Jefferson Speedway Race Report:

logosm.gif (7515 bytes)

Erdman Gets First Career Win in Pepsi 50
By Andrew Schaller

May 31, 2008;  Jefferson WI -- Fort Atkinson's Trent Erdman claimed his first career Late Model feature win by besting a strong field of cars in the Pepsi 50 sponsored by 104.5 WSLD. Starting from the inside of row one, Erdman grabbed the early lead exiting turn two of the opening lap. 

Photo Highlights

42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Trent Erdman (11) on the way to his first career Late Model feature win.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Bret Schmidt (20) holds a slight advantage over Terry Wangsness (55) in Sportsman feature action.42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
Chris Gottschalk (61) ahead of the pack in International feature action.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)

Alan Dorn posing in victory lane after his win in the Hobby Stock feature.
42801a.jpg (14062 bytes)
John Beale (04) doing battle with Chad Olds (89) late in the Bandit feature event.

Jerry Eckhart and Andy Brucker battled for second, with Brucker taking the spot on lap six followed by Luke Padfield. The leaders ran single file with Erdman opening up a healthy advantage. Meanwhile, point leader John Ovadal Jr and Jason Erickson were moving through the pack and into the top five by lap 14. Ovadal and Dylan Schuyler waged a war for fourth with Erickson watching the battle closely from behind. As they caught Padfield, Ovadal scooted by Schuyler and Padfield and into second with Erickson in tow.

Erickson went right to work on Ovadal for the spot until the first of two cautions waved on lap 37, erasing any advantage Erdman held. On the restart, Ovadal began peeking to the inside of Erdman, pulling even and eventually taking the lead away from him on lap 42. Erickson followed into second and once again launched his bid to get by Ovadal. Erickson got inside the leader several times through the corners, but couldn't make it work. Finally, with three laps remaining, Erickson got a good run on the low side, but the duo made contact in turn two sending both drivers around and bringing out the second caution period. This handed the top spot back to Erdman and after the restart, he cruised to the stripe for the win followed by Schuyler, Casey Johnson, Roger Behlke and Doug Hahn.

Bret Schmidt of Watertown charged through the field on his way to the victory in the 30 lap Sportsman feature event. Schmidt began making his way to the front from deep in the starting field while Shaun Scheel took he initial lead. The only caution of the race flew on lap five, lining up the field single file with Scheel out front followed by Terry Wangsness in second and Brady Lilly third. Schmidt entered the top five on lap 14 while Wangsness looked for a way around the leader. Wangsness dove to the inside many times looking for the top spot and finally pulling even with Scheel on lap 23. By this time, Schmidt was up to third and charging hard. A lap later, Schmidt made it a three way battle for the lead as they exited turn four. Schmidt and Wangsness emerged side by side, banging fenders through turns one and two. As they rolled through turn two on the final lap, Wangsness got loose allowing Schmidt to take sole possession of the lead on his way to the checkers and the win. Wangsness was second with Lilly, Scheel and Dan Schmidt rounding out the top five.

Jefferson's Chris Gottschalk survived an action packed 20 lap International feature to put his car in victory lane. Starting from the pole, Gottschalk grabbed the lead entering turn three of the first lap with Ashley Smith sliding into second. Smith went to work on the leader, diving to the inside several times over the next twelve laps. By lap 13, the top five were bunched together with Gottschalk still holding the advantage. Kyle Smith looked to the outside of his sister, Ashley, for second but the two got loose allowing Gary Stark by for the position. Stark began hunting the leader, getting alongside of him with only two laps to go. As they took the while flag, the leaders encountered some lapped traffic forcing Stark to get loose handing the lead back to Gottschalk and letting Kyle Smith back into second. Gottschalk and Kyle Smith finished first and second followed by Stark, Ashley Smith and Mark English.

Alan Dorn of Waterloo lead wire to wire en route to his win in the 25 lap Hobby Stock feature. Dorn took possession of the lead down the backstretch on lap one and never looked back. Dorn immediately began to open up a big lead with Bobby Selsing in second. The two enjoyed the advantage until caution on lap 15 erased their lead. But as the green returned, Dorn was never seriously challenged for the top position, pulling away for the win. Rounding out the top five were Steve Sauer, Selsing, Chester Williams and Kyle Stark.

In Bandit action, John Beale claimed his first career win in the 20 lap feature event. Mark Dewey looked to dominate the event early on as he drove out to a big lead. But his lead was erased by caution on lap four, tightening the field back up for the restart. Jody
Schmidt began shadowing the leader as the green returned, pulling alongside on lap eight and taking the lead a lap later. But Beale slipped by Dewey as well, and when Schmidt drifted high exiting turn four, Beale stuck his nose underneath the leader getting by for the top spot. Chad Olds followed Beale through to second and started looking for his own way to the front of the pack. But Beale proved strong enough to hold him off and see the checkers first for the win. Olds followed in second with Schmidt, Dewey and Mike Lambert finishing in the top five.

Next Saturday is a full program in all five divisions highlighted by the Papa Murphy's Take and Bake Pizza 50 lap Late Model feature. Time trials begin at 5:00 with racing at 7 pm. Jefferson Speedway is located half way between Jefferson and Cambridge on Hwy 18. For more information, please visit

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary

Late Model--

Pepsi 50 Feature Results- 1) 11 Trent Erdman 2) 33 Dylan Schuyler 3) 5 Casey Johnson 4) 44 Roger Behlke 5) 99 Doug Hahn 6) 29 Scott Lindsay 7) 52 Steve Dobbratz 8) 61 Jerry Eckhart 9) 16 Luke Westenberg 10) 4 Chris Quam 11) 22 Jasper Gronert 12) 71 John Ovadal 13) 94 Jason Erickson 14) 13 Andy Brocker 15) 151 Mike Taylor 16) 4 Luke Padfield 17) 3 Chuck Duncan 18) 7 Ed Kubicz

Fast Qualifier- 94 Jason Erickson 14.303 seconds

Last Chance- 3 Chuck Duncan, 29 Scott Lindsay, 151 Mike Taylor, 7 Ed Kubicz

Heat Winners- 1) 27 Russ Blakely 2) 29 Scott Lindsay 3) 71 John Ovadal


Feature Results- 1) 20 Bret Schmidt 2) 55 Terry Wangsness 3) 22 Brady Lilly 4) 8 Shaun Scheel 5) 19 Dan Schmidt 6) 31 Dave Oswald 7) 39 Ken Scott 8) 52 Tory Bagley

Fast Qualifier- 31 Dave Oswald 15.165 seconds

Last Chance- 45 Nick Balis, 2 Craig Olver, 36 RC VanRamsell, 19 John Handeland

Heat Winners- 1) 45 Nick Balis 2) 36 RC VanRamsell 3) 22 Brady Lilly


Feature Results- 1) 61 Chris Gottschalk 2) 90 Kyle Smith 3) 35 Gary Stark 4) 05 Ashley Smith 5) 57 Mark English 6) 31 Kenny Au 7) 00 Scott Hoeft 8) 67 Joe Cross

Fast Qualifier- 57 Mark English 16.536 seconds

Heat Winners- 1) 21 Rodney Mundt 2) 05 Ashley Smith

Hobby Stock--

Feature Results- 1) 96 Alan Dorn 2) 11 Steve Sauer 3) 42 Bobby Selsing Jr 4) 22 Chester Williams 5) 92 Kyle Stark 6) 19 Zac Schmidt 7) 33 Jimmy Robinson 8) 27 Jim Tate

Fast Qualifier- 88 Roger Stephenson 16.670 seconds

Last Chance- 89 Lincoln Keeser, 41 Nick Newton, 52 Jamie Peck, 49 Buck Stultz

Heat Winners- 1) 89 Lincoln Keeser 2) 85 Joe Edwards 3) 92 Kyle Stark


Feature Results- 1) 04 John Beale 2) 89 Chad Olds 3) 8 Jody Schmidt 4) 82 Mark Dewey 5) 26 Mike Lambert 6) 57 Tommy Pfeifer 7) 4 Tom Bleecker 8) 86 Tony Ciano

Fast Qualifier- 57 Tommy Pfeifer 14.449 seconds

Last Chance- 4 Justin Sellnow, 18 Scott Pauls, 90 Titus Helgestad, 29 Waylin Willman

Heat Winners- 1) 90 Titus Helgestad 2) 66 Terry Ciano 3) Jody Schmidt