Jefferson Speedway Race Report:

logosm.gif (7515 bytes)

Schuyler Scores in Jefferson Late Model Action
by Larry & Jeanne Starr

August 19, 2006;  Jefferson WI -- Dylan Schuyler of Dousman claimed his first Late Model feature of the 2006 season, in the “Fort Quick Cash 50," on Wisconsin’s Action Track. Starting inside row 4, Schuyler headed to the front as Tony Koepke claimed the early lead.

Photo Highlights

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Dylan Schuyler (#33) won his first Late Model feature, of the 2006 season in the "Fort Quick Cash 50".  42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Scott "Chico" Riedner (#26), cruised through the field to win another Sportsman division feature.

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Dennis Schmidt (#19) won top honors in the
Hobby Stock feature.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)

Chris Gottschalk (#61), won the main event for the International division, after finishing runner up last week. 42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Bobby Selsing (#42) bested the field, in the
Bandit feature.

Koepke led the way for 10 laps, as Schuyler made his way through traffic. Motoring to the inside, on lap 11, Schuyler motored past Roger Behlke and Koepke, claiming the lead on lap 11. As Schuyler led the way, the battles raged behind him, with Andy Wendt moving to the 2nd spot by lap 33. Wendt stayed close all the way to the finish, but never saw the opening he needed. The race slowed for 5 cautions: on lap 7 for a breakdown, on lap 12 for a spin in turn 1, on lap 15 for a spin in turn 4, on lap 33 for a spin on the front stretch and lap 39 for a spin in turn 2 that collected several cars. At the stripe it was Schuyler for the win followed by Wendt, Koepke, Jason Erickson and Luke Westenberg.

In Sportsman action Scott “Chico” Riedner of Waunakee extended his point lead, with his win in the 30 lap main event. Starting outside row 6 Riedner began his journey to the point, as Tom Reents drove to the early lead. Rents showed the way for 17 laps, as Riedner worked his way through traffic. Riedner claimed the 4th spot, on lap 11, working the inside of Mike Heelein for 3rd. Motoring past Heelein on lap 13 Riedner joined the battle for the top spot, between Reents and Luke Padfield. Moving under Padfield, on lap 16, Riedner closed with Reents. The pair crossed the line side by side on lap 17, with Riedner pulling ahead to lead lap 18. Caution came, on lap 23 when the battle for 4th ended in a spin. Riedner led the restart, pulling ahead on his way to the checkers. As they crossed the line it was Riedner by a huge margin over Reents. Rounding out the top 5 were Padfield, Mark Deporter and Eaan Carson.

In International action Chris Gottschalk of Jefferson notched his third feature win of the 2006 season. Starting outside row 4, Gottschalk headed toward the front as James Bell claimed the early lead. Bell Surrendered the point, to Shaun Magsamen, on lap 9 with Gottschalk running third. Gottschalk motored under Bell on lap 10 closing with Magsamen. Moving to the inside on lap 11, Gottschalk launched his bid for the lead. The pair raced side-by side for 3 laps, before Gottschalk pulled ahead on lap 14. At the stripe it was Gottschalk for the win followed by Magsamen, Brandon Riedner, Ashley Smith and Bell.

In Hobby Stock action Dennis Schmidt of Johnson Creek claimed top honors in the 20 lap main event. Starting outside the front row, Schmidt overtook the pole-sitter, Brad Luck on lap 2, and never looked back, guiding the field all the way to the checkers. The race slowed, for a single caution, on lap 3, for a multi-car spin going into turn 3. As Schmidt showed the way to the checkers, Pete Elgas made his way to the 2nd spot. At the stripe it was Schmidt for the win followed by Elgas, Luck, Chet Paffel and Kyle Stark.

In Bandit action Bobby Selsing Jr of Fort Atkinson made it 3 in a row, notching another feature win. Starting outside row 7, Selsing headed to the point, as Shaun Scheel claimed the early lead. Scheel led the way for 10 laps, as Selsing blazed a trail through traffic. Selsing closed with Scheel on lap 10, making the winning pass on lap 11. At the finish it was Selsing for the win, followed by Scheel, Marc Balis, Kyle Watters and Rodney Mundt.

Next week Jefferson Speedway hosts the “Winner’s Circle Challenge," presented by Pernat’s Premium Meats and Star Packaging. Feature winners, and Fast Qualifiers, since the last “Winners Circle Challenge” are eligible for these events. Also on tap are the “Great American Bartender’s Race” during Intermission, and the One-on-One Street Drags, at the end of the evening.

Gates open at 3:00, Qualifying at 5:00 and racing at 7:00 sharp. Wisconsin’s Action Track is half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin, on highway 18. Visit us on the World Wide Web at


 Jefferson Speedway Race Summary -  08/19/2006  Fort Quick Cash Night

 Late Model Division                  Feature Finish
   1) 33 Dylan Schuyler (Jefferson)                     2) 18 Andy Wendt
   3) 32 Tony Koepke (Fort Atkinson)                 4) 94 Jason Erickson
   5) 16 Luke Westenberg (Watertown)              6) 18 Mike Ehde (Prairie Du Chen)
   7) 11 Timothy Petrie (Fort Atkinson)               8) 53 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)
   9) 4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)                       10) 46 Nick Wendt
  11) 5 Cliff Rucks                                          12) 12 Allen Petrie Jr (Sun Prairie)
  13) 22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson)                   14) 70 Rick Kehoe (Jefferson)
  15) 8 Ron Stoehr (Waukesha)                       16) 66 Curt Thompson
  17) 50 Tim Noble                                         18) 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)
  19) 68 Ken Olson (Fort Atkinson)
 Fast Qualifier:   53 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)             :  14.303 seconds
 Fast Dash: 18 Andy Wendt
 Heats: Qual1) 18 Mike Ehde, Qual2) 33 Dylan Schuyler, Qual3) 46 Nick Wendt

 International Division  
             Feature Finish
   1) 61 Chris Gottschalk (Jefferson)            2) 5 Shaun Magsamen R (Watertown)
   3) 4D Brandon Riedner (Waunakee)         4) 05 Ashley Smith
   5) 27 James Bell (Brodhead)                   6) 90 Kyle Smith (Lake Mills)
 Fast Qualifier:   97 Chris Chenoweth (Watertown)        :  16.821 seconds
 Fast Dash: 4D Brandon Riedner (Waunakee)
 Heats: Qual1) 90 Kyle Smith, qual2) 4 Mark Joyner

 Sportsman Division   
                Feature Finish
   1) 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee)            2) 42 Tom Reents (Janesville)
   3) 4 Luke Padfield (Jefferwson)              4) 28 Mark DePorter
   5) 2 Eaan Carson (Fort Atkinson)          6) 19 Dan Schmidt (Watertown)
 Fast Qualifier:   27 Jay Kalbus (Watertown)             :  15.060 seconds
 Fast Dash: 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee)
 LastChance: 87 Ed Jackson, 19 John Handeland, 82 Mike Acheson, 8 Shaun Scheel
 Heats: Qual1) 82 Mike Acheson, qual2) 2 Eaan Carson, qual3) 6 Chris Ehrhart

 Hobby Stock Division 
                Feature Finish
   1) 19 Dennis Schmidt                         2) 52 Peter Elgas (Janesville)
   3) 61 Brad Luck (Prarie Du Sak)          4) 60 Chet Paffel (Newerk Township)
   5) 92 Kyle Stark (Waterloo)                 6) 33 Jim Robinson
 Fast Qualifier:   31 Ken Au (Jefferson)                 :  16.428 seconds
 Fast Dash: 52 Peter Elgas (Janesville)
 LastChance: 81 Jason Rooster, 67 Russell Nicholson, 30 Josh Carson,  80 Mike Meyers
 Heats: Qual1) 45 Nick Balis, qual2) 60 Chet Paffel, qual3) 56 Randy Strasburg

 Bandit Division                      Feature Finish
   1) 42 Bobby Selsing                        2) 8 Shawn Scheel
   3) 7 Kyle Watters (Stoughton)          4) Z28 Marc Balic
   5) 21 Rodney Mundt                        6) 25 Darren Brown (Jefferson)
 Fast Qualifier:   42 Bobby Selsing                      :  14.285 seconds
 Fast Dash: 7 Kyle Watters (Stoughton)
 LastChance: 42 Rodney Munns, 92 Andy Bauler, 31 Michael Heimann, 86 Jeff Ciano Heats:
Qual1) 22 Brady Lilly, qual2) 7 Kyle Watters, qual3) 4 Stephen Scheel