Jefferson Speedway Race Report:

Andy Wendt Captures Spring Sizzler Opener
By Andrew Schaller

JEFFERSON, WI (Saturday, May 2, 2009) - Watertown's Andy Wendt laid claim to the season opening Spring Sizzler 50 lap Late Model main event sponsored by Goodyear Racing Tires at Jefferson Speedway on Saturday night.  The former track champion started from the pole with Tim Sargent to his outside.  Sargent took the early lead on the opening lap with Wendt falling in behind and Casey Johnson in third.  The top three began to separate themselves from the pack until lap 14 when the first of three cautions waved for Steve Dobbratz as he made heavy contact with the turn three wall.  On the restart, Sargent became loose in turn two, allowing Wendt to slip underneath and claim the lead a lap later.  Casey Johnson followed him past Sargent into second with Kyle Jarlsberg in tow for third.  Caution number two appeared on lap 21 when Ty James spun on the front stretch, but avoided major contact.  As the green flew again, Jarlsberg charged by Johnson for second and began to apply heavy pressure to the leader, Wendt.  The duo made contact on lap 27 in turns three and four, forcing Jarlsberg to fall in line behind Wendt.  Jarlsberg repeatedly took a peek inside the leader, but the final caution slowed his efforts on lap 43.  As the green waved for the final seven lap shootout, Jarlsberg made another attempt at the lead, but Wendt managed to hold him off and claim the first feature win of the season.  Jarlsberg was second followed by Bob Kahler, Jason Erickson and Johnson.                

Jason Dunn of Sun Prairie claimed his first career feature win at Jefferson Speedway after dominating the 30 lap Sportsman main event.  Starting from the pole, Dunn took sole possession of the top spot on lap two from fellow front row starter Mike Acheson.  Dunn immediately began to stretch his advantage with Acheson second and Brady Lilly in third.  Dunn's large lead was erased on lap 22 by a caution for the spinning car of James Helmer.  After the restart, Dunn opened up another healthy lead while defending champion Tom Reents moved to third.  With four laps to go, Reents got by Acheson for the second spot and looked to catch the leader.  But Dunn maintained his advantage and held on for the win.  Reents, Acheson, Tory Bagley and Lilly rounded out the top five.                

Janesville's Mark English opened his International title defense in style by completely the sweep of the night's events.  English captured fast time in qualifying, won his heat and showed the way to the checkers in the 20 lap feature event.  James Bell and Chad Olds paced the field to the green with Bell taking the initial lead.  Olds settled into second while English began moving to the front from the outside of row seven.  English had just moved into the top five on lap 11 when the sole caution period of the race occurred a lap later.  On the restart, English made his move.  After claiming third on lap 13, English split the two leaders and moved to the point with only four laps remaining.  Kyle Smith his lead as he moved to the second spot.  English saw the checkers first followed by Smith, Bell, Olds and Rob Lange.                
In Hobby Stock action, Dustin Ward of Waterloo started his season off right by winning the 25 lap feature event.  Alan Dorn and Terry Wangsness lead the field to green with Wangsness taking the early lead.  Defending champion Jimmy Robinson moved to the inside of the leader and took over the top spot as the first of three cautions waved on lap three.  As the green flew once again, Ward moved past Wangsness into second and set his sights on the leader.  Robinson had begun to pull away as Ward took over second, but by lap 11, Ward was on his rear bumper and looking to lead.  Ward dove under Robinson and stole the lead away just as the second caution flew.  After another quick caution, Ward drove away from the field to claim the win.  Rounding out the top five were Kyle Stark, Steven Sauer, Johnny Robinson, and Jimmy Robinson.                

Rounding out the evening's festivities was the 20 lap Bandit feature.  Heather Stark of Waterloo led every lap of the contest en route to taking the checkers for the win.  Starting from the pole, Stark took the lead on lap one and never looked back.  Meanwhile, the fight for second was hot and heavy behind her.  Several drivers swapped spots and paint looking to get behind the leader.  By midway through the race, Stark owned a healthy advantage.  Stark rode her lead to the stripe for the win with Kyle Watters, Dave Schmidt, Brian Beale and Ed Klug completing the top five.                

Next Saturday, May 9, is Teez T's Designs Night at Jefferson Speedway highlighted by a 50 lap Late Model feature as well as the Best Appearing Car contest in each division.  Gates open at 3pm with time trials at 5pm and racing at 7pm sharp.  Jefferson Speedway is located halfway between Jefferson and Cambridge on Hwy 18.  Please visit for more information.  

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary-
Late Model-
Spring Sizzler 50 lap feature results- 1) 57 Andy Wendt, Watertown  2) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg, Cambridge  3) I Bob Kahler, Belvidere, IL  4) 94 Jason Erickson, Fort Atkinson  5) 5 Casey Johnson, Stoughton  6) 61 Jerry Eckhart, Johnson Creek  7) 16 Luke Westenberg, Jefferson  8) 4 Chris Quam, Stoughton  9) 33 Dylan Schuyler, Jefferson  10) 11 Tim Sargent, S.Beloit, IL  11) 44 Roger Behlke, Jefferson  12) 29 Scott Lindsay, Dousman  13) 27 Ty James, Oconomowoc  14) 99 Doug Hahn, Whitewater  15) 12 Allen Petrie, Sun Prairie  16) 1 Jody Krueger, Edgerton  17) 4 Luke Padfield, Jefferson  18) 52 Steve Dobbratz, Rio
Fast Qualifier- 94 Jason Erickson—14.170 seconds
Last Chance- 12 Allen Petrie, 1 Jody Krueger, 29 Scott Lindsay, 4 Luke Padfield
Heat Winners- 1) 11 Trent Erdman  2) 57 Andy Wendt  3) 5 Casey Johnson  

Feature Results- 1) 71 Jason Dunn, Sun Prairie  2) 42 Tom Reents, Janesville  3) 82 Mike Acheson, Watertown  4) 52 Tory Bagley, McFarland  5) 22 Brady Lilly,Milton  6) 20 Kody Hubred, Utica
Fast Qualifier- 6 Chris Ehrhart—15.170 seconds
Heat Winners- 1) 71 Jason Dunn  2) 20 Kody Hubred  

Feature Results- 1) 57 Mark English , Janesville  2) 90 Kyle Smith, Lake Mills  3) 27 James Bell, Helenville  4) 89 Chad Olds, Whitewater  5) 135 Rob Lange, Helenville  6) 95 Matt McKinney, Jefferson
Fast Qualifier- 57 Mark English—16.499 seconds
Last Chance- 77 Sean Watters, 20 Ryan Nelson, 11 Jason Kubicz, 26 Mike Lambert
Heat Winners- 1) 20 Ryan Nelson  2) 89 Chad Olds  3) 57 Mark English  

Hobby Stock-
Feature Results- 1) 9 Dustin Ward, Waterloo  2) 92 Kyle Stark, Waterloo  3) 11 Steven Sauer, Waterloo  4) 99 Johnny Robinson, Beloit  5) 33 Jimmy Robinson, Orfordville  6) 96 Tim Lange, Dousman
Fast Qualifier- 27 Jim Tate—16.413 seconds
Last Chance- 80 Michael Meyers, 71 Jason Deppe, 49 Buck Stultz, 43 Scott Bush
Heat Winners- 1) 49 Buck Stultz  2) 9 Dustin Ward  3) 88 Roger Stephenson  

Feature Results- 1) 93 Heather Stark, Waterloo  2) 17 Kyle Watters, Stoughton  3) 10 Dave Schmidt, Cudahy  4) 5 John Beale  5) 241 Ed Klug  6) 75 Travis Schneeberg
Fast Qualifier- 17 Kyle Watters—14.322 seconds
Last Chance- 15 William Rece, 10 Josh Wellman, 76 Al Stillman, 10 Jennifer Cloute
Heat Winners- 1) 10 Josh Wellman  2) 75 Travis Schneeberg  3) 5 John Beale

All photos courtesy of Ben Hallock.

Heather Stark (93) shows the way in Bandit main event.

Dustin Ward (9) gets by Jimmy Robinson (33) for lead of Hobby Stock feature.

Andy Wendt (57) holds off Kyle Jarlsberg (87) to win Late Model feature.

Jason Dunn celebrates in victory lane after claiming Sportsman feature win.

Mark English (57) battles traffic on his to winning International main event.