skip to Main Content

Wendt, Allman, Schmidt, Carson & Sweeney Victorious at Jefferson Speedway!

By Larry & Jeanne Starr

May 1, 2004; Jefferson, Wis. – A large crowd of hardy race fans braved the cold to cheer 128 of their favorite cars, and drivers, on the, newly paved, quarter mile that is Wisconsin’s Action Track.

Andy Wendt of Watertown scored top honors in the Late Model, “Berres Brothers Coffee Roasters,” 50 lap main even. Starting from the outside of row 5, Wendt began his journey to the front, as Steve Dobbratz drove to the early lead. Dobbratz guided the way for 12 laps, as Wendt worked his way through traffic.

Claiming 3rd, on lap 9, Wendt motored past Jason Thoma on lap 11, for 2nd. Caution came, on lap 12, for a spin in turn 2 closing the field for a restart. On the restart Wendt moved under Dobbratz, claiming the top spot on lap 13. Jason Erickson moved on Dobbratz, claiming the 2nd spot by lap 17, and closed with Wendt. Battling all the way to the checkers Erickson kept the pressure on, but was never able to make the pass. At the stripe it was Wendt for the win, with Dan Chesmore edging Erickson, at the line, for 2nd. Erickson finished 3rd, followed by Ken Olson and Scott Nottestad.

Beau Sanden captured the “Best Appearing Car” honors in the Late Models.

In International action Steve Allman of Oconomowoc overtook the early leader Tim Petrie, on lap 2, guiding the way from there to the checkered flag. At the stripe it was Allman for the win, followed by Alan Petrie, Tim Seitz, Scotty Hoeft and Tim Petrie.

Tim Petrie took home “Best Appearing Car” honors, in the International division.

In Sportsman division action Bret Schmidt of Watertown claimed victory, in the 30 lap feature. Starting from the inside of row 5, Schmidt headed for the front as Casey Burns drove to the early lead. Burns guided the way for 16 laps, as Schmidt wound his way though the field, claiming the 3rd spot by lap 9. Schmidt motored past Mark Deporter for 2nd, on lap 11, setting his sights on Burns. Moving to the inside, on lap 16, Schmidt claimed the lead on lap 17, with Deporter close behind for 2nd. As they flew past the checkers it was Schmidt for the win, followed by Deporter, Burns, Dan Schmidt and Noel Ramge.

Brandon Riedner won fan approval in the “Best Appearing Car” competition for the Sportsman division.

In Hobby Stock action Bret Carson notched the win, in the 20 lap feature. Starting from the outside of row 4, Carson began his trek to the point as Larry Moen claimed the early lead. Moen led the pack, for 11 laps, before surrendering the top spot to Eaan Carson. As Eaan Carson motored to the point Moen found himself in a battle, for 2nd, with Bret Carson. The battle lasted 3 laps, with Bret Carson claiming the 2nd spot on lap 15. Moen dropped to 4th as Terry Wangsness moved in behind Carson. Bret Carson motored past Eaan Carson, for the lead, on lap 16, with Wangsness claiming 2nd on lap 17. A blown tire, and the melee that followed, brought the caution on lap 18, setting up a Green-White-Checkered finish. Bret Carson took the checkers ahead of Wangsness with Jim Tate Jr., Moen and Dennis Schmidt rounding out the top 5.

Larry Moen won the “Best Appearing Car” contest for the Hobby Stocks.

In Bandit Action, Bill Sweeney moved from 9th to 1st, claiming top honors in the 5 lap feature. At the start it was Mike Storkson at the point, guiding the way for 6 laps before handing the lead to Peter Shelley. Shelley guided the field to the white flag, losing the final lap battle to Sweeney. At the stripe it was Sweeney for the win, followed by Shelley, Rory Padfield, Troy Yohn and Dan Collins.

Dan Gosda captured the “Best Appearing Car” honors for the Bandit division.

Next week Jefferson Speedway presents the, rain delayed, “Spring Sizzler Shoot-out 65,” with a 65 lap Late Model feature, along with a full racing program in all divisions. Drivers will qualify, in all divisions, with those locked into the feature, from April 23rd action, holding “provisional” feature starts.

Gates open at 3:00PM, qualifying at 5:00PM and racing at 7:00 sharp. Jefferson Speedway is on highway 18, half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin.

Berres Brothers Coffee Roasters 50 – Autograph & Picture Night
Late Model Feature Finish:
Laps: 50
1. 18 Andy Wendt (Watertown) 10. 41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton)
2. 27 Dan Chesmore (Janesville) 11. 22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson)
3. 2 Jason Erickson (Cambridge) 12. 11 Russ Goodwin (Beloit)
4. 68 Ken Olson (Ft. Atkinson) 13. 19 Randy Breunig (Columbus)
5. 14 Scott Nottestad (Stoughton) 14. 19 Chad Reimer (Oconomowoc)
6. 52 Steve Dobbratz (Rio) 15. 4 Jason Thoma (Jefferson)
7. 11 Beau Sanden (Janesville) 16. 82 Chad Stevens (Orfordville)
8. 12 Greg Bowers (Waterloo) 17. 4 Chris Quam (Stoughton)
9. 94 John Ovadal Jr. (Watertown) 18. 87 Kyle Jarlsberg (Cambridge)
FAST QUALIFIER : 18 Andy Wendt (Watertown): 14.745 seconds
FAST DASH: 8 Lap : 19 Randy Breunig (Columbus)
CONSI: 10 Lap x2 : 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson), 33 Dylan Schuyler (Dousman)
LAST CHANCE: 20 Lap : 11 Russ Goodwin (Beloit), 41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton),
22 Jasper Gronert (Jefferson), 82 Chad Stevens (Orfordville)
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 33 Dylan Schuyler (Dousman) 2) 41 Mike Taylor (Stoughton)
3) 26 Scott “Chico” Riedner (Waunakee) 4) 66 Curt Thompson (Ft. Atkinson)

International Feature: Laps: 20
1. 79 Steve Allman (Oconomowoc) 4. 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown)
2. 12 Alan Petrie (Sun Prairie) 5. 11 Tim Petrie (Whitewater)
3. 57 Tim Seitz (Edgerton) 6. 41 Brian Paulson (Edgerton)
FAST QUALIFIER : 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown): 17.250 seconds
FAST DASH: 5 Lap : 70 B.J. Sparkman (Machesney Park, IL)
Heats: 8 lap: 1) 79 Steve Allman (Oconomowoc)

Sportsman Feature:
Laps: 30
1. 20 Bret Schmidt (Watertown) 4. 19 Dan Schmidt (Watertown)
2. 28 Mark Deporter (Ft. Atkinson) 5. 17 Noel Ramge (Hellenville)
3. 77 Casey Burns (Edgerton) 6. 31 Dave Oswald (Cottage Grove)
FAST QUALIFIER : 39 Ryan Goldade (Stoughton): 15.443 seconds (New Track Record)
FAST DASH: 6 Lap : 4 Luke Padfield (Jefferson)
LAST CHANCE: 15 Lap : 55 Carey Hensel (Stoughton), 57 Mark English (Edgerton), 38 Brent Gergen (Jefferson), 59 Judy Weir (Cottage Grove)
Heats: 10 lap: 1) 38 Brent Gergen (Jefferson) 2) 55 Carey Hensel (Stoughton) 3) 57 Mark English (Edgerton)

Hobby Stock Feature:
Laps: 20
1. 94 Bret Carson (Ft. Atkinson) 4. 10 Larry Moen (Madison)
2. 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan) 5. 19 Dennis Schmidt (Johnson Creek)
3. 27 Jim Tate Jr. (Watertown) 6. 31 Ken Au (Jefferson)
FAST QUALIFIER : 55 Terry Wangsness (Delavan): 16.723 seconds
FAST DASH: 6 Lap : 52 Pete Elgas (Janesville)
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap : 58 Dave Ryan (Madison), 37 Chris Jackson (Ft. Atkinson), 67 Russ Nicholson (Stoughton),
7 Scott Carson (Ft. Atkinson)
Heats: 8 lap: 1) 10 Vincent Darr (Edgerton) 2) 67 Russ Nicholson (Stoughton) 3) 19 Dennis Schmidt (Johnson Creek)

Bandit Feature:
Laps: 15
1. 42 Bill Sweeney (Janesville) 4. X Troy Yohn (Waterloo)
2. 5 Peter Shelley (Edgerton) 5. 72 Dan Collins (Jefferson)
3. 3 Rory Padfield (Stoughton) 6. 94 Mike Storkson (Madison)
FAST QUALIFIER : X Troy Yohn (Waterloo): 14.996 seconds
FAST DASH: 5 Lap : 3 Rory Padfield (Stoughton)
LAST CHANCE: 12 Lap : 48 Steve Priuett (Fall River), Z/28 Jody Krueger (Edgerton), 32 Bobby Selsing (Ft. Atkinson), 01 Huberr Hansen (Stoughton)
Heats: 8 lap: 1) 42 Bobby Selsing (Ft. Atkinson) 2) 25 Darren Brown 3) 42 Bill Sweeney (Janesville)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top