Jefferson Speedway Race Report:

logosm.gif (7515 bytes)

Hahn Makes it Two in a Row at Jefferson Speedway
By Larry & Jeanne Starr

July 14, 2007;  Jefferson WI -- Doug Hahn of Whitewater claimed top honors in the "Citizens Bank 50" Late Model feature. Starting outside row 7, Hahn started his journey to the checkers as Trent Erdman drove to the early lead. Erdman led the way for 33 laps, as Hahn worked his way toward the front. Caution came on lap 12 for a wreck in turn 3, that collected several cars.

Photo Highlights

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Doug Hahn (#99) works his way under Roger Behlke (#44), in the Late Model feature.  Hahn won the event, while Behlke will finish 3rd.

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Scott "Chico" Riedner (#26) closing with Jay Kalbus (#27), on the inside of Dan Schmidt (#19) in the Sportsman feature.  Riedner is on his way to another Feature win, Kalbus finished 2nd and Schmidt will finish 4th.42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Joe Cross (#67) pulls ahead of Kyle Smith (#90) in the Interntional feature.  Cross is on this way to the win, while Smith will finish 6th. 42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Steven Sauer (#11) takes his turn in Victory
lane, following  his win, in the Hobby Stock feature.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Gary Stark (#35) came through the Last Chance to win  the Bandit feature.

Erdman led the restart with Hahn up to the 7th spot. Noel Ramge claimed the 2nd spot on lap 23, closing with Erdman, while Hahn worked his way up from 6th. Moving to the inside Ramge battled Erdman for the top spot, taking the lead on lap 34. Caution came again, on lap 37, for a spin in turn 2. Ramge led the restart, with Hahn up to the 3rd spot. Hahn moved under Erdman, claiming the 2nd spot by lap 40 and moving under Ramge. Hahn made the winning pass on lap 41 showing the field to the checkers. At the stripe it was Hahn for the win followed by John Ovadal, Roger Behlke, Erdman and Greg Bowers.

In Sportsman action Scott "Chico" Riedner of Waunakee notched another feature win, in the 30 lap main event. Starting inside row 7, Riedner headed toward the front as Dan Schmidt grabbed the early lead. Schmidt was relieved at the point, on lap 17, by Jay Kalbus, with Riedner close behind making his way tot 2nd. Moving to the inside of Kalbus, on lap 19, Riedner launched his bid for the lead. The pair battled side by side, for 5 laps before Riedner managed the winning pass. As they flew past the checkers it was Riedner for the win followed by Kalbus, Dave Oswald, Schmidt and Dustin Ward.
In International action Joe Cross of Sun Prairie notched the win, in the 20 lap feature. Starting outside row 4, Cross headed toward the front as James Bell took the early lead. Cross claimed the 2nd spot, by lap 5, closing with Bell. Moving under Bell, on lap 7, Cross made the winning pass on lap 8, guiding the way to the checkers. At the finish it was Cross for the win, followed by Ken Au, Chris Gottschalk, Ashley Smith and Bell.

In Hobby Stock action Steven Sauer of Waterloo claimed to honors in the 25 lap feature. Starting outside the front row, it took Sauer 1 lap to claim the point from Eaan Carson. From there it was Sauer all the way to the checkers as the battles raged behind him. At the stripe it was Sauer for the win, followed by Alan Dorn, Mike Meyers, Larry Moen and Chet Paffel.

In Bandit action Gary Stark of Waunakee notched the win in the 20 lap main event. Starting 15th in the field Stark headed to the front, as Matt McKinney claimed the early lead. McKinney led the way for 9 laps, as Stark wound his way through traffic. Closing with McKinney on lap 8, Stark claimed the point on lap 10, guiding the way to the checkers. At the stripe it was Stark for the win followed by Kyle Watters, Stephen Scheel, McKinney and Tom Pfeifer.

The action continues next week as Jefferson Speedway hosts the "Miller Lite 50", with a 50 lap Late Model feature and a full racing program in all divisions.

Gates open at 3:00PM, Qualifying at 5:00PM and the first race starts at 7:00PM.

The Tournament of Destruction is on tap next Sunday, July 22. Gates open at 4:00PM First event is at 7:00PM.

Jefferson Speedway is half way between Jefferson and Cambridge Wisconsin on highway 18. Visit us on the World Wide Web at

Click Here for Complete RACESTAT results 

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary - 07/14/2007 Citizens Bank 50


Late Model Division
Feature Finish
1) 99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)                2) 71 John Ovadal (Watertown)
3) 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)                4) 11 Trent Erdman (Fort Atkinson)
5) 12 Greg Bowers (Waterloo)                 6) 19 Chad Reimer (Watertown)
7) 11 Tim Petrie (Fort Atkinson)              8) 82 Chad Stevens
9) 29 Scott Lindsay (Dousman)             10) 5 Casey Johnson (Stoughton)
11) 52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio)                   12) 22 Jasper Gronert (Ft. Atkinson)
13) 79 Justin Schultz (Rio)                     14) 104 Noel Ramge
15) 71 Jason Deppe (Waterloo)              16) 12 Allen Petrie Jr. (Sun Prairie)
17) 66 Curt Thompson                           18) 33 Dylan Schuyler (Jefferson)
Fast Qualifier: 52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio) : 14.363 seconds
Fast Dash: 99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)
LastChance: 5 Casey Johnson, 12 Greg Bowers, 82 Chad Stevens, 12 Allen Petrie Jr.
Heats: Qual1) 5 Casey Johnson, Qual2) 11 Tim Petrie, Qual3) 71 John Ovadal

International Division
Feature Finish
1) 67 Joe Cross (Sun Prairie)               2) 31 Ken Au (Jefferson)
3) 61 Chris Gottschalk (Jeffferson)       4) 05 Ashley Smith (Lake Mills)
5) 27 James Bell (Brodhead)               6) 21 Rodney Mundt (Lake Mills)
Fast Qualifier: 57 Mark English (Janesville) : 16.833 seconds
Fast Dash: 05 Ashley Smith (Lake Mills)
LastChance: 57 Pete Seitz, 99 Keryn Hopwood, 2 Jeofry Jenson, 31 Michael Heimann
Heats: Qual1) 57 Pete Seitz, qual2) 61 Chris Gottschalk

Sportsman Division
Feature Finish
1) 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee)           2) 27 Jay Kalbus (Watertown)
3) 31 David Oswald (Cottage Grove)      4) 19 Dan Schmidt (Watertown)
5) 7 Dustin Ward (Beaver Dam)            6) 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan)
Fast Qualifier: 31 David Oswald (Cottage Grove) : 15.097 seconds
Fast Dash: 27 Jay Kalbus (Watertown)
Consi: 41 Dick Reents, 45 Nick Balis
LastChance: 52 Brandon Sletten, 36 Van RC Ransull, 30 Scott Scholl, 1 Jody Krueger
Heats: Qual1) 29 Ryan Oldenhoff, qual2) 4 Mark Joyner, qual3) 4 Luke Padfield,
qual4) 31 David Oswald

Hobby Stock Division
Feature Finish
1) 11 Steven Sauer (Waterloo)               2) 96 Alan Dorn (Waterlou)
3) 80 Mike Meyers (Town of Beloit)        4) 10 larry Moen (Madison)
5) 60 Chet Paffel (Newerk Township)      6) 52 Peter Elgas (Janesille)
Fast Qualifier: 92 Kyle Stark (Waterloo) : 16.542 seconds
Fast Dash: 80 Mike Meyers (Town of Beloit)
LastChance: 55 PJ Johnson, 29 Mike Manley, J10 James Williams, 88 Roger Stephenson
Heats: Qual1) 81 Jason Brewster, qual2) 88 Roger Stephenson,  qual3) 33 Jim Robinson

Bandit Division
Feature Finish
1) 35 Gary Stark (Waunakee)            2) 7 Kyle Watters (Stoughton)
3) 4 Stephen Scheel (Lake Mills)        4) 22 Matt McKinney
5) 57 Tom Pfeifer (Fort Atkinson)        6) 82 Mark Dewey (South Beloit, IL)
Fast Qualifier: 4 Stephen Scheel (Lake Mills) : 14.418 seconds
Fast Dash: 81 Jeffery Lefave (Fort Atkinson)
Consi: 77 Shaun Gonsolus, 17 John Beale J.
LastChance: 35 Gary Stark, 13 Brandon Condroski, 9 Sean Matteson, 8 Jody Schmidt E
Heats: Qual1) 4 Jody Krueger, qual2) 8 Jody Schmidt E, qual3) 57 Tom Pfeifer