skip to Main Content

Summer Rumble Championships Won at Jefferson Speedway

by Larry & Jeanne Starr

June 9, 2007; Jefferson WI — A large crowd, and 161 race cars were on hand for the “Summer Rumble Finale”, with competitors vying for the overall championship title in this 2-race series, started last night at Columbus 151 Speedway.

In Late Model action Kyle Jarlsberg of Cambridge claimed top honors in the “Suburban Wheels 50” main event. Starting outside row 2, Jarlsberg claimed the lead on the first lap, guiding the field to the checkers. Caution came early when 4 cars tangled with the wall in turns 3 and 4 on the second lap.

Jarlsberg led the restart, pulling away from the field. As the laps flew by, Jarlsberg opened a straight-away lead over the battle for 2nd, between Chris Quam and Tim Noble. That changed, on lap 41, when a pair of cars tangled on the back stretch, bringing out the caution, and closing the field for the restart. Jarlsberg handled the restart cruising to the checkers. At the stripe it was Jarlsberg for the win, followed by Quam, Noble, Roger Behlke and Doug Hahn.

Steve Dobbratz of Rio combined a 8th place finish at Columbus, with a 6th place finish at Jefferson to claim the Late Model Summer Rumble Championship for 2007.

In Sportsman action Scott “Chico” Riedner of Waunakee notched another feature win, in the 30 lap main. Starting outside row 6, Riedner headed to the front as Brett Schmidt claimed the early lead. Caution came on lap 10, for a spin in turn 2. Schmidt was at the point for the restart, with Riedner up to the 5th spot. Claiming the 4th spot, on lap 14, Riedner was locked in a 3 way battle for the 2nd spot, with Jim Syvrud and Mike Heelein.

Clearing Syvrud by lap 18, Riedner moved under Heelein by lap 19 closing with Schmidt. Moving under Schmidt on lap 20 Riedner made the winning pass on lap 21. At the stripe it was Riedner for the win, followed by Heelein, Schmidt, Syvrud and Tom Reents.

Brett Schmidt’s 2nd place finish, at Columbus, combined with his 3rd place at Jefferson earned him the Summer Rumble Overall title, for the Sportsman division.

In International action Mark English of Janesville won the 20 lap feature. Starting outside row 3, English headed to the front as Casey Strese claimed the early lead. Strese led the field for 19 laps, as English worked his way from behind. The pair raced side-by-side over the final 4 laps with English edging ahead as they came to the checkers. At the stripe it was English for the win followed by Strese, Mike Bingham, Brandon Riedner, and Scotty Hoeft.

Casey Strese of Watertown combined a 6th place finish, at Columbus, with his 2nd place finish at Jefferson to claim the Summer Rumble Overall title for the International class.

In Hobby Stock action Chet Paffel of Newerk Township claimed top honors in the 25 lap main event. Starting outside row 3 Paffel headed to the point, as Eaan Carson claimed the early lead. Paffel relieved Carson at the point on lap 6, leading until lap 11, when he was locked in a battle with Mike Meyers. Myers led lap 12, with Paffel coming back to lead laps 13 through 20. Myers edged ahead again on lap 21, with Paffel scoring in the lead on laps 22 through the finish. As the roared past the checkers it was Paffel for the win, by a margin of inches, over Myers. Rounding out the top 5 were Jim Tate Jr, Kyle Stark and Larry Moen.

Larry Moen of Madison scored a 2nd place finish at Columbus, and a 5th at Jefferson, earning him the Summer Rumble Overall Title in the Hobby Stock division.

In Bandit action Gary Stark of Waunakee notched the win in the 20 lap feature. Starting outside row 6 Stark headed toward the front as Chad Olds drove to the early lead. Olds led the way for 3 laps, before surrendering the point to Steven Scheel. Stark claimed the 2nd spot on lap 5 closing with Scheel. Stark made the winning pass on lap 10, guiding the way to the checkers. At the stripe it was Stark for the win followed by Scheel, Kyle Padfield, Robert Lange and Tom Pfeifer.

Stark scored a win, on both nights of the Summer Rumble notching the Overall title for the Bandits.
Next week at Wisconsin’s Action Track, it’s the “River’s Edge Farm Market 50”, and “WSLD Night at the Races”, featuring a 50 lap Late Model feature and a full racing program, in all divisions.

Gates open at 3:00PM, qualifying at 5:00PM and the first Green Flag drops at 7:00PM Sharp.

Jefferson Speedway is half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin on highway 18. Visit us on the World Wide Web, at

Click Here for Complete RACESTAT results

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary – 06/09/2007 Summer Rumble Finale


Late Model Division Feature Finish
1) 87 Kyle Jarlsberg (Cambridge) 2) 4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)
3) 50 Tim Noble 4) 44 Roger Behlke
5) 99 Doug Hahn (Whitewater) 6) 52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio)
7) 104 Noel Ramge 8) 19 Chad Reimer (Watertown)
9) 33 Dylan Schuyler (Jefferson) 10) 22 Jasper Gronert (Ft. Atkinson)
11) 61 Jerry Eckhart 12) 12 Greg Bowers (Waterloo)
13) 66 Curt Thompson 14) 71 Jason Dunn (Sun Prairie)
15) 7 Erin Friakus 17) 8 Aaron Wilke (Waterloo)
18) 79 Justin Schultz (Rio) 19) 71 John Ovadal (Watertown)
20) 14 Kyle Taylor (Stoughton) 21) 11 Tim Petrie (Fort Atkinson)
Fast Qualifier: 52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio) : 14.407 seconds
Fast Dash: 33 Dylan Schuyler (Jefferson)
Consi: 29 Scott Lindsay, 5 Casey Johnson
LastChance: 79 Justin Schultz, 12 Greg Bowers, 7 Erin Friakus, 14 Kyle Taylor
Heats: Qual1) 29 Scott Lindsay, Qual2) 81 Donnie Gaserude, Qual3) 61 Jerry Eckhart, Qual4) 71 Jason Deppe

International Division Feature Finish
1) 57 Mark English (Janesville) 2) 23 Casey Strese (Watertown)
3) 17 Chris Chenoweth 4) 4D Brandon Riedner (Waunakee)
5) 00 Scott Hoeft (Watertown) 6) 31 Ken Au (Jefferson)
Fast Qualifier: 1 Kyle Riedner (Waunakee) : 16.900 seconds
Fast Dash: 17 Chris Chenoweth
LastChance: 2 Jeofry Jenson, 57 Pete Seitz, 194 Craig Henning, 21 Rodney Mundt
Heats: Qual1) 21 Rodney Mundt, qual2) 05 Ashley Smith, qual3) 57 Mark English

Sportsman Division Feature Finish
1) 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee) 2) 8 Michael Heelein (Oregon)
3) 20 Brett Schmidt 4) 26 Jim Syverud
5) 42 Tom Reents (Janesville) 6) 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan)
Fast Qualifier: 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee) : 15.245 seconds
Fast Dash: 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee)
Consi: 22 Brady Lilly, 67 Tony Showers
Consi: 87 Ed Jackson, 8 Shaun Scheel
LastChance: 4 Luke Padfield, 76 B Erickson.J., 29 Ryan Oldenhoff, 12 Scott Lawver
Heats: Qual1) 1 Jody Krueger, qual2) 76 B Erickson.J., qual3) 38 Brent Gergen, qual4) 4 Luke Padfield

Hobby Stock Division Feature Finish
1) 60 Chet Paffel (Newerk Township) 2) 80 Mike Meyers (Town of Beloit)
3) 27 Jim Tate Jr. (Watertown) 4) 92 Kyle Stark (Waterloo)
5) 10 larry Moen (Madison) 6) 2 Eaan Carson (Ft. Atkinson)
Fast Qualifier: 11 Steven Sauer (Waterloo) : 16.670 seconds
Fast Dash: 92 Kyle Stark (Waterloo)
Consi: 55 PJ Johnson, 71 Jamie Dunn
LastChance: 88 Roger Stephenson, 39 Alex Papini, 89 Lincoln Keeser, 96 Alan Dorn
Heats: Qual1) 55 PJ Johnson, qual2) J10 James Williams, qual3) 52 Peter Elgas, qual4) 92 Kyle Stark

Bandit Division Feature Finish
1) 35 Gary Stark (Waunakee) 2) 4 Stephen Scheel (Lake Mills)
3) 27 Kyle Padfield (Stoughton) 4) 135 Robert Lange (Fort Atkinson)
5) 57 Tom Pfeifer (Fort Atkinson) 6) 81 Jeffery Lefave (Fort Atkinson)
Fast Qualifier: 35 Gary Stark (Waunakee) : 14.410 seconds
Fast Dash: 4 Stephen Scheel (Lake Mills)
LastChance: 8 Jody Schmidt E, 4 John Remsik, 57 Tom Pfeifer, JR1 Nick Klettke
Heats: Qual1) 8 Jody Schmidt E, qual2) 77 Sean Watters, qual3) 4 John Remsik

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top