skip to Main Content

Westenberg Claims Victory at Jefferson Speedway

By Larry Starr

June 3, 2006; Jefferson WI – Luke Westenberg of Watertown claimed top honors in the “Goodyear Racing Tire” 50 lap Late Model feature. Starting outside row 1, Westenberg took the early lead, leading every lap of the race. As Westenberg led the way, John Ovadal Jr. worked his way through the field, trying to extend his record of 6, consecutive, feature wins, to 7.

Ovadal made his way to 2nd, on lap 29, looking far ahead to Westenberg. As the laps ticked off, Ovadal was closing the gap, but Westenberg held a commanding lead. That all changed, on lap 36, when a spin in the 2nd turn brought the final caution of the race, closing the field, with 14 laps to go. Everyone knew that Ovadal was on his way to another victory. Everyone, that is, but Westenberg. Ovadal worked the inside lap after lap, pulling alongside a couple of times, but was never able to find the opening he needed. Westenberg was first at the stripe followed by Ovadal, Jerry Eckhardt, Doug Hahn and Noel Ramge.

In Sportsman action Luke Padfield of Jefferson drove his way to Victory Lane, from a 4th place start. Brent Gergen claimed the early lead, holding the point for 5 laps before Padfield, motored past. As Padfield guided the field to the checkers the battles raged behind him, with Jim Syvrud challenging for the top spot over the last half of the race. The race slowed for 5 cautions, on laps 9, 11, 15, 16 and 28. At the stripe it was Padfield for the win, followed by Syvrud, Scott “Chico” Riedner, Mike Heelein and Chris Ehrhardt.

In International action Scotty Hoeft of Watertown won the 20 lap feature. Starting outside row 6, Hoeft headed to the point, as Ashley Smith grabbed the early lead. Smith was relieved at the point, on lap 4, by Bill Sweeney. Sweeney’s turn at the front was interrupted, on lap 7, by Mike Winters. Chris Gottschalk motored past Winters on lap 10, with Winters trying to reclaim the lead on lap 11, resulting in the first caution of the race, and placing Sweeney back at the point for the restart, with Hoeft running 2nd. Hoeft motored past Sweeney on lap 11, guiding the way from there to the checkers. At the stripe it was Hoeft for the win, followed by Joe Cross, Sweeney, Ashley Smith and Kyle Smith.

In Hobby Stock action Jim Tate Jr. of Watertown notched the win, in the 20 lap feature. Starting 3rd, Tate headed to the front as Jim Schmidt claimed the early lead. Schmidt lost the point to Tate on lap 5, with Kyle Stark and Chet Paffel close behind, for the 2nd and 3rd spots. Caution came on lap 6, for a car stopped on the track. Tate led the restart with Stark looking to the inside for several laps. Johnny Robinson motored past Stark on lap 19, challenging Tate for the top spot. Tate was first at the finish, followed by Robinson, Stark, Larry Moen and Pete Elgas.

In Bandit action Rodney Mundt held off Brandon Riedner to claim the win, in the 20 lap main event. Starting inside row 3, Mundt started the charge to the front, with Riedner close behind, as Cody Strese claimed the early lead. Mundt blazed past Strese, on lap 5, with Riedner right behind for 2nd. Riedner looked for a way to the front, but was never able to find it. At the finish it was Mundt for the win, followed by Riedner, Kyle Watters, Bobby Selsing and James Bell.

Riedner did, however, have to make a trip to Victory lane. It seems that he had skipped his graduation ceremony tonight, to go racing. His folks brought his diploma to the track and presented it to him following the feature.

Closing the night’s show was the, 7 lap, “Trailer Race” that was, reportedly won by an unnamed vagrant, who found his way to the pit area to join the festivities.

Next Week at Jefferson Speedway DeJope Gaming presents the “Summer Rumble” Finale, featuring the “Papa Murphy’s Pizza” 50 lap Late Model feature. Round one of the “Summer Rumble” is Friday night at Columbus 151 Speedway.

Bonus money will be paid to overall champions based on the best performance from both night’s racing.

Gates open at 2:00PM, qualifying starts at 4:30PM and the first green flag flies at 7:00PM sharp.

Jefferson Speedway is on Highway 18 half way between Cambridge and Jefferson Wisconsin. Visit us on the World Wide Web at

Jefferson Speedway Race Summary
06/03/2006 Goodyear Race Tire 50

Late Model Division Feature Finish
1) 16 Luke Westenberg (Watertown) 2) 71 John Ovadal Jr (Watertown)
3) 61 Jerry Eckhart (Johnson Creek) 4) 53 Doug Hahn (Whitewater)
5) 17 Noel Ramge (Helenville) 6) 27 Dan Chesmore
7) 32 Tony Koepke (Fort Atkinson) 8) 44 Roger Behlke (Jefferson)
9) 27 Tyler James (Oconomowoc) 10) 95 Jason Thoma (Jefferson)
11) 33 Dylan Schuyler (Jefferson) 12) 68 Ken Olson (Fort Atkinson)
13) 82 Chad Stevens 14) 23 Chris Koepke (Jefferson)
15) 17 Duane Deppe (Waterloo) 16) 11 Timothy Petrie (Fort Atkinson)
17) 70 Rick Kehoe (Jefferson) 18) 8 Aaren Wilke (Waterloo)
Fast Qualifier: 95 Jason Thoma (Jefferson) : 14.539 seconds
Fast Dash: 27 Dan Chesmore
LastChance: 70 Rick Kehoe, 27 Tyler James, 23 Chris Koepke, 17 Duane Deppe
Heats: Qual1) 57 Mark English, Qual2) 44 Roger Behlke, Qual3) 68 Ken Olson,

International Division Feature Finish
1) 00 Scotty Hoeft (Watertown) 2) 67 Joe Cross (Sun Prairie)
3) 42 Bill Sweeney (Janesville) 4) 05 Ashley Smith
5) 90 Kyle Smith (Lake Mills) 6) 23 Casey Strese
Fast Qualifier: 4 Mark Joyner (Elkhorn) : 16.727 seconds
Fast Dash: 97 Chris Chenoweth (Watertown)
Heats: Qual1) 0 Keith Bell, qual2) 00 Scotty Hoeft

Sportsman Division Feature Finish
1) 4 Luke Padfield (Jefferwson) 2) 26 Tim Syvrud (Poynette)
3) 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee) 4) 8 Michael Heelein (Fort Atkinson)
5) 6 Chris Ehrhart (Deerfield) 6) 28 Mark DePorter
Fast Qualifier: 26 Scott Riedner (Waunakee) : 15.245 seconds
Fast Dash: 28 Mark DePorter
Heats: Qual1) 20 Kody Hubred, qual2) 19 Dan Schmidt, qual3) 6 Chris Ehrhart,

Hobby Stock Division Feature Finish
1) 27 Jim Tate Jr (Watertown) 2) 99 Johnny Robinson II (Beloit)
3) 92 Kyle Stark (Waterloo) 4) 10 Larry Moen (Madison)
5) 52 Peter Elgas (Janesville) 6) 31 Ken Au (Jefferson)
Fast Qualifier: 31 Ken Au (Jefferson) : 16.633 seconds
Fast Dash: 38 Bryon Grassl (Janesville)
LastChance: 29 Mike Manley, 30 Josh Carson, 7 Scott Carson, 41 Nick Newton
Heats: Qual1) 99 Lincoln Keeser, qual2) 29 Mike Manley, qual3) 67 Russell Nicholson,

Bandit Division Feature Finish
1) 21 Rodney Mundt 2) 4D Brandon Riedner (Waunakee)
3) 7 Kyle Watters (Stoughton) 4) 42 Bobby Selsing
5) 27 James Bell 6) 81 Jeffery Lefave Jr (Fort Atkinson)
Fast Qualifier: 5 Casey Johnson (Stoughton) : 14.607 seconds
Fast Dash: 7 Kyle Watters (Stoughton)
LastChance: 9 Sean Matteson, 98 Tom Bleecker, Z28 Jody Krueger, 25 Darren Brown
Heats: Qual1) 9 Sean Matteson, qual2) 4D Brandon Riedner, qual3) 21 Rodney Mundt,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top