 5, Jefferson Speedway presents the Demolition Derby. Rules are the same as the Jefferson County Fair. The event pays $500 to win.

Gates open at 3:00, Qualifying at 5:00 and racing at 7:00 sharp.
Wisconsin’s Action Track is half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin, on highway 18. Visit us on the World Wide Web at






Jefferson Speedway Race Summary - 07/22/2006 Citizens Bank 50

Late Model Division
Feature Finish
1) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg                             2) 18 Andy Wendt
3) 33 Dylan Schuyler (Jefferson)            4) 71 John Ovadal Jr (Watertown)
5) 97 Paul Kisow (Cambridge)               6) 68 Ken Olson (Fort Atkinson)
7) 53 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)               8) 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)
9) 94 Jason Erickson                          10) 66 Curt Thompson
11) 17 Noel Ramge (Helenville)            12) 16 Luke Westenberg (Watertown)
13) 18 Mike Ehde                               14) 22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson)
15) 11 Timothy Petrie (Fort Atkinson)   16) 12 Allen Petrie Jr (Sun Prairie)
17) 70 Rick Kehoe (Jefferson)              18) 41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton)
Fast Qualifier: 53 Doug Hahn (Whitewater) : 14.351 seconds
Fast Dash: 22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson)
LastChance: 70 Rick Kehoe, 57 Pete Seitz, 11 Timothy Petrie, 12 Allen Petrie Jr
Heats: Qual1) 57 Pete Seitz, Qual2) 18 Andy Wendt, Qual3) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg

International Division
Feature Finish
1) 4 Mark Joyner (Elkhorn)              2) 77 Mike Winters (Sun Prairie)
3) 67 Joe Cross (Sun Prairie)          4) 23 Casey Strese
5) 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown)       6) 97 Chris Chenoweth (Watertown)
Fast Qualifier: 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown) : 16.878 seconds
Fast Dash: 67 Joe Cross (Sun Prairie)
Heats: Qual1) 49 Tory Adams, qual2) 77 Mike Winters

Sportsman Division
Feature Finish
1) 28 Mark DePorter                 2) 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee)
3) 11 Trent Erdman                  4) 31 David Oswald (Cottage Grove)
5) 42 Tom Reents (Janesville)   6) 27 Jay Kalbus (Watertown)
Fast Qualifier: 27 Jay Kalbus (Watertown) : 15.069 seconds
Fast Dash: 31 David Oswald (Cottage Grove)
LastChance: 82 Mike Acheson, 19 John Handeland, 20 Kody Hubred, 4 Luke Padfield
Heats: Qual1) 39 Ken Scott, qual2) 31 David Oswald

Hobby Stock Division
Feature Finish
1) 52 Peter Elgas (Janesville)              2) 10 Larry Moen (Madison)
3) 62 Bret Carson (Johnson Creek)      4) 60 Chet Paffel (Newerk Township)
5) 99 Lincoln Keeser (Whitewater)       6) 31 Ken Au (Jefferson)
Fast Qualifier: 31 Ken Au (Jefferson) : 16.473 seconds
Fast Dash: 60 Chet Paffel (Newerk Township)
LastChance: 56 Randy Strasburg, 45 Nick Balis, 67 Russell Nicholson, 30 Josh Carson
Heats: Qual1) 45 Nick Balis, qual2) 52 Peter Elgas

Bandit Division
Feature Finish
1) 42 Bobby Selsing                             2) 77 Sean Watters (Sun Prairie)
3) 32 Jake Wasserburger (Poynette)      4) 7 Kyle Watters (Stoughton)
5) 21 Rodney Mundt                             6) Z28 Marc Balic
Fast Qualifier: 42 Bobby Selsing : 14.447 seconds
Fast Dash: 77 Sean Watters (Sun Prairie)
LastChance: Z28 Marc Balic, 29 Ryan Oldenhoff, 2 David Krull, 46 Tom Jasinski
Heats: Qual1) Z28 Marc Balic, qual2) 42 Bobby Selsing