skip to Main Content

Schuyler Seizes Spectrum Coating 50

By Andrew Schaller

JEFFERSON, WI (Saturday, August 01, 2009) Jefferson Dylan Schuyler motored to the front of the field and held off all challengers to capture the Spectrum Coating 50 lap Late Model feature presented by 101.5 WIBA FM. Schuyler took over the point early in the race and maintained his position to see the checkers first.

Roger Behlke and Allen Petrie paced the field of 18 Late Models to the drop of the green with Petrie leading lap one. Behlke fought back on lap two and took the top spot for himself down the backstretch with Schuyler maneuvering to second. On lap four, Schuyler dipped under Behlke and pulled even for the lead. The duo battled side by side until Schuyler gained the spot on lap eight exiting turn two. Casey Johnson followed through the opening into second bringing Dennis Schmidt along for third. Johnson began to apply heavy pressure to the new leader until the caution waved on lap 16, slowing the field. Johnson began to peek to the inside of Schuyler as the green returned, only to be slowed once again for caution on lap 20. After restarting, Johnson once again tried the low side of the leader. Schuyler maintained his advantage while Johnson fell back to battle Schmidt for second. Schmidt got around for the spot on lap 38 and took his turn pressuring for the lead. Caution waved a final time on lap 46, setting up a four lap shootout to the checkers. But Schuyler held off Schmidt to take the win. Rounding out the top five were Schmidt, Johnson, Luke Westenberg and Behlke.

Tory Bagley of McFarland grabbed the win in the 30 lap Sportsman main event. Kyle Watters battled door to door with fellow front row starter Greg Ovadal as the green waved over the field. The pair traded the lead until Watters took control on lap seven. Shaun Scheel tried to follow under Ovadal for second. The two fought for the spot until Scheel began to lose grip and slide back. Bagley took advantage to move into third and quickly challenge Ovadal for second. Bagley motored into the runner up spot and pull up to Watters. On lap 23, Watters got very loose and Bagley shot past into the lead as Watters dropped into the pack. Bagley immediately pulled out to a healthy lead. Bagley cruised to the stripe for the win followed by Scott Riedner, Jason Dunn, Scheel and Chris Ehrhart.

Mark English of Edgerton earned a hard fought victory in the 20 lap International feature event. Chris Gottschalk took the early lead from the outside of row one while English and Gary Stark were slicing their way through the field from row seven. The two competitors made their way to the top five by lap nine and kept moving forward into second and third on lap 13. Stark began to look to the low side of Gottschalk for the lead on lap 15 with English watching from third. English found a way to second before caution waved on lap 17. As racing resumed with three laps remaining, English dove to the bottom of turn one and took the lead from Gottschalk with Stark in tow for second. English held Stark at bay to see the checkers first for the win. Stark, Gottschalk, Joe Cross and Neil Higgins rounded out the top five.

Waterloo’s Steven Sauer made a daring three wide pass to take the lead and win in the 25 lap Hobby Stock feature. Terry Wangsness and Roger Stephenson led the pack to green as they pair battled side by side for the lead. Wangsness held the advantage each lap with Stephenson flanking him to the inside. Stephenson lost the handle on lap eight bringing out the caution and handing sole possession of the lead to Wangsness. As the green waved once again, Johnny Robinson began to apply pressure to the leader, pulling even with him on lap 11. The two fought door to door while Sauer watched from third. Finally, Sauer made his own move, diving to the inside of both drivers on lap 17. They raced three wide for the top spot with Sauer emerging the new leader on lap 18. Sauer pulled away from the field for the win followed by Wangsness, Robinson, Larry Moen and Kyle Riedner.

Keaton Hubred of Utica dominated the 20 lap Bandit feature to take the win. Starting from the outside of the front row, Hubred took control of the point on lap one with Dave Schmidt moving into second. The two leaders immediately began to pull away from the pack as Schmidt looked for a way around Hubred. Schmidt tried every way he could think of to get by, but Hubred was up to the challenge as he crossed the line first for the victory. Schmidt was second followed by Kyle Watters, Scott Pauls and Matt Goodwin.

Next Saturday, August 8, is a full program highlighted by the Papa Murphy’s Pizza 50 lap Late Model feature. There will also be a Roll Over Contest following the regular racing program. Time trials begin at 5pm with racing at 7pm sharp. Jefferson Speedway is located halfway between Jefferson and Cambridge on Hwy 18. Please visit for more information.

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary
Late Model-
Spectrum Coating 50 lap Feature Results- 1) 33 Dylan Schuyler, Jefferson 2) 51 Dennis Schmidt, Juneau 3) 5 Casey Johnson, Stoughton 4) 16 Luke Westenberg, Jefferson 5) 44 Roger Behlke, Jefferson 6) 94 Jason Erickson, Fort Atkinson 7) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg, Cambridge 8) I Bob Kahler, Belvidere (IL) 9) 4 Chris Quam, Stoughton 10) 12 Allen Petrie, Sun Prairie 11) 29 Scott Lindsay, Dousman 12) 61 Jerry Eckhardt, Johnson Creek 13) 32 Tony Koepke, Jefferson 14) 99 Doug Hahn, Whitewater 15) 27 Tom Schuette, Fort Atkinson 16) 27 Ty James, Oconomowoc 17) 52 Steve Dobbratz, Rio 18) 3 Chuck Duncan, Milwaukee
Fast Qualifier- 94 Jason Erickson—14.208 seconds
Last Chance- 32 Tony Koepke, 29 Scott Lindsay, 3 Chuck Duncan, 27 Tom Schuette
Heat Winners- 1) 21 Brandon Pendleton 2) 32 Tony Koepke 3) 29 Scott Lindsay

Feature Results- 1) 52 Tory Bagley, McFarland 2) 26 Scott Riedner, Waunakee 3) 71 Jason Dunn, Sun Prairie 4) 8 Shaun Scheel, Lake Mills 5) 6 Chris Ehrhart, Deerfield 6) 20 Kody Hubred, Utica
Fast Qualifier- 6 Chris Ehrhart—15.095 seconds
Heat Winners- 1) 19 Dan Schmidt 2) 71 Jason Dunn

Feature Results- 1) 57 Mark English, Edgerton 2) 35 Gary Stark, Madison 3) 61 Chris Gottschalk, Jefferson 4) 67 Joe Cross, Sun Prairie 5) 66 Neil Higgins, Watertown 6) 4 Steven Scheel, Lake Mills
Fast Qualifier- 35 Gary Stark—16.343 seconds
Last Chance- 11 Jason Kubicz, 77 Sean Watters, 29 Brad Knapp, 29 Waylin Willman
Heat Winners- 1) 11 Jason Kubicz 2) 57 Mark English 3) 35 Gary Stark

Hobby Stock-
Feature Results- 1) Steven Sauer, Waterloo 2) 55 Terry Wangsness, Jefferson 3) 99 Johnny Robinson, Beloit 4) 10 Larry Moen, Sun Prairie 5) 1 Kyle Riedner, Waunakee 6) 19 Zac Schmidt, Johnson Creek
Fast Qualifier- 27 Jim Tate—16.273 seconds
Last Chance- 86 Tony Ciano, 22 Chester Williams, 41 Nick Newton, 22 Kyle Chwala
Heat Winners- 1) 22 Kyle Chwala 2) 22 Chester Williams 3) 27 Jim Tate

Feature Results- 1) 2 Keaton Hubred, Utica 2) 10 Dave Schmidt, Cudahy 3) 17 Kyle Watters, Stoughton 4) 18 Scott Pauls, Deerfield 5) 45 Matt Goodwin, Beloit 6) 99 Phil Wuesthoff, Beaver Dam
Fast Qualifier- 93 Heather Stark—14.323 seconds
Last Chance- 10 Levi Cloute, 78 Kevin Pauls, 88 Andy Kreklow, 02 Michelle Heimann
Heat Winners- 1) 10 Levi Cloute 2) 18 Scott Pauls

Back To Top