Jefferson Speedway Race Report:

logosm.gif (7515 bytes)

Ovadal Notches Another Late Model Win Carson Scores First Sportsman Feature Win at Jefferson Speedway Summer Rumble
By Larry Starr

June 10, 2006;  Jefferson WI -  John Ovadal Jr. of Watertown notched another win, in the “Papa Murphy’s Pizza” 50 Lap Late Model feature. Starting inside row 6, Ovadal headed toward the point, as Aaron Wilke claimed the early lead.

Photo Highlights

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Watertown's John Ovadal Jr. (71) nailed down his third late model feature win of the season Saturday at Jefferson Speedway as he drove to victory in the Papa Murphy¹s Pizza 50. 42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Eaan Carson of Ft. Atkinson won his first career 30-lap sportsman feature race Saturday at Jefferson Speedway. 42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Jim Robinson (33) was best in the hobby stock feature race Saturday at Jefferson Speedway.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Mark English (57) of Janesville mastered the international class main event Saturday at Jefferson Speedway.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Bobby Selsing Jr. of Ft Atkinson (42) posed after winning the 20-lap bandit class feature Saturday at Jefferson Speedway.

Wilke led the way for 45 laps as Ovadal worked his way through traffic. Ovadal claimed the 2nd spot on lap 34, closing the gap with Wilke. Wilke battled hard to keep the spot, holding off Ovadal for 11 laps, before surrendering the point, with 5 to go. At the stripe it was Ovadal for the win, followed by Wilke, Jerry Eckhardt, Doug Hahn and Jason Erickson.

In Sportsman action Eaan Carson, of Fort Atkinson, claimed his first feature win in this division. Starting on the outside front row, Carson led the, 30 lap, feature flag to flag. Over the final 13 laps, Carson has fast traffic on his back bumper, but managed to hold off all challengers, to hold his claim to the top spot. At the stripe it was Carson for the win followed by Don Trush, Jay Kalbus, Mark DePorter and Scott “Chico” Riedner.

In International action Mark English of Janesville won top honors in the 20 lap Main event. Starting inside row 6 English headed to the point, as Kyle Smith drove to the early lead. Smith lost the point, to Mike Bingham, on lap 10, with English close behind to claim the 2nd spot. Bingham held off English, for 2 laps. English moved under Bingham, on lap 11, making the winning pass on lap 12. A pair of cars tangled, spinning on the front stretch, on lap 15, bringing the only caution of the race. At the finish it was English for the win, followed by Chris Chenoweth, Scotty Hoeft, Bingham and Chris Gottschalk.

In Hobby Stock action Jim Robinson claimed top honors in the 20 lap main event. Starting 5th, Robinson headed toward the front, as Lincoln Keeser claimed the early lead. Keeser lost the lead, to Larry Moen on lap 10, with Robinson up to the 3rd spot. Robinson motored past Keeser on lap 11, closing with Moen. Caution came on lap 15, for a spin in the 4th turn, closing the field for a restart. Robinson dove to the inside, on lap 16, to make the winning pass. As Robinson led the field to the checkers, Brett Carson charged to the 2nd spot. As the took the checkers it was Robinson for the win, followed by Carson, Moen, Keeser and Ken Au.

In Bandit action Bobby Selsing Jr. of Fort Atkinson notched the win, in the 20 lap feature. Starting inside row 6, Selsing started his drive to the front, as Jake Wasserburger drove to the early lead. Wasserburger led the way, for 13 laps. A “competition” caution was thrown on lap 10, to reverse the field’s direction of travel. On lap 14, the battle for the lead, between Wasserburger and Rodney Mundt resulted in a spin, and a caution. Selsing inherited the lead, on the restart, opening a dominant lead on his way to the checkered flag. At the stripe it was Selsing, by a huge margin over Kyle Watters. Rounding out the top 5 were Steve Scheel, Zak Czeszynski, and Jeffery Lafave.

Tonight was round 1 of the “Summer Rumble," due the last night’s rain out at Columbus 151 Speedway. The finale is at Columbus on Friday June 16.
Nest week at Jefferson Speedway it’s Scout Night, featuring the “Rivers Edge Farm Market” 50, lap Late Model feature, and a full racing program in all Divisions. Rounding out the night’s action will be a “Bubble Race."

Gates open at 2:00, with qualifying at 4:30 and racing at 7:00 sharp.

Jefferson Speedway is half way between Cambridge and Jefferson on Highway 18.

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary - 06/10/2006 Summer Rumble


Late Model Division Feature Finish
1) 71 John Ovadal Jr (Watertown)         2) 8 Aaren Wilke (Waterloo)
3) 61 Jerry Eckhart (Johnson Creek)     4) 53 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)
5) 94 Jason Erickson                          6) 18 Andy Wendt
7) 33 Dylan Schuyler (Jefferson)          8) 11 Timothy Petrie (Fort Atkinson)
9) 97 Paul Kisow (Cambridge)            10) 16 Luke Westenberg (Watertown)
11) 16 Andy Tomlinson (Poynette)      12) 27 Tyler James (Oconomowoc)
13) 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)          14) 32 Tony Koepke (Fort Atkinson)
15) 81 Don Gaserude                         16) 71 Tim Noble (Janesville)
17) 17 Noel Ramge (Helenville)           18) 95 Jason Thoma (Jefferson)
19) 79 Justin Schultz (Rio)                 20) 46 Nick Wendt
Fast Qualifier: 94 Jason Erickson : 14.256 seconds
Fast Dash: 71 John Ovadal Jr (Watertown)
Consi: 0 Scott Hayton, 23 Chris Koepke
LastChance: 27 Tyler James, 46 Nick Wendt, 79 Justin Schultz, 71 Tim Noble
Heats: Qual1) 23 Chris Koepke,  Qual2) 71 Tim Noble, Qual3) 32 Tony Koepke,

International Division Feature Finish
1) 57 Mark English (Janesville)         2) 97 Chris Chenoweth (Watertown)
3) 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown)        4) 0 Mike Bingham (Milton)
5) 61 Chris Gottschalk (Jefferson)     6) 90 Kyle Smith (Lake Mills)
Fast Qualifier: 4 Mark Joyner (Elkhorn) : 16.659 seconds
Fast Dash: 97 Chris Chenoweth (Watertown)
Heats: Qual1) 90 Kyle Smith, qual2) 97 Chris Chenoweth

Sportsman Division Feature Finish
1) 2 Eaan Carson (Fort Atkinson)     2) 4 Donald Trush (Madison)
3) 27 Jay Kalbus (Watertown)          4) 28 Mark DePorter
5) 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee)       6) 38 Brent Gergen (Jefferson)
Fast Qualifier: 27 Jay Kalbus (Watertown) : 15.118 seconds
Fast Dash: 8 Michael Heelein (Fort Atkinson)
Consi: 82 Mike Acheson, 19 John Handeland
LastChance: 55 Terry Wangsness, 86 Tylor Schultz, 8 Shaun Scheel, 67 Tony Showers
Heats: Qual1) 8 Shaun Scheel, qual2) 39 Ken Scott,  qual3) 19 Dan Schmidt,

Hobby Stock Division Feature Finish
1) 33 Jim Robinson                       2) 62 Bret Carson (Johnson Creek)
3) 10 Larry Moen (Madison)           4) 99 Lincoln Keeser (Whitewater)
5) 31 Ken Au (Jefferson)                6) 27 Jim Tate Jr (Watertown)
Fast Qualifier: 62 Bret Carson (Johnson Creek) : 16.505 seconds
Fast Dash: 99 Johnny Robinson II (Beloit)
Consi: 41 Nick Newton, 5 Jon Bue Ira
LastChance: 7 Scott Carson, 30 Josh Carson, 89 Brian Pillar, 50 Jim Schmidt
Heats: Qual1) 5 Jon Bue Ira, qual2) 7 Scott Carson, qual3) 67 Russell Nicholson, qual4) 10 Larry Moen,

Bandit Division Feature Finish
1) 42 Bobby Selsing                        2) 7 Kyle Watters (Stoughton)
3) 4 Stephen Scheel (Lake Mills)      4) 6 Zak Czeszynski (Oconomowoc)
5) 81 Jeffery Lefave Jr (Fort Atkins    6) 5 Casey Johnson (Stoughton)
Fast Qualifier: 7 Kyle Watters (Stoughton) : 14.598 seconds
Fast Dash: 21 Rodney Mundt
Consi: 31 Michael Heimann, 29 Derek Childs
Consi: 77 Sean Watters, 9 Kevin Weaver
LastChance: 25 Darren Brown, 2 Ryan Hart, 22 Chris Hart, 73 Greg Ovadal
Heats:heat1) 31 Michael Heimann, heat2) 77 Sean Watters, heat3) 25 Darren Brown, heat4) 32 Jake Wasserburger heat5) 27 James Bell,